Skip to content

Eastern Mennonite University · Virginia

Eastern Mennonite scholarships and merit aid

EMU awards automatic GPA-based academic scholarships of roughly $21,000-$27,000 (test-free since 2020), a competitive full-tuition Honors (Yoder/Webb) Scholarship, and a Promise Grant covering 100% of remaining tuition for lower-income Virginia residents — but institutional aid is capped at tuition.

Verified Jul 20262 months ago

The short answer

Is Eastern Mennonite worth a closer look?

Eastern Mennonite awards automatic merit on admission. Eastern Mennonite does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Merit tiers62 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

Free Merit Check

See what Eastern Mennonite's published rules mean for your student. Takes 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Eastern Mennonite

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

$21,000-$27,000

Academic Scholarships (first-year merit grid: President's / Academic Achievement / University / Community / Royal)

Based on grades or scoresCan continue
GPA
Based on cumulative high school GPA; specific GPA bands per tier are not published on the first-year page
SAT
Not considered (EMU is test-free as of March 2020)
ACT
Not considered (EMU is test-free as of March 2020)
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

No separate application required; notified with admissions decision letter. Updated transcripts accepted through January for scholarship upgrades.

How to keep it

Renewable for four years, depending on academic performance. Students must maintain a cumulative 2.0 GPA (3.0 for President's Scholarship) at EMU to continue receiving the scholarship. Lost scholarships may not be regained. Limited to 9 semesters of full-time career enrollment at EMU and at any prior higher education institutions.

Notes

Page prose says scholarships 'range from $18,000 to $26,000 per year' but the same page's award table lists $21,000-$27,000 — conflict flagged in Section C. Awards are tuition-only per the grants page.

Source

Full tuition

EMU Honors Scholarship (Yoder/Webb Scholarship)

Apply separatelyCan continue
GPA
Cumulative weighted high school GPA above 3.5 to be eligible to apply
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

Must first be admitted to EMU; submit Honors application, two response pieces (400-word essay + 2-4 minute video), resume, one reference, updated transcript; online interview with honors faculty. Deadline 11:59 p.m. Eastern, Sunday, February 7, 2027 (current posted cycle); winners notified by early March, accept/decline by April 1.

How to keep it

Stated as 'a full-tuition scholarship for all four years'; no separate renewal GPA published on the honors page.

Notes

The financial-aid grants page calls this the Yoder/Webb Scholarship; the honors admissions page calls it the EMU Honors Scholarship — same full-tuition award. Full tuition, not full cost of attendance. Only a few students selected each year. Posted deadline (Feb 7, 2027) corresponds to the fall 2027 entry cycle — see Section C.

Source

$18,000-$23,000

Academic Scholarship (transfer students)

Based on grades or scoresCan continue
GPA
President's 3.50-4.00; Academic 3.20-3.49; University 2.85-3.19; Community 2.40-2.84; Royal 2.39 and below (previous college GPA)
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

Notified with admissions decision letter; no separate application. Second degree students are not awarded scholarships.

How to keep it

Students must maintain a cumulative 2.0 GPA at EMU to continue receiving the scholarship. Lost scholarships may not be regained. Limited to 9 semesters of full-time career enrollment at EMU and at any prior higher education institutions.

Notes

The published transfer grid is labeled '2025-2026 Award' — amounts for 2026-2027 were not posted at extraction time (flagged in Section C).

Source

100 percent of all remaining tuitio…100 percent of all remaining tuition costs

EMU Promise Grant

Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies
Who qualifies

Need/residency-based (not merit): file FAFSA with valid SAI; first-time, full-time (12-18 credit hours) degree-seeking undergraduate (second degrees not eligible); family 2024 AGI of $75,000 or less; Virginia resident eligible for VTAG who completes the VTAG application prior to the July 31 deadline.

How to keep it

Renewable for four years (eight semesters) if family AGI is $75,000 or less on a valid FAFSA, student remains in good standing and meets satisfactory academic progress standards, maintains Virginia residency and VTAG eligibility, and maintains full-time enrollment (12 credit hours). Eligibility re-evaluated at the end of every semester.

Notes

Last-dollar tuition guarantee, not a merit award — listed here as a distinct flagship named award. Covers tuition only: no fees, living expenses, or summer tuition.

Source

$5,000

EMU Keystone Award

Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies
Who qualifies

New full-time undergraduate Pennsylvania residents who enroll in the Fall 2026 term.

How to keep it

Renewable for up to four years.

Notes

Residency-specific award for Pennsylvania residents only; page does not state whether it is automatic or requires an application.

Source

Up to $15,000

STEM Scholarship (NSF S-STEM)

Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies
Who qualifies

Competitive application + reference + interview; U.S. citizens/permanent residents/nationals/refugees; Pell-eligible (demonstrated financial need); eligible STEM majors (Biochemistry, Biology, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Science, Math, Psychology — research/STEM tracks). Application due 11:59 p.m. Eastern, Sunday, February 15, 2026; FAFSA priority review deadline February 8, 2026.

