Skip to content
← Back to Asbury University's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

Asbury University
Decision sheet

Kentucky · Research checked 2026-07-02 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

Every Asbury applicant automatically gets a GPA-based merit scholarship from $9,000 to $15,000 per year with no separate application; 4.0+ students are invited to a Scholarship Competition to compete for two full-tuition Hughes awards or thirty $5,000 Morrison awards.

More than one award path. Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 9 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Academic Merit Scholarship (automatic GPA grid)

$9,000-$15,000 per year · Published range

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: 4.0+ = $15,000; 3.70-3.99 = $13,000; 3.40-3.69 = $12,000; 3.00-3.39 = $11,000; below 3.00 = $9,000 (Asbury-recalculated 4.0 scale, weighting AP/IB/Honors)

Eligibility: No separate application required; awarded to all admitted traditional undergraduates (freshmen and transfers)

Renewal: Awarded annually based on recalculated GPA; page states the scholarship is 'automatically added to your financial aid package each year.' Specific college-GPA renewal threshold for the base academic scholarship is not stated on the page.

Other terms: Automatic on the GPA Asbury recalculates to a 4.0 scale (AP/IB/Honors weighted). Test scores are not stated as a factor in this base grid. Does not apply to the Online Undergraduate (APS) program.

https://www.asbury.edu/undergraduate/cost-and-aid/scholarships/

Francis Asbury Scholarship (National Merit)

$5,000 per year · Published amount

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

Eligibility: National Merit Finalists automatically earn this award and are also invited to Scholarship Competition

Renewal: Described as a stackable annual scholarship; specific renewal GPA not stated on the live undergraduate page (the Asbury catalog lists a 3.5 cumulative GPA for the National Merit honors scholarship, but at a different award level — see conflict note in Section C).

Other terms: Automatic for National Merit Finalists per the live page. Stackable. NOTE: the older Asbury catalog page describes a 'National Merit Semifinalist/Frances Asbury Honors Scholarship' equal to 60% of tuition for Semifinalists — this conflicts with the live page's flat $5,000-for-Finalists figure; the live undergraduate page is treated as current.

https://www.asbury.edu/undergraduate/cost-and-aid/scholarships/

Kentucky Governor's Programs Scholarship

$15,000 per year · Published amount

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: Automatic regardless of GPA

Eligibility: Graduated from a Kentucky high school AND completed the Governor's Scholars Program, the Governor's School for Entrepreneurs, or the Governor's School for the Arts

Renewal: Equal to Asbury's top guaranteed academic merit scholarship amount; renewal follows the academic scholarship terms.

Other terms: Guarantees the $15,000 top tier regardless of GPA, and also earns an invitation to the Scholarship Competition.

https://www.asbury.edu/undergraduate/cost-and-aid/scholarships/

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: Asbury's awards explicitly stack, capped at 100% of tuition, with one carve-out: the John Wesley Hughes (full-tuition) award is NOT stackable with any other Asbury gift aid. The Morrison, Francis Asbury (National Merit), Windgate, alumni, and competition-participation awards all stack on top of the automatic GPA scholarship up to 100% of annual tuition. No published policy was found on the financial-aid pages describing how third-party OUTSIDE scholarships displace institutional aid; the catalog notes the Governor's Scholarship 'will not affect' KEES or other external sources but this is not a general displacement rule.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/asbury-university/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.