Skip to content

Freed-Hardeman scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$36,310per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Freed-Hardeman is worth checking if your student has strong grades or scores. We found 7 published awards, and 3 are based on those numbers.

Where does your student land?

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Merit Scholarships$4,000-$12,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Merit Scholarships

    $4,000-$12,000 per year

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.00 high school GPA
    SAT
    990 (Reading/Writing and Math)
    ACT
    19 composite
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Merit Scholarships

    Who qualifies

    Automatically considered on submission of application + 3-year transcript + ACT/SAT/CLT score; preference to early submitters (Aug/Sep of senior year). Cannot be combined with athletic scholarships.

    How to keep it

    First-time freshmen and students who transfer fewer than 30 hours must maintain at least a 2.75 cumulative GPA during the first academic year; upperclassmen and students who transfer more than 30 hours must maintain a 3.0 cumulative GPA. Reviewed after each semester.

    Worth knowing

    Headline on the page reads 'MERIT SCHOLARSHIPS (up to $12,000 annually)'; body states range $4,000-$12,000. A January 2024 FHU news article gives an older range of $3,000-$11,000 — superseded by the current page. Subject to a $15,000/yr institutional cap on total unfunded institutional aid.

  2. Trustees' Scholarship$18,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Trustees' Scholarship

    $18,000 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.80 high school GPA
    SAT
    1360 (Reading/Writing and Math only)
    ACT
    30 composite
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Trustees' Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Automatic on stats; National Merit Finalists also receive the Trustees' Scholarship. Cannot be combined with athletic scholarships. Must be full-time and live in university housing.

    How to keep it

    Applied to a maximum of eight regular semesters provided the student maintains a 3.4 college cumulative GPA, reviewed at the end of each semester. Recipient must be full-time and live in university housing or a lesser award is given.

    Worth knowing

    CONFLICT: the current grants page states '$18,000 per year' and a '3.80 high school GPA'; FHU's own January 2024 news releases state '$17,500' and list only the 30 ACT / 3.00 GPA threshold (no 3.80 GPA). Used the live grants page ($18,000, 3.80 GPA) as authoritative; flagged for aid-office confirmation. The 3.80 GPA requirement here matches the Honors Scholarship Competition eligibility on the same page.

  3. Honors ScholarshipVaries (competition-based; stackable on Trustees' up to the $27,050 comprehensive charge)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Honors Scholarship

    Varies (competition-based; stackable on Trustees' up to the $27,050 comprehensive charge)

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.80 weighted high school GPA (Trustees' eligibility)
    SAT
    1360
    ACT
    30 composite
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Honors Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Awarded via a competition held each Fall semester