Amount and certainty are separate.
A precise dollar figure can still be a competitive award. Automatic consideration means your application is reviewed; it does not always mean the scholarship is guaranteed.
A closer look at your options
The biggest award is only part of the answer.
Compare what an award covers, who can receive it, and what it takes to keep it. Start with two schools. Follow the differences.
Open the comparison deskChoose two or threetwo schools. Each column follows one named award or award group, with its own year and conditions.
| Compare the details | Tuscaloosa, Alabama | Oxford, Mississippi |
|---|---|---|
| The award | The awardAutomaticPresidential Scholarship$28,000 / year Published amount2027 entering freshmen | The awardAutomaticAcademic Merit Scholarship$3,000–$20,790 / year Published range2026–2027 chart |
| What’s different? | What’s different? A fixed annual award tied to published grades and scores. | What’s different? The award pays toward the non-resident fee, with different amounts across the grid. |
| Who this applies to | Who this applies to Out-of-state and international students | Who this applies to Non-resident entering freshmen |
| How to qualify | How to qualify 3.50+ GPA and 32–36 ACT or 1420–1600 SAT. Official scores from one test date; no superscore. | How to qualify Minimum 3.0 high school GPA. Amount varies by GPA and ACT/SAT; test-optional awards exist. Superscores accepted. |
| How to keep it | How to keep it Maintain a cumulative 3.0 UA GPA and earn at least 67% of attempted UA credits. Review each semester. | How to keep it Up to four years, subject to the award terms. The source summary does not specify the renewal GPA. |
| Dates to check | Dates to check December 4, 2026 for summer/fall 2027: application and official scores. Later consideration depends on funds. | Dates to check Qualifying tests must be taken before freshman enrollment. Confirm the dates for your entering class. |
| Before you count on it | Before you count on it Presidential Elite is a separate tuition-based package with higher thresholds. This example is the Presidential award. | Before you count on it Fixed amounts do not stack with Academic Success NR. This is the published 2026–2027 chart, not a 2027–2028 offer. |
| School sources Checked 2026-09-14 | School sourcesAward, eligibility & dates for Alabama (opens in a new tab)Renewal policy for Alabama (opens in a new tab) | School sourcesPublished chart & conditions for Ole Miss (opens in a new tab) |
| Keep exploring | Open Alabama’s chapter | Open Ole Miss’s chapter |
Compare like with like: an annual award, a tuition benefit and a multi-year package cover different things. These are published examples, not estimated net prices or a prediction of your student’s award. Use the school source for your entering year.
A precise dollar figure can still be a competitive award. Automatic consideration means your application is reviewed; it does not always mean the scholarship is guaranteed.
A one-year award and a five-year package are different units. A chart for an earlier entering class is a reference, not a promise for next year. The desk keeps each source’s period visible.
Tuition is one part of a college budget. Compare housing, meals, fees and other expenses too. Ask the school how awards combine before subtracting them from its published cost.
Automatic · Presidential Scholarship
2027 entering freshmen
$28,000 / year · Published amount
Automatic · Academic Merit Scholarship
2026–2027 chart
$3,000–$20,790 / year · Published range
Competitive · Competitive Merit Scholarships
Previous-year range on current page
$7,000–$17,000 / year · Published range
Automatic · Freshman Non-Resident Academic Scholarship
2027–2028 entering freshmen
$12,000–$19,000 / year · Published range
Competitive · Freshman Merit Scholarships
Current source; entering year not stated
$13,000–$23,000 / year · Published range
Competitive · Presidential Scholarship
Fall 2027 entering freshmen
Full tuition + mandatory fees · Published coverage
National Merit · National Merit Finalist Package
Fall 2026 package; deadlines passed
$153,450 total package · Multi-year package
Competitive · Cornelius Vanderbilt Scholarship
2026 application / March 2027 decisions
Full tuition + summer stipend · Published coverage
The free Merit Check uses our existing school research. Check the date on its result and the school’s current terms, especially when an entering-year policy has changed.