How to keep it

Covers 'unmet financial need up to $15,000 annually for the length of degree'; if you change to a non-eligible (non-STEM) major you keep funding until the switch and repay nothing.

Notes

Need-gated competitive award for high-achieving STEM students, includes paid bridge program, mentorship, paid internship. Applied after all other scholarships, grants, and fellowships.

Source

See what could change an award

Rules that could change the answer

These are the rules we would flag for your family. Each comes from Eastern Mennonite's published information.

  • Renewal ruleAcademic Scholarships (first-year merit grid: President's / Academic Achievement / University / Community / Royal): renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

    Renewable for four years, depending on academic performance. Students must maintain a cumulative 2.0 GPA (3.0 for President's Scholarship) at EMU to continue receiving the scholarship. Lost scholarships may not be regained. Limited to 9 semesters of full-time career enrollment at EMU and at any prior higher education institutions. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

  • Aid capHard $60,622 cost-of-attendance ceiling

    Institutional aid at Eastern Mennonite cannot push the package past $60,622. Big outside wins can mathematically reduce institutional grant once the ceiling is reached.

What families often miss

  1. The grants page states 'Institutional aid may not exceed tuition' and individually marks academic scholarships, EMU grants, math/music scholarships, international grants, the alumni grant, tuition discounts, and the church match as 'for tuition only.' Even the full-tuition Honors (Yoder/Webb) Scholarship covers tuition, not the roughly $14,472 in 2026-27 housing, meals, and fees.

  2. The Promise Grant 'does not cover any fees or living expenses' and 'does not cover the cost of summer tuition' — it only covers remaining tuition after federal, state, and institutional grant aid. It also requires Virginia residency, VTAG eligibility (VTAG application before the July 31 deadline), a family AGI of $75,000 or less, and first-time full-time enrollment; eligibility is re-evaluated at the end of every semester.

  3. Per the grants page, 'Students must maintain a cumulative 2.0 GPA (3.0 for President's Scholarship) at EMU to continue receiving the scholarship. Lost scholarships may not be regained.' The President's Scholarship carries a higher 3.0 renewal cliff than the other tiers.

  4. Academic scholarships 'are limited to 9 semesters of full-time career enrollment at EMU and at any prior higher education institutions' — transfers with several prior semesters have less scholarship eligibility remaining.

  5. The grants page caps stacking: 'Total aid awarded may not exceed cost of attendance. Institutional aid may not exceed tuition.' Treatment of private outside scholarships (which aid gets reduced first) is not specified on the pages reviewed.

  6. EMU 'became test-free as of March 2020' — test scores are not required and 'nor will test scores be considered in the admissions evaluation.' Academic scholarships are based solely on cumulative high school GPA (or previous college GPA for transfers).

  7. The Honors (Yoder/Webb) Scholarship requires a separate application after admission — portfolio, essay, video, reference, and interview — due by 11:59 p.m. Eastern on the posted deadline (currently Sunday, February 7, 2027 for the next cycle). Applicants need a weighted high school GPA above 3.5 to apply.

  8. The transfer grid tops out at $23,000 (President's, 3.50-4.00 GPA) versus $27,000 on the first-year grid, and the posted transfer amounts are labeled '2025-2026 Award.' Second degree students receive no scholarships at all: 'We do not award scholarships to second degree students.'

  9. VTAG underpins both the $5,250 state grant (2025-26 figure) and EMU Promise Grant eligibility. EMU's own pages disagree on the deadline: the grants page says 'A VTAG application must be filed by September 15,' while the Promise Grant and transfer pages say July 31. Verify with the aid office and file by the earlier date.

  10. The EMU Keystone Award is a $5,000 grant 'awarded exclusively to new full-time undergraduate Pennsylvania residents who enroll in the Fall 2026 term,' renewable up to four years — but it applies only to that residency and entry term.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Strong-GPA students who want guaranteed merit money without test scores (EMU is test-free), and lower-income Virginia residents who can pair VTAG with the EMU Promise Grant for fully covered tuition. Top students with a 3.5+ weighted GPA can compete for the full-tuition Honors Scholarship.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $60,622 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Eastern Mennonite, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Eastern Mennonite, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$22,994
$30,001–$48,000$20,333
$48,001–$75,000$20,454
$75,001–$110,000$27,570
$110,001+$29,315
All income levels (average)$24,588

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$43,920
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$24,588

That works out to roughly a 57% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $56,756 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
67%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
76%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$24,813 (~$263/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$54,869
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
40%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
64%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Total aid from all sources cannot exceed the cost of attendance, and EMU institutional aid cannot exceed tuition. Most EMU scholarships and grants (academic scholarships, EMU grants, math/music scholarships, international grants, alumni grant, tuition discounts, church match) are explicitly 'for tuition only,' while federal/state grants may be used for full cost of attendance. The pages do not state how private outside scholarships are treated (which aid is reduced first).

The grants page states: 'Total aid awarded may not exceed cost of attendance. Institutional aid may not exceed tuition.' Many institutional items are individually marked 'This financial aid item is for tuition only.' The departmental math scholarship is 'offered on top of other financial aid from EMU (not to exceed EMU tuition),' and the STEM Scholarship 'will be applied after all other scholarships, grants, and fellowships are awarded.' No page opened describes whether outside/private scholarships displace institutional aid or loans first.

