Skip to content
← Back to East Carolina's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

East Carolina
Decision sheet

North Carolina · Research checked 2026-06-03 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

ECU has no automatic merit grid — nearly all merit aid is application-based through ECUAWard (Jan 15 deadline); the headline awards are the competitive full-ride Brinkley-Lane Scholars (formerly EC Scholars) and the only auto-awarded merit, the $1,000 renewable Beacon Scholarship.

More than one award path. Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

Awards to discuss

The 3 awards in this school's research. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Beacon Scholarship (formerly Chancellor's Scholars)

$1,000 per year · Published amount

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

Eligibility: Awarded automatically based on merit, without a specific application. (Recent cohort profile cited a 3.62 unweighted GPA and ~1240 average SAT, but no published cutoff guarantees the award.)

Renewal: Described as a '$1,000 renewable scholarship'; specific renewal GPA/conditions are not stated on the page.

Other terms: The ONLY ECU merit award given without an application — every other merit scholarship requires the ECUAWard application. Previously called Chancellor's Scholars; renamed Beacon to avoid confusion with similarly titled awards. The 3.62 GPA / 1240 SAT figures are a descriptive cohort profile, NOT a published qualifying threshold.

https://news.ecu.edu/2019/12/10/beacon-scholars/

Brinkley-Lane Scholars (formerly EC Scholars)

Full cost of attendance (in-state and out-of-state) plus a $5,000 study abroad stipend and a $3,000 enrichment scholarship · Published award terms

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: Competitive and by invitation; students must first be accepted into the Honors College, then complete the Brinkley-Lane section of the Honors College application. Selection involves multiple rounds of faculty/staff/alumni review and an on-campus 'Selection Sunday' interview for finalists.

Renewal: Honors College scholarships are renewable for a maximum term of eight semesters of undergraduate work, as long as students remain in good standing with the Honors College.

Other terms: ECU's most prestigious merit scholarship program, originally established in 1998 as the EC Scholars Program and renamed Brinkley-Lane Scholars after a $30M gift in 2023. The award covers full cost of attendance for both in-state and out-of-state recipients. The combined gift 'will immediately increase the award for each scholar from $64,000 to more than $75,000' — that $64,000/$75,000 is a four-year program value, not a per-year or guaranteed-grid amount, so it is not placed in `amount`. Apply via the Honors College application by Dec 2, 2025.

https://honors.ecu.edu/about/scholarship/

Honors College Fellows

$15,000 over four years ($3,750 per year) · Published award terms

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: Requires admission to the Honors College (competitive, by invitation) and completion of the Honors College application by the December deadline.

Renewal: Honors College scholarships are renewable for a maximum term of eight semesters of undergraduate work, as long as students remain in good standing with the Honors College.

Other terms: A separate, lower-tier Honors College merit award distinct from the full-ride Brinkley-Lane Scholars. Stacks with other awards up to the cost of attendance.

https://honors.ecu.edu/about/scholarship/

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: Honors College awards (including Brinkley-Lane) may be stacked with other scholarships, including discipline-based awards, as long as total aid does not exceed the cost of attendance — a COA-cap rule. Outside (third-party) scholarship checks are mailed to the Office of University Scholarships and are automatically split between fall and spring unless the Cashier's Office is told otherwise; the page does not state which aid is reduced first when total aid would exceed COA.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/east-carolina-university/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.