Skip to content

Covenant College award rules

Will the scholarship last four years at Covenant College?

We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.

Verified Jul 20262 months ago

The short answer

9 of 9 published awards are listed as renewable.

The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.

What to do

Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.

See every award rule, common mistake, and source

At a glance

Renewable tiers
9 of 9
One-time tiers
0
Tiers with published renewal terms
9
Renewal risk profile
low

Renewal risk profile

Covenant College's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.

  • Founders' Scholarship: See notes
  • Tower Scholarship: See notes
  • Thistle Scholarship: See notes
  • Shield Scholarship: See notes
  • Tartan Scholarship: See notes
  • Maclellan Scholars Program: See notes
  • Wilberforce Scholarship: See notes
  • Presidential Scholarship: See notes
  • Visual Arts Scholarship: See notes

Renewal terms by tier

  • Founders' Scholarship

    $22,000

    Entry requirements: Avg recipient 3.95 GPA GPA · Avg recipient 1410 SAT SAT · Avg recipient 30 ACT ACT

    To keep it: Renewal GPA/terms not stated on the scholarships & aid page.

    Source: https://covenant.edu/admissions/costs/aid.html

  • Tower Scholarship

    $20,000

    Entry requirements: Avg recipient 3.82 GPA GPA · Avg recipient 1320 SAT SAT · Avg recipient 28 ACT ACT

    To keep it: Renewal GPA/terms not stated on the scholarships & aid page.

    Source: https://covenant.edu/admissions/costs/aid.html

  • Thistle Scholarship

    $18,000

    Entry requirements: Avg recipient 3.67 GPA GPA · Avg recipient 1250 SAT SAT · Avg recipient 26 ACT ACT

    To keep it: Renewal GPA/terms not stated on the scholarships & aid page.

    Source: https://covenant.edu/admissions/costs/aid.html

  • Shield Scholarship

    $15,000

    Entry requirements: Avg recipient 3.5 GPA GPA · Avg recipient 1130 SAT SAT · Avg recipient 23 ACT ACT

    To keep it: Renewal GPA/terms not stated on the scholarships & aid page.

    Source: https://covenant.edu/admissions/costs/aid.html

  • Tartan Scholarship

    $13,000

    Entry requirements: Avg recipient 3.4 GPA GPA · Avg recipient 1040 SAT SAT · Avg recipient 20 ACT ACT

    To keep it: Renewal GPA/terms not stated on the scholarships & aid page.

    Source: https://covenant.edu/admissions/costs/aid.html

  • Maclellan Scholars Program

    Full tuition

    Entry requirements: Minimum 3.85 high school GPA GPA · Minimum 1320 SAT SAT · Minimum 28 ACT ACT

    To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the scholarships & aid page.

    Source: https://covenant.edu/admissions/costs/aid.html

  • Wilberforce Scholarship

    $15,000

    Entry requirements: No academic minimums to compete GPA

    To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the scholarships & aid page.

    Source: https://covenant.edu/admissions/costs/aid.html

  • Presidential Scholarship

    $5,000

    Entry requirements: Minimum 3.5 high school GPA GPA · Minimum 1240 SAT SAT · Minimum 26 ACT ACT

    To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the scholarships & aid page.

    Source: https://covenant.edu/admissions/costs/aid.html

  • Visual Arts Scholarship

    $5,000

    Entry requirements: No academic minimums to compete GPA

    To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the scholarships & aid page.

    Source: https://covenant.edu/admissions/costs/aid.html

How families lose this aid

  • Treating the published GPA/ACT/SAT numbers as guaranteed cutoffs for each merit tier.

    Covenant publishes the AVERAGE academic profile of recipients for each tier (e.g., Founders' avg 3.95 GPA / 30 ACT), not a hard floor. Your actual tier is set by the admissions office from your full application, so a number slightly below 'average' does not automatically disqualify you from a tier — but it also is not a promise.

Renewal questions families ask

What GPA do I need to keep my scholarship?
Covenant's scholarships & aid page does not publish a renewal GPA for the main merit tiers (some school-specific grants like the Chattanooga Christian and Hilger grants require a 2.5 institutional GPA). Confirm renewal terms directly with the financial aid office.

How Covenant College compares across our verified dataset

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Covenant College is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every renewal claim is checked against Covenant College’s own published materials.

More on Covenant College merit aid