Skip to content
← Back to Central College's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

Central College
Decision sheet

Iowa · Research checked 2026-06-03 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

Central College in Pella, Iowa pairs a $1,000 Journey Scholarship for every admitted student with a cumulative-GPA academic grid that awards $4,000-$8,000 per year, and competitive Scholar Day events that can reach full tuition.

More than one award path. Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 7 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Academic Scholarship (cumulative-GPA grid)

$4,000-$8,000 per year · Published range

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: Cumulative HS GPA grid: 4.0+ = $8,000; 3.85-3.999 = $7,000; 3.4-3.849 = $6,000; 2.9-3.399 = $5,000; 2.89 and below = $4,000

Eligibility: Test scores not referenced on the scholarship page

Renewal: Central states scholarships are renewable each year for four years. Specific renewal GPA not stated on the page.

Other terms: Awarded by cumulative-GPA bracket; the page frames it as 'find the scholarship that matches your GPA.' Every GPA band (including 2.89 and below) receives at least $4,000/year, so the award is effectively automatic for admitted students. No application deadline stated for the GPA award itself.

https://central.edu/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/

Journey Scholarship

$1,000 per year · Published amount

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: Awarded to every admitted student

Renewal: Central states scholarships are renewable each year for four years. Specific renewal GPA not stated on the page.

Other terms: Automatic for all admitted students (not stats-gated, so automaticOnStats is false). Stacks with the GPA-based academic scholarship.

https://central.edu/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/

Scholar Day Full Tuition Scholarship

Full tuition (all four years) · Published coverage or package

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: Competitive; awarded after Scholar Day events, which include an open-ended group challenge; must participate in Scholar Day

Renewal: Covers recipients' tuition all four years.

Other terms: Competitive (not automatic). 'Multiple full tuition scholarships' awarded after all Scholar Day events are completed. Full tuition equals the published 2026-27 tuition of $22,374/year (per the costs page), but that figure is not restated on the scholarship page, so the amount field is left as 'Full tuition' rather than a clean number. Scholar Day event dates: Oct. 31, Nov. 7, Jan. 23, Jan. 30; registration opens in August.

https://central.edu/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: Outside (third-party) scholarships are treated as resources toward financial need. They do NOT reduce the gift portion of the Central aid package; instead an increase in gift aid may reduce the loan or work-study portion. This is a loan-first (self-help-first) displacement pattern that protects Central's grants/scholarships.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/central-college/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.