Skip to content

Colorado Mesa scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$28,702per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Colorado Mesa awards automatic merit on admission. Colorado Mesa does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jul 2026
3 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

Step 1 of comparing your list

Check the rules that could cut this.

Check Colorado Mesa free in 30 seconds. Then see how it ranks against the rest of your list.

Checking merit aid at Colorado Mesa

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Automatic Merit Scholarships (Trustee / Presidents / Academic Achievement)$3,000-$7,500/yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Automatic Merit Scholarships (Trustee / Presidents / Academic Achievement)

    $3,000-$7,500/year

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Trustee → $7,500/yr (3.90 GPA); Presidents → $5,000/yr (3.50 GPA); Academic Achievement → $3,000/yr (3.20 GPA). Based on the highest cumulative GPA (weighted or unweighted) on the high school transcript.
    SAT
    Not required (GPA-based)
    ACT
    Not required (GPA-based)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Automatic Merit Scholarships (Trustee / Presidents / Academic Achievement)

    Who qualifies

    New freshmen admitted to a degree-seeking program; no separate application. May have up to 24 accepted college credits from another institution; students with more than 24 college credits earned in high school are still considered. International students and students with a prior baccalaureate degree are NOT eligible. Eligibility is automatically reconsidered if cumulative high school GPA improves and an official updated transcript is sent directly from the high school.

    How to keep it

    Described as merit scholarships awarded at the time of admission; specific renewal GPA/credit requirements are not stated on this page (confirm with Financial Aid).

    Worth knowing

    Awarded automatically based on the highest weighted-or-unweighted cumulative high school GPA — no application. Students must accept the award in their financial aid award offer.

  2. Distinguished Scholar AwardFull tuition (Colorado residents)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Distinguished Scholar Award

    Full tuition (Colorado residents)

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Distinguished Scholar Award

    Who qualifies

    CMU's most prestigious renewable merit scholarship; highly competitive selection process requiring a secondary application. Valued at full tuition for Colorado residents.

    How to keep it

    Renewable; specific renewal terms not stated on this page.

    Worth knowing

    Full tuition (not full cost of attendance) and limited to Colorado residents; requires a separate competitive application beyond admission.

Lights up against Colorado Mesa's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Aid capHard $28,702 cost-of-attendance ceiling

Institutional aid at Colorado Mesa cannot push the package past $28,702. Big outside wins can mathematically reduce institutional grant once the ceiling is reached.

What makes Colorado Mesa different

Colorado Mesa automatically awards a three-tier merit grid ($3,000-$7,500/year) on the highest weighted-or-unweighted high school GPA with no application, topped by a competitive full-tuition Distinguished Scholar Award for Colorado residents. DRAFT.

Merit tiers21 based on grades or scores
First-year students with school awards17%First-year students, CDS 2023-2024
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Colorado Mesa's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. The deadline for Fall 2026 first-time merit scholarship consideration is May 1; first-time students who apply after that date will not be considered for merit scholarships as part of admission — except first-time students from Mesa, Montrose, Delta, Garfield, and Eagle counties and transfer students, who remain eligible.

  2. International students and students with a previous baccalaureate degree are NOT eligible for these merit scholarships.

  3. Your award is automatically reconsidered only if your cumulative high school GPA improves AND an official updated transcript is sent directly from your high school to CMU.

  4. It requires a separate, highly competitive secondary application, covers full tuition (not full cost of attendance), and is limited to Colorado residents.

  5. Students must actively accept merit scholarships in their financial aid award offer (Award Offer tab → Take Action → Submit).

  6. The cost of attendance is the highest dollar amount of financial aid you can receive in an award year, so additional awards can be limited once total aid reaches COA.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Incoming freshmen with a 3.20+ GPA who want an automatic, no-application award keyed to their best GPA, and top Colorado residents competing for full-tuition Distinguished Scholar. DRAFT.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $28,702 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Colorado Mesa, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Colorado Mesa, academic year 2021-22 — in-state, Title-IV aid recipients only
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$10,792
$30,001–$48,000$11,920
$48,001–$75,000$14,692
$75,001–$110,000$16,945
$110,001+$20,606
All income levels (average)$15,103

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees (in-state), AY 2022-23
$9,927
Published tuition & fees (out-of-state), AY 2022-23
$25,124
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$15,103

That works out to roughly a 37% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $24,046 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Colorado Mesa is a public school; Scorecard's net price figure covers in-state, Title-IV-aid-recipient payers only — there is no comparable federal figure for out-of-state students.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
41%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
79%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$22,000 (~$233/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$45,823
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
35%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
39%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Cost of attendance represents the highest dollar amount of financial aid a student can receive during an award year.

The expenses page defines COA as the cap on total financial aid for the award year. The pages opened do not specify how private/outside scholarships displace institutional merit awards.

Source

More school data

From the Colorado Mesa Common Data Set 2023-2024:

Merit penetrationHow likely is merit aid here?From Colorado Mesa’s Common Data Set: the share of first-year students who receive institutional merit and the average dollar amount when they do.
17%of admitsget merit
Average award$4,625Covers ~16% of $28,702 cost of attendance

At Colorado Mesa, roughly 1 in 6 first-year admits receive institutional merit aid. The average award is $4,625 — about 16% of total cost.

As filed in Colorado Mesa's CDS Section H2A: of 1,657 first-time, full-time degree-seeking freshmen, 276 had no financial need and received institutional merit (non-need) scholarship or grant aid, averaging $4,625. Across all full-time degree-seeking undergraduates: 762 of 6,515, averaging $5,031. Athletic awards are excluded per the CDS definition.

Receive institutional merit17%First-year students, Common Data Set 2023-2024
Average merit award$4,625Across recipients, Common Data Set 2023-2024

Source: Common Data Set 2023-2024 (verified 2026-07-23)

Other Colorado Mesa scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountAmount not published in this extractEligibilityHonors program students (the batch start URL — university-wide academic honors programs catalog; not opened in detail for this extract).

Confirm honors-specific awards directly.

Source

Colorado Mesa merit aid FAQ

  • What is the scholarship deadline?

    May 1 for Fall 2026 first-time merit scholarship consideration. After May 1, first-time applicants are generally not considered (exceptions: first-time students from Mesa, Montrose, Delta, Garfield, and Eagle counties, and transfer students).

  • Do I need to apply for the merit scholarships?

    No — the Trustee ($7,500), Presidents ($5,000), and Academic Achievement ($3,000) awards are automatic based on your highest weighted-or-unweighted cumulative high school GPA. The Distinguished Scholar Award requires a separate competitive application.

  • What GPA do I need?

    A 3.90 GPA for the $7,500 Trustee, 3.50 for the $5,000 Presidents, and 3.20 for the $3,000 Academic Achievement scholarship — based on the highest GPA (weighted or unweighted) on your transcript.

  • How much does Colorado Mesa cost?

    For 2026-27, a Colorado-resident undergraduate living on campus has an estimated full-year cost of attendance of $28,702 (tuition after COF stipend $7,968, fees $984, housing $7,850, food $6,054, plus course materials, loan fees, transportation, and personal expenses).

See sources and other schools

How Colorado Mesa compares

  • 235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.

    Colorado Mesa is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Colorado Mesa is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Colorado Mesa’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Colorado Mesa merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Colorado Mesa fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook