Skip to content

Capital University scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$63,826per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Capital University is worth checking if your student has strong grades or scores. We found 11 published awards, and 6 are based on those numbers.

Where does your student land?

Step 1 of comparing your list

Check the rules that could cut this.

Check Capital University free in 30 seconds. Then see how it ranks against the rest of your list.

Checking merit aid at Capital University

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. The Main Street Scholarship$20,000 per year (minimum $80,000 over four years)AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    The Main Street Scholarship

    $20,000 per year (minimum $80,000 over four years)

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for The Main Street Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    All accepted, full-time, incoming undergraduate students entering their first year of college, including transfer and international students working on their first college degree. Students who started prior to Fall 2022 are not eligible. No separate scholarship application — the admission application serves as the scholarship application.

    How to keep it

    Awarded annually and potentially renewable for up to eight semesters. Renewable for students maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress with a minimum 2.0 cumulative GPA.

    Worth knowing

    The automatic base award for every admit. The Capital Merit Scholarship (GPA grid below) stacks on top of this. Comet Community Award ($1,000 toward housing/meal costs) is available to residential students.

  2. Capital Merit Scholarship — 1830 Award (3.0-3.19 GPA)$2,000 per year (stacks with Main Street for $22,000/yr)AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Capital Merit Scholarship — 1830 Award (3.0-3.19 GPA)

    $2,000 per year (stacks with Main Street for $22,000/yr)

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.0-3.19 high school GPA
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Capital Merit Scholarship — 1830 Award (3.0-3.19 GPA)

    Who qualifies

    Automatically determined by high school GPA; no separate application.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for students maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress with a minimum 2.0 cumulative grade point average and any other award-specific requirements.

    Worth knowing

    The Capital Merit Scholarship is a stackable award added to the Main Street Scholarship. The '1830 Award' is the lowest tier of the five-tier GPA grid.

  3. Capital Merit Scholarship — Dean's Award (3.2-3.49 GPA)$4,000 per year (stacks with Main Street for $24,000/yr)AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Capital Merit Scholarship — Dean's Award (3.2-3.49 GPA)

    $4,000 per year (stacks with Main Street for $24,000/yr)

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.2-3.49 high school GPA
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Capital Merit Scholarship — Dean's Award (3.2-3.49 GPA)

    Who qualifies

    Automatically determined by high school GPA; no separate application.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for students maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress with a minimum 2.0 cumulative grade point average.

    Worth knowing

    Second tier of the Capital Merit Scholarship grid; stacks on the Main Street Scholarship.

  4. Capital Merit Scholarship — Trustees' Award (3.5-3.79 GPA)$6,000 per year (stacks with Main Street for $26,000/yr)AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Capital Merit Scholarship — Trustees' Award (3.5-3.79 GPA)

    $6,000 per year (stacks with Main Street for $26,000/yr)

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.5-3.79 high school GPA
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Capital Merit Scholarship — Trustees' Award (3.5-3.79 GPA)

    Who qualifies

    Automatically determined by high school GPA; no separate application.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for students maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress with a minimum 2.0 cumulative grade point average.

    Worth knowing

    Third tier of the Capital Merit Scholarship grid; stacks on the Main Street Scholarship.

  5. Capital Merit Scholarship — Provost's Award (3.8-3.99 GPA)$7,000 per year (stacks with Main Street for $27,000/yr)AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Capital Merit Scholarship — Provost's Award (3.8-3.99 GPA)

    $7,000 per year (stacks with Main Street for $27,000/yr)

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.8-3.99 high school GPA
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Capital Merit Scholarship — Provost's Award (3.8-3.99 GPA)

    Who qualifies

    Automatically determined by high school GPA; no separate application.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for students maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress with a minimum 2.0 cumulative grade point average.

    Worth knowing

    Fourth tier of the Capital Merit Scholarship grid; stacks on the Main Street Scholarship.

