Skip to content
← Back to Chadron State's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

Chadron State
Decision sheet

Nebraska · Research checked 2026-07-02 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

Chadron State charges every undergraduate — resident or non-resident — the same low tuition rate, layers a simple GPA-only merit grid ($1,500-$8,000/year, no test scores needed) on top, and guarantees Pell-eligible students from any state attend tuition-free.

Selection beyond grades and scores. These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 10 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

CSC Freshman Merit Scholarships (President / Eagle / Dean / Community Scholars)

$1,500-$8,000/year · Published range

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: 3.00-4.0 Cumulative Unweighted GPA (four bands: 3.75-4.0 = $8,000/yr; 3.5-3.74 = $4,000/yr; 3.25-3.49 = $2,000/yr; 3.00-3.24 = $1,500/yr)

Eligibility: Apply for admission and submit high school transcript; priority consideration if application process is complete by March 1. Merit Scholarship Application is included in the Admissions Application (no separate application). Page says students 'will be considered,' not that awards are guaranteed, so automaticOnStats is set to false.

Renewal: Renewal terms are not stated on the scholarships page; the awards are listed as per-year amounts. Ask the START Office what GPA is required to keep each award.

Other terms: GPA-only grid effective beginning Fall 2026; uses cumulative UNWEIGHTED GPA. ACT/SAT submission 'may provide additional scholarship opportunities' but is not required for this grid.

https://www.csc.edu/start/financial-aid/scholarships/

CSC Transfer Merit Scholarships (President Scholars / Innovative Transfer Scholars)

$2,500-$8,000/year · Published range

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: 3.0-4.0 Cumulative GPA (3.95-4.0 = $8,000/yr President Scholars; 3.0-3.94 = $2,500/yr Innovative Transfer Scholars)

Eligibility: Apply for admission and submit ALL college transcripts; priority consideration if application process is complete by March 1. Submitting ACT/SAT scores 'may provide additional scholarship opportunities.'

Renewal: Renewal terms not stated on the page; awards are listed as per-year amounts.

Other terms: Separate transfer grid effective beginning Fall 2026. Note the transfer President Scholars band (3.95-4.0) is much narrower than the freshman band (3.75-4.0).

https://www.csc.edu/start/financial-aid/scholarships/

Board of Trustees Scholarship (Nebraska State College System)

Full tuition · Published coverage or package

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: Minimum 3.0 Unweighted GPA (or 'a high school unweighted GPA that demonstrates academic excellence') · SAT: 1200 · ACT: 25 or above

Eligibility: Competitive; Nebraska high school graduates planning to attend Chadron, Wayne or Peru State the following fall.

Renewal: Students must enroll full-time with CSC and maintain a 3.25 cumulative grade point average to qualify for the renewal each year.

Other terms: Four-year, full-tuition waiver covering up to 18 credit hours of on-campus tuition per term. Tuition waiver only — does not state coverage of fees, housing, or food.

https://www.csc.edu/start/financial-aid/scholarships/

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: CSC requires students to report all outside (third-party) scholarships and warns that additional outside awards may force an adjustment to — or repayment of — Federal Student Financial Aid; the pages do not say which aid type is reduced first. Within the State College Tuition Guarantee, outside scholarships are NOT counted against the tuition gap and may be applied to non-tuition costs. The Davis-Chambers Scholarship 'is applied after all other aid.' No page found states a school-wide rule on combining multiple CSC institutional merit awards.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/chadron-state-college/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.