Source

Other Eastern Mennonite scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

Amount$1,500 per year ($6,000 total)EligibilityOne new incoming math major; competitive application; applications received by May 1, 2026 given full consideration

Renewable for 4 years based on satisfactory performance toward a mathematics major; offered on top of other EMU financial aid (not to exceed EMU tuition).

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityAll full-time EMU undergraduates (majors and non-majors); audition required (live or video); application at least one week before audition; deadlines November 1, 2025 (Spring 2026 enrollees) and May 1, 2026 (Fall 2026 enrollees)

Recipients must participate in an EMU music ensemble. Listed as 'for tuition only' on the grants page.

Source

Amount$2,000 per year up to four yearsEligibilityPhi Theta Kappa member transferring to EMU directly from a two-year college with at least a 3.5 GPA; must submit proof of membership to admiss@emu.edu

Transfer-only award.

Source

Amount$1,000 ($500 for spring-semester starters)EligibilityStudents with a parent who is an EMU alumnus

Awarded for the first year of attendance only. Tuition only.

Source

AmountUp to $1,000 match for the first $1,000, then 1:4 match above $1,000EligibilityDomestic, degree-seeking undergraduates enrolled half-time or more who receive tuition assistance grants from a congregation, church conference, or pooled church fund (any denomination)

March 1 is the 'preferred response date' for churches to inform EMU of intent to send funds. The EMU Church Match is for tuition only; the Church Grant may be used for cost of attendance.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityDependents of faculty and staff at Mennonite colleges, universities, high schools, and elementary schools; certain restrictions apply

Tuition only; contact the financial aid office for participating schools.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityInternational students, awarded through the admission process only

Limited to 10 semesters; must be enrolled full-time to receive and retain. Tuition only.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityStudents with exceptional financial need; based on FAFSA results, EMU awarding rationale, and availability of funds

Tuition only.

Source

Eastern Mennonite merit aid FAQ

  • Do I need a separate application for EMU's academic merit scholarships?

    No. Academic scholarships are based on cumulative high school GPA (previous college GPA for transfers), a separate application is not required, and qualifiers are notified with their admissions decision letter. Updated transcripts may be submitted through January to be considered for scholarship upgrades.

  • What is the deadline for the full-tuition Honors (Yoder/Webb) Scholarship?

    The currently posted deadline is 11:59 p.m. Eastern on Sunday, February 7, 2027 (the next application cycle). Applicants must already be admitted to EMU, have a weighted high school GPA above 3.5, and submit an essay, a 2-4 minute video, a resume, a reference, and an updated transcript, followed by an interview. Winners are notified by early March and must accept by April 1.

  • How much do EMU merit scholarships pay per year?

    The first-year grid lists the President's Scholarship at $27,000, Academic Achievement at $26,000, University at $25,000, Community at $23,000, and Royal at $21,000 per academic year — although page prose elsewhere says the range is $18,000 to $26,000 (a discrepancy worth confirming with the aid office). Transfer amounts (published for 2025-2026) range from $18,000 to $23,000.

  • What GPA do I need to keep my scholarship?

    A cumulative 2.0 GPA at EMU (3.0 for the President's Scholarship). Lost scholarships may not be regained, and scholarships are limited to 9 semesters of full-time enrollment counting EMU and all prior institutions.

  • Does the EMU Promise Grant make EMU tuition-free for Virginia students?

    For eligible students, yes for tuition only: it covers 100 percent of remaining tuition after state, federal, and institutional grants/scholarships for Virginia residents receiving VTAG, with a family AGI of $75,000 or less on a valid FAFSA, who are first-time full-time degree-seeking undergraduates. It does not cover fees, living expenses, or summer tuition, and is renewable for four years with eligibility re-checked every semester.

  • When is the VTAG application due?

    EMU's pages give two dates: the Promise Grant and transfer pages say the VTAG application must be completed prior to the July 31 deadline, while the grants page says it must be filed by September 15. File as early as possible and confirm the controlling date with the financial aid office (540-432-4137).

  • Can scholarships stack at EMU?

    Within limits: total aid awarded may not exceed cost of attendance, and institutional aid may not exceed tuition. The math scholarship is offered on top of other EMU aid (not to exceed tuition), and the STEM Scholarship is applied after all other scholarships, grants, and fellowships.

  • What are the deadlines for departmental scholarships?

    STEM Scholarship: application and reference due 11:59 p.m. Eastern, Sunday, February 15, 2026 (FAFSA priority review by February 8, 2026). Math (Brenneman-Longacher): applications received by May 1, 2026 given full consideration. Music: November 1, 2025 for Spring 2026 enrollees and May 1, 2026 for Fall 2026 enrollees.

See sources and other schools

How Eastern Mennonite compares

  • 235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.

    Eastern Mennonite is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Eastern Mennonite is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Eastern Mennonite’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Eastern Mennonite merit aid