  6. Capital Merit Scholarship — President's Award (4.0+ GPA)$8,000 per year (stacks with Main Street for $28,000/yr)AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Capital Merit Scholarship — President's Award (4.0+ GPA)

    $8,000 per year (stacks with Main Street for $28,000/yr)

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    4.0 and above high school GPA
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Capital Merit Scholarship — President's Award (4.0+ GPA)

    Who qualifies

    Automatically determined by high school GPA; no separate application.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for students maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress with a minimum 2.0 cumulative grade point average.

    Worth knowing

    Top tier of the Capital Merit Scholarship grid; stacks on the Main Street Scholarship for $28,000/yr in combined automatic merit.

  7. Capital Gateway ScholarshipFull tuition and term feesNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Capital Gateway Scholarship

    Full tuition and term fees

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    High school cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 or better
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Capital Gateway Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    NEED-LINKED. Ohio residents only; new undergraduate students (high school seniors), not available to transfer students; complete the FAFSA; family income between $0 and $60,000.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Need-linked, not pure merit — the income cap and FAFSA requirement gate it. Delivered 'through a combination of Capital-sponsored scholarships/grants and federal/state grant aid,' so the headline 'full tuition' is funded partly by federal/state grants, not all institutional merit.

  8. National Merit Scholarship (institutional award)Up to Full Room & BoardNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    National Merit Scholarship (institutional award)

    Up to Full Room & Board

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for National Merit Scholarship (institutional award)

    Who qualifies

    Recognition through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Considered automatically as part of merit-based scholarship review.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for students maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress with a minimum 2.0 cumulative GPA.

    Worth knowing

    Capital's institutional award for National Merit recognition; covers up to full room & board. Specific qualifying status (Finalist vs. recognized) not detailed on the page.

  9. Conservatory Performance AwardUp to $5,500 toward TuitionNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Conservatory Performance Award

    Up to $5,500 toward Tuition

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Conservatory Performance Award

    Who qualifies

    Conservatory of Music applicants; audition-based. Awarded toward tuition.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for students maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress with a minimum 2.0 cumulative GPA and any other award-specific requirements (e.g., audition/performance requirements).

    Worth knowing

    Talent-based music award; stacks toward the merit package. Audition required (audition details not stated on this page).

  10. Music Composition ScholarshipUp to $5,500 toward TuitionNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Music Composition Scholarship

    Up to $5,500 toward Tuition

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Music Composition Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Music composition applicants; portfolio/audition-based. Awarded toward tuition.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for students maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress with a minimum 2.0 cumulative GPA and any other award-specific requirements.

    Worth knowing

    Talent-based composition award; up to $5,500 toward tuition.

  11. Comet Community Award$1,000 (applied toward housing and meal plan costs)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Comet Community Award

    $1,000 (applied toward housing and meal plan costs)

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Comet Community Award

    Who qualifies

    Residential (on-campus) students.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Housing/meal-plan award for residential students; can be applied toward housing and meal plan costs. Stacks alongside the Main Street Scholarship.

Lights up against Capital University's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Outside awardsNo published displacement order

Capital University's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.

What makes Capital University different

Every admitted full-time first-year student gets the automatic Main Street Scholarship ($20,000/yr, minimum $80,000 over four years), and a GPA-based Capital Merit award stacks on top of it — $2,000-$8,000/yr — pushing the combined automatic merit to $22,000-$28,000/yr.

Merit tiers116 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Capital University's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. The Main Street Scholarship and the GPA-based Capital Merit Scholarship are automatic — 'your admission application also serves as your scholarship application.' No separate financial aid application is required to receive them.

  2. Gateway is need-linked, Ohio-residents-only, and capped at family income $0-$60,000 with a 3.5 GPA. It is funded 'through a combination of Capital-sponsored scholarships/grants AND federal/state grant aid' — so part of the 'full tuition' depends on your FAFSA-driven federal/state grants, and it is not available to transfer students.

