Alice Lloyd award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Alice Lloyd?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
5 of 5 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 5 of 5
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 5
- Renewal risk profile
- low
Renewal risk profile
Alice Lloyd's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.
- Appalachian Leaders College Scholarship (Tuition Guarantee): See notes
- Honors Program — Presidential Scholarship: See notes
- Honors Program — Dean's Distinguished Scholarship: See notes
- Geddes GPA Scholarship: SAP standards
- Performance Scholarship: See notes
Renewal terms by tier
Appalachian Leaders College Scholarship (Tuition Guarantee)
Full tuitionTo keep it: Renewable for 10 semesters upon maintaining satisfactory progress toward completion of a degree.
Source: https://alc.edu/admissions/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/
Honors Program — Presidential Scholarship
Full cost of education (tuition, food, housing, fees, and books)Entry requirements: Minimum 3.50 core GPA GPA · Minimum 1210 SAT · Minimum 25 ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the page; both Honors scholarships extend assistance into graduate/professional school via the Gatton Winston Scholars Program if its requirements are met.
Source: https://alc.edu/admissions/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/
Honors Program — Dean's Distinguished Scholarship
$1,500 per year (in addition to the Appalachian Leaders Scholarship)Entry requirements: Minimum 3.50 core GPA GPA · Minimum 1210 SAT · Minimum 25 ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not stated; includes Gatton Winston Scholars graduate/professional continuation if requirements are met.
Source: https://alc.edu/admissions/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/
Geddes GPA Scholarship
$500 per year ($250/semester)Entry requirements: 3.0 cumulative (high school GPA for incoming students, from the final transcript; ALC GPA for current students) GPA
To keep it: Renewed on an annual basis as long as Satisfactory Academic Progress is maintained; for current students, awarded after spring SAP processing if cumulative ALC GPA is at least 3.00.
Source: https://alc.edu/admissions/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/
Performance Scholarship
$500 per year ($250/semester)To keep it: Renewed by semester dependent on continued participation and Satisfactory Academic Progress.
Source: https://alc.edu/admissions/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/
How families lose this aid
- Hearing 'free tuition' and budgeting $0 — food, housing, and fees are NOT covered.
The Tuition Guarantee page itemizes the resident student's per-semester responsibility before Pell/loans/outside scholarships: Food $2,232 + Housing $2,398 + Matriculation Fee $1,070 = $5,700 per semester (commuters: $2,370). 'Getting your education at Alice Lloyd College is not free.'
- Trying to stack the $500 Geddes GPA and $500 Performance scholarships (or either with Honors/athletic awards).
Both pages state these 'cannot be stacked with other institutional scholarships,' and when a student qualifies for both, 'the respective Performance Scholarship will be the default scholarship award granted.'
- Assuming the guarantee runs indefinitely.
The Appalachian Leaders Scholarship is 'renewable for 10 semesters upon maintaining satisfactory progress toward completion of a degree' — stalling on progress risks the award.
Renewal questions families ask
- Is Alice Lloyd really free?
- Tuition is $0 out-of-pocket for admitted students from the 108-county service area. But living costs are not: residents owe $5,700/semester (food $2,232, housing $2,398, matriculation fee $1,070) before Pell, loans, and outside scholarships, and all students work in the required Student Work Program.
- Can I get more than the tuition guarantee?
- Yes: the Honors Presidential covers the full cost of education (tuition, food, housing, fees, books) and the Dean's Distinguished adds $1,500/year on top of the tuition guarantee — both require a 25 ACT/1210 SAT, 3.5 core GPA, service-area residency, and the April 1 application. Smaller adds: $500 Geddes (3.0 GPA) or $500 Performance (team/activity participation) — one, not both.
How Alice Lloyd compares across our verified dataset
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Alice Lloyd is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Alice Lloyd’s own published materials.
- Policy pageAlice Lloyd stacking policy
- Merit tiersAppalachian Leaders College Scholarship (Tuition Guarantee)
More on Alice Lloyd merit aid
- Alice Lloyd merit aid overviewFull tier ladder, named scholarships, departmental awards, and how families decide.
- Alice Lloyd scholarship stackingWhether outside awards land as upside or quietly displace institutional aid.
- Does Alice Lloyd displace outside scholarships?The dollar math on a $5,000 outside award, plus peer schools that handle it differently.
