We checked the school’s published rule. Here is the answer and what to do with it.
Verified Jul 20262 months ago
The short answer
The school does not publish a clear answer.
DePaul requires students to report all outside scholarships and other external resources, and those resources are factored into eligibility for federal, state, and institutional aid — including tuition-restricted and need-based aid. DePaul's public compliance page does not publish a fixed order of reduction (loans first vs. institutional aid first), so families should confirm whether an outside award offsets institutional aid before counting on stacking.
What to do
Ask the financial aid office what it will reduce before you spend time applying.
See the school rule, examples, questions, and sources
Published policy type
Displacement policy unclear
At DePaul, an outside scholarship isn't fully spelled out in published policy. The strategy follows from that: assume the worst-case (grant-first) until the aid office confirms otherwise in writing.
depaul.edu publishes the $74,574 cost-of-attendance worksheet the math is run against.
Stacking policy at DePaul
DePaul requires students to report all outside scholarships and other external resources, and those resources are factored into eligibility for federal, state, and institutional aid — including tuition-restricted and need-based aid. DePaul's public compliance page does not publish a fixed order of reduction (loans first vs. institutional aid first), so families should confirm whether an outside award offsets institutional aid before counting on stacking.
DePaul's 'Complying with Terms & Conditions' page states outside resources 'will be factored into your eligibility for federal, state, and institutional aid, including tuition-restricted or need-based aid' and that adjustments are made if necessary, but it does not state whether loans/work-study are reduced before institutional aid. Confirm the reduction order with the Office of Financial Aid.
It can. DePaul requires you to report outside resources, which 'will be factored into your eligibility for federal, state, and institutional aid, including tuition-restricted or need-based aid.' The public page does not state whether loans are cut before institutional aid, so confirm the reduction order with the financial aid office.
Rules that bite at DePaul
The trip wires we'd flag in a custom playbook. Each is derived from DePaul's own published policy, not generic advice.
Renewal ruleAcademic Scholarships (Presidential / Deans' / DePaul Scholars' / St. Vincent DePaul): renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out
Renewable for up to four consecutive years (12 quarters) of undergraduate study with good academic standing; must enroll full time each quarter and complete a minimum of 36 quarter hours across Fall, Winter, and Spring. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.
Outside awardsNo published displacement order
DePaul's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.
Aid-office script (copy & send)
A binding written answer beats a verbal hallway promise. This script is keyed to DePaul's published displacement type. Paste it, fill in your name, and send it before you accept an outside award.
Subject: Outside-scholarship treatment question, fall applicant
Dear DePaul Financial Aid Office,
I'm a fall applicant reviewing how outside scholarships interact with my institutional aid package. I've read the public policy at https://www.depaul.edu/tuition-and-aid/financial-aid-and-eligibility/compliance and the $74,574 cost-of-attendance worksheet.
The public policy doesn't specify how outside scholarships are treated against institutional merit and need-based aid. Can you confirm in writing whether outside awards reduce: (a) loans first, (b) institutional grant first, or (c) only trigger a reduction when total aid exceeds COA?
If the answer varies by aid type or award size, what's the dollar threshold or category split?
A written answer (email is fine) is important because the outside-scholarship awarding bodies want confirmation before disbursing. Thank you for the time.
— [Student name], [Application ID if available]
How DePaul compares across our verified dataset
133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.
DePaul is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.
133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.
DePaul is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.
665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
DePaul is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every claim is checked against DePaul’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.