  3. The 2026-2027 total cost of attendance for an on-campus first-year student is $63,826 — tuition & fees ($45,600) plus food & housing ($13,800), books/materials ($2,238), transportation ($808), personal expenses ($1,278), and federal loan fees ($102). Merit awards are stated against tuition (or tuition/room/board), not the full COA.

  4. The Capital Merit award is set by your high school GPA at the point of admission review; the tiers (1830 / Dean's / Trustees' / Provost's / President's) map to fixed GPA bands from 3.0 to 4.0+.

  5. Capital scholarships are 'renewable for students maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress with a minimum 2.0 cumulative grade point average' — drop below it and renewal is at risk.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Students who want a large, fully-automatic merit floor with no separate application at a mid-size Lutheran (ELCA) university near downtown Columbus; lower-income Ohio residents with a 3.5+ GPA can stack toward free tuition via the Capital Gateway Scholarship.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $63,826 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Capital University, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Capital University, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$19,062
$30,001–$48,000$18,574
$48,001–$75,000$20,331
$75,001–$110,000$23,348
$110,001+$27,299
All income levels (average)$22,576

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$43,234
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$22,576

That works out to roughly a 60% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $57,130 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
60%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
76%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$26,889 (~$285/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$54,143
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
41%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
65%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Capital's GPA-based Capital Merit Scholarship explicitly stacks on top of the automatic Main Street Scholarship (the published grid sums the two, e.g., $8,000 President's Award + $20,000 Main Street = $28,000/yr). No published rule was found describing how third-party OUTSIDE scholarships displace Capital institutional aid for traditional undergraduates; the only displacement-style language found ('institutional scholarships cannot exceed the direct cost of tuition') appears on the Law School site, not the traditional-undergraduate pages.

Institutional stacking is confirmed for traditional undergrads: 'The Capital Merit Scholarship is a stackable award and is added to the Main Street Scholarship,' and the grid arithmetic ($2,000-$8,000 added to $20,000) is published. The treatment of outside (third-party) scholarships against institutional merit for traditional undergraduates is not stated on the official traditional-undergraduate financial-aid pages reviewed.

Source

Other Capital University scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountUp to Full Tuition w/ Room & BoardEligibilityROTC participants; awarded as part of the merit-based scholarship review.

Listed among Capital's automatic merit-based awards alongside the federal ROTC scholarship; covers up to full tuition with room & board. Specific terms not detailed on the page.

Source

AmountVariesEligibilityOhio residents in eligible STEM/STEMM majors; state-funded program administered through Capital.

State of Ohio program (not pure institutional merit); amounts and renewal set by the state program. Listed on Capital's financial-aid site.

Source

Capital University merit aid FAQ

  • Do I have to apply separately for Capital's merit scholarships?

    No. The Main Street Scholarship and the GPA-based Capital Merit Scholarship are automatic — your admission application serves as your scholarship application, and there is no separate financial aid application required to receive them.

  • How much automatic merit can I expect?

    Every admitted full-time first-year student receives the Main Street Scholarship ($20,000/yr, minimum $80,000 over four years). The Capital Merit Scholarship then stacks on top based on high school GPA: $2,000/yr (3.0-3.19), $4,000 (3.2-3.49), $6,000 (3.5-3.79), $7,000 (3.8-3.99), or $8,000 (4.0+) — bringing combined automatic merit to $22,000-$28,000/yr.

  • Can my Capital scholarships be combined?

    Yes for the institutional awards: 'The Capital Merit Scholarship is a stackable award and is added to the Main Street Scholarship,' and the published grid sums the two. Residential students can also add the $1,000 Comet Community Award. How outside third-party scholarships affect Capital aid is not stated on the official undergraduate pages — confirm with the aid office.

  • What do I need to keep my scholarship each year?

    Scholarships are renewable for students maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress with a minimum 2.0 cumulative GPA (and any award-specific requirements). The Main Street Scholarship is potentially renewable for up to eight semesters.

See sources and other schools

How Capital University compares

  • 133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.

    Capital University is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.

    Capital University is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Capital University is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Capital University’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Capital University merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Capital University fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook