Clarkson award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Clarkson?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
10 of 10 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 10 of 10
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 10
- Renewal risk profile
- low
Renewal risk profile
Clarkson's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.
- Clarkson Scholarships (automatic merit review): See notes
- Clarkson Leadership Awards and Clarkson Achievement Awards: See notes
- Ignite Presidential Fellowship: See notes
- Solinsky Engineers Program: See notes
- Early Decision Incentive Scholarship: See notes
- Clarkson Visit Scholarship: See notes
- Heintzelman Cape Cod Scholars Program: See notes
- Project Lead the Way Scholarship: See notes
- Holcroft Alumni Recognition Awards: See notes
- Alumni Legacy Award: See notes
Renewal terms by tier
Clarkson Scholarships (automatic merit review)
Amounts varyTo keep it: Page does not state the amount or a renewal GPA for the base automatic merit award.
Source: https://www.clarkson.edu/admissions-financial-aid/sas/financial-aid/new-students-freshman-transfer
Clarkson Leadership Awards and Clarkson Achievement Awards
$30,000 per year (renewable up to four years)To keep it: Described as an 'annual scholarship renewable for up to four years.' No specific renewal GPA stated on the page.
Source: https://www.clarkson.edu/admissions-aid/undergraduate/tuition-costs/scholarships-grants-loans
Ignite Presidential Fellowship
Full tuition (10 students)To keep it: Covers all tuition costs for four years (eight semesters) of undergraduate study.
Source: https://www.clarkson.edu/admissions-aid/undergraduate/tuition-costs/scholarships-grants-loans
Solinsky Engineers Program
$5,000 per year (total $20,000 over four years)To keep it: $5,000 per year for up to four years of undergraduate study, for a total of $20,000.
Source: https://www.clarkson.edu/admissions-aid/undergraduate/tuition-costs/scholarships-grants-loans
Early Decision Incentive Scholarship
$8,000 total ($2,000 per year over four years)To keep it: Split evenly over four years ($2,000 per year).
Source: https://www.clarkson.edu/admissions-aid/undergraduate/tuition-costs/scholarships-grants-loans
Clarkson Visit Scholarship
$1,000 per year (total $4,000 over four years)To keep it: Renewable each year for four years for a total of $4,000.
Source: https://www.clarkson.edu/admissions-aid/undergraduate/tuition-costs/scholarships-grants-loans
Heintzelman Cape Cod Scholars Program
$12,500 per year (total $50,000 over four years)To keep it: $12,500 per year for up to four years of undergraduate study.
Source: https://www.clarkson.edu/admissions-aid/undergraduate/tuition-costs/scholarships-grants-loans
Project Lead the Way Scholarship
$2,000 (10 students per year)Entry requirements: Minimum overall high school average of 88 GPA
To keep it: Renewal/per-year vs. one-time not stated on the page.
Source: https://www.clarkson.edu/admissions-aid/undergraduate/tuition-costs/scholarships-grants-loans
Holcroft Alumni Recognition Awards
$500 per yearTo keep it: Stated as '$500 per year'; renewal terms beyond that not detailed.
Source: https://www.clarkson.edu/admissions-aid/undergraduate/tuition-costs/scholarships-grants-loans
Alumni Legacy Award
$1,000 (one-time)To keep it: Page does not state renewal; appears to be a flat $1,000 award.
Source: https://www.clarkson.edu/admissions-aid/undergraduate/tuition-costs/scholarships-grants-loans
How Clarkson compares across our verified dataset
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Clarkson is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Clarkson’s own published materials.
- Policy pageClarkson stacking policy
- Cost of attendanceClarkson cost-of-attendance worksheet
- Merit tiersClarkson Scholarships (automatic merit review)
More on Clarkson merit aid
- Clarkson merit aid overviewFull tier ladder, named scholarships, departmental awards, and how families decide.
- Clarkson scholarship stackingWhether outside awards land as upside or quietly displace institutional aid.
- Does Clarkson displace outside scholarships?The dollar math on a $5,000 outside award, plus peer schools that handle it differently.
