Athens State award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Athens State?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
6 of 6 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 6 of 6
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 6
- Renewal risk profile
- low
Renewal risk profile
Athens State's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.
- President's Scholarship (Full-Ride): See notes
- Excellence Scholarships: See notes
- Empowerment Scholarships: See notes
- Compass Scholars Program (Teacher Pathway): See notes
- Honors Program Tuition Scholarship: See notes
- ASSIST Scholarship Program (STEM, need-based): See notes
Renewal terms by tier
President's Scholarship (Full-Ride)
Full tuition and feesEntry requirements: 3.7 cumulative or higher (transfer) GPA
To keep it: Page describes it as a 'Full-Ride Scholarship' covering full tuition and fees; specific per-term renewal GPA not stated on the page.
Source: https://www.athens.edu/admissions/scholarships/presidents-scholarship/
Excellence Scholarships
Up to $2,000 annuallyEntry requirements: 3.00 cumulative minimum (transfer) GPA
To keep it: Annual award; renewal terms not stated on the page. Awarded on a first-come, first-served basis subject to fund availability.
Source: https://www.athens.edu/degree-completion-transfer-students/can-transfer-students-get-scholarships/
Empowerment Scholarships
Up to $2,000 AnnuallyEntry requirements: 2.50 cumulative minimum (transfer) GPA
To keep it: Annual award; renewal terms not stated. First-come, first-served subject to fund availability.
Source: https://www.athens.edu/admissions/scholarships/empowerment/
Compass Scholars Program (Teacher Pathway)
$2,500 per semester (up to $7,500 per academic year; up to $27,500 over three years), plus an additional $5,000Entry requirements: 2.5+ institutional GPA and 2.75+ in teaching-field courses GPA
To keep it: Funded for no more than 3 years from entering the program; 'Students must continue to meet all program criteria each semester to receive funding,' including a 2.5+ institutional GPA and a 2.75+ GPA in teaching-field courses.
Source: https://www.athens.edu/academics/education/compass-scholars/
Honors Program Tuition Scholarship
Tuition scholarship (amount not published)Entry requirements: 3.5 or higher GPA
To keep it: Renewal/maintenance terms not stated on the Honors page; ongoing requirements include 16 hours of community service per year and Honors project work.
ASSIST Scholarship Program (STEM, need-based)
Covers tuition, books, housing, and transportation (amount not published)Entry requirements: 2.7 minimum for previously earned college credit (transfer) GPA
To keep it: Renewal terms not specified; scholarship 'could be revoked' if a student's major changes to a non-STEM major.
Source: https://www.athens.edu/academics/arts-and-sciences/assist/
How families lose this aid
- Expecting freshman/high-school merit at Athens State.
Athens State is an upper-division, transfer-only university — it does not admit first-time freshmen. Every merit award is keyed to your TRANSFER GPA and completed college credit hours (e.g., the President's Scholarship requires at least 36 completed credit hours), not high-school GPA or ACT/SAT.
- Assuming the Honors Program means a full-tuition ride.
A transfer-overview page labels Honors a 'Full tuition scholarship,' but the dedicated Honors Program page only promises 'tuition scholarships' and adds obligations (3.5 GPA, a 750-1,000-word essay, 16 service hours/year, an Honors thesis). Confirm the exact award with the aid office before counting on full tuition.
- Counting on the President's Scholarship without hitting the May 1 admission deadline.
The President's full-ride (full tuition and fees, 3.7 GPA) is automatic with no separate application — but only if you 'apply and be admitted by May 1, 2026 for full consideration.' Miss the admission deadline and you miss the automatic consideration.
Renewal questions families ask
- Does Athens State give merit scholarships to freshmen?
- No — Athens State is an upper-division, transfer-only university serving juniors and seniors and does not admit first-time freshmen. Merit is based on your transfer (college) GPA and completed credit hours, not high-school stats or test scores.
- What's the biggest automatic merit award?
- The President's Scholarship, a full-ride covering full tuition and fees, awarded automatically (no separate application) to admitted transfer students with a 3.7 GPA or higher who have completed at least 36 credit hours, if admitted by May 1, 2026.
How Athens State compares across our verified dataset
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Athens State is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Athens State’s own published materials.
- Cost of attendanceAthens State cost-of-attendance worksheet
- Merit tiersPresident's Scholarship (Full-Ride)
- Merit tiersExcellence Scholarships
- Merit tiersEmpowerment Scholarships
- Merit tiersCompass Scholars Program (Teacher Pathway)
- Merit tiersHonors Program Tuition Scholarship
- Merit tiersASSIST Scholarship Program (STEM, need-based)
- Scholarship pageFoundation & Alumni Scholarships
- Scholarship pagePhi Theta Kappa (PTK) transfer recognition