Skip to content
← Back to Cameron's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

Cameron
Decision sheet

Oklahoma · Research checked 2026-07-02 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

Cameron University (Lawton, OK) offers automatic tuition-waiver merit awards matched from admissions data plus the selective PLUS scholarship covering full tuition (up to 18 hrs/semester) and a room waiver; institutional scholarships also available via AwardSpring portal with a February 1 priority deadline.

More than one award path. Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 4 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Institutional Tuition Waivers (Freshman — Automatic Match)

Amount not published (varies by waiver; applied against tuition charged) · Variable or qualified amount

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: Based on high school GPA (unweighted GPAs used for freshman applicants per portal page) · SAT: SAT scores used in matching · ACT: ACT/SAT scores used in matching

Eligibility: Must be officially admitted to Cameron University. Automatic match occurs from admissions application data; no separate application required for initial match.

Renewal: Renewal terms not published on the pages retrieved. The portal (cameron.awardspring.com) could not be fully accessed. Contact aid office for specific waiver renewal GPA requirements.

Other terms: Per the Scholarships and Tuition Waivers page: 'Once you have been officially admitted, you are automatically matched to any Cameron Scholarships and/or Tuition Waivers that you are eligible to receive. A general scholarship application is completed on your behalf with the information you provided on your Admission Application, with your prior academic information (GPA, test scores, etc.).' Tuition waivers are NOT cash awards — they offset tuition only and cannot be applied to fees, housing, or other charges. Some waivers cannot be stacked; if stacking is permitted, waivers cannot exceed tuition charged. Specific named waiver tiers and dollar amounts were NOT published on the pages accessed; the AwardSpring portal requires a CU login.

https://www.cameron.edu/financial_aid/understanding-your-financial-aid/types/scholarships-and-tuition-waivers

Institutional Tuition Waivers (Transfer — Automatic Match)

Amount not published (based on transfer retention GPA per types page) · Published award terms

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: Transfer retention GPA used in matching (per types page: 'transfer retention grade point averages') · SAT: Not stated as required for transfer waiver matching · ACT: Not stated as required for transfer waiver matching

Eligibility: Must be officially admitted to Cameron University as a transfer student (6+ college credit hours attempted at another institution). Same automatic-match process applies.

Renewal: Renewal terms not published on the pages retrieved.

Other terms: The types page states waivers are based on 'high school grade point average, ACT/SAT scores, high school class rank, and transfer retention grade point averages.' Transfer students with prior college GPA are matched separately. Specific amounts not published publicly.

https://www.cameron.edu/financial_aid/understanding-your-financial-aid/types

PLUS Scholarship (Presidential Leaders and University Scholars)

Full tuition waiver (up to 18 credit hours/semester) + room waiver (scholar's portion of a double room in Shepler Center) + $400/semester stipend in Year 1 + $250/semester stipend in Year 2 · Variable or qualified amount

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: Unweighted high school GPA of 3.0 or higher · SAT: Not stated separately; ACT 20 minimum cited · ACT: Minimum ACT composite score of 20

Eligibility: Oklahoma resident; resume; one-page essay; three letters of recommendation (two from high school administrators/officials, one speaking to leadership); interview process; approximately 25 scholars selected per cohort

Renewal: Renewable for up to 4 years contingent on signing and fulfilling a contract. Academic requirements: Year 1 – 2.5 GPA each semester and overall + complete 30 credit hours by year end; Years 2-4 – 3.0 GPA each semester and overall + 60/90/degree credit hour milestones by year ends. Also requires 16 service hours/semester, full-time enrollment (12-18 hrs/semester), campus involvement, and mandatory leadership training. At the completion of each semester, PLUS advisors objectively measure and subjectively evaluate each student's contribution. Failure to meet any requirement may result in loss of scholarship.

Other terms: Competitive/application-based, NOT automatic. Award is a tuition WAIVER (covers tuition only up to 18 hrs/semester, NOT full COA) plus a separate room waiver for Shepler Center double room. Stipends ($400/semester Yr 1, $250/semester Yr 2) are cash awards on top. Application opens January 5, 2026 via AwardSpring portal. Deadline extended to 11:59 p.m. February 9 (per incoming-freshman page) / listed as February 3, 2026 on the PLUS landing page — slight conflict, see Section C. Requires formal admission to Cameron University.

https://www.cameron.edu/plus/incoming-freshman-plus-scholarship

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: Tuition waivers are subject to anti-stacking rules: some cannot be stacked at all (only the highest-value waiver applies), and when stacking is permitted, combined waivers cannot exceed the tuition charged. Scholarships (cash awards) reduce loans/work-study first when total aid equals financial need or COA. Total aid cannot exceed COA; need-based aid is capped at unmet financial need. All external/outside scholarships must be reported to the aid office and are included in the financial aid package.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/cameron-university/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.