Central College award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Central College?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
7 of 7 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 7 of 7
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 7
- Renewal risk profile
- low
Renewal risk profile
Central College's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.
- Journey Scholarship: See notes
- Academic Scholarship (cumulative-GPA grid): See notes
- Scholar Day Full Tuition Scholarship: See notes
- Scholar Day Award: See notes
- Music Major Scholarship: See notes
- Endowed Music Scholarship: See notes
- Heritage Award: See notes
Renewal terms by tier
Journey Scholarship
$1,000 per yearTo keep it: Central states scholarships are renewable each year for four years. Specific renewal GPA not stated on the page.
Source: https://central.edu/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/
Academic Scholarship (cumulative-GPA grid)
$4,000-$8,000 per yearEntry requirements: Cumulative HS GPA grid: 4.0+ = $8,000; 3.85-3.999 = $7,000; 3.4-3.849 = $6,000; 2.9-3.399 = $5,000; 2.89 and below = $4,000 GPA
To keep it: Central states scholarships are renewable each year for four years. Specific renewal GPA not stated on the page.
Source: https://central.edu/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/
Scholar Day Full Tuition Scholarship
Full tuition (all four years)To keep it: Covers recipients' tuition all four years.
Source: https://central.edu/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/
Scholar Day Award
$500-$2,000 per yearTo keep it: Central states scholarships are renewable each year for four years.
Source: https://central.edu/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/
Music Major Scholarship
$2,000 per yearTo keep it: Central states scholarships are renewable each year for four years.
Source: https://central.edu/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/
Endowed Music Scholarship
$500 per yearTo keep it: Central states scholarships are renewable each year for four years.
Source: https://central.edu/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/
Heritage Award
$500 per yearTo keep it: Central states scholarships are renewable each year for four years.
Source: https://central.edu/financial-aid/scholarships-awards/
How families lose this aid
- Assuming the Scholar Day full-tuition scholarship is automatic on GPA.
The GPA grid ($4,000-$8,000) is the automatic academic award; full tuition is a separate COMPETITIVE Scholar Day outcome decided after the Scholar Day events (which include an open-ended group challenge), not by GPA alone.
- Skipping Scholar Day because you already have the GPA award.
Scholar Day is the only path to the $500-$2,000 Scholar Day Awards and the competitive full-tuition scholarships. You must register (registration opens in August) and attend one of the events: Oct. 31, Nov. 7, Jan. 23, or Jan. 30.
Renewal questions families ask
- Is the academic scholarship automatic?
- The cumulative-GPA academic scholarship is awarded by GPA bracket ($4,000-$8,000/year), and every admitted student gets at least the $1,000 Journey Scholarship, so the base merit is effectively automatic. The $500-$2,000 Scholar Day Awards and the full-tuition scholarships are competitive and require attending a Scholar Day event.
- What GPA gets the largest academic scholarship?
- A 4.0 or above cumulative GPA earns $8,000/year; 3.85-3.999 earns $7,000; 3.4-3.849 earns $6,000; 2.9-3.399 earns $5,000; and 2.89 and below earns $4,000. All are renewable for four years.
How Central College compares across our verified dataset
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Central College is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Central College’s own published materials.
- Policy pageCentral College stacking policy
- Cost of attendanceCentral College cost-of-attendance worksheet
- Merit tiersJourney Scholarship
More on Central College merit aid
- Central College merit aid overviewFull tier ladder, named scholarships, departmental awards, and how families decide.
- Central College scholarship stackingWhether outside awards land as upside or quietly displace institutional aid.
- Does Central College displace outside scholarships?The dollar math on a $5,000 outside award, plus peer schools that handle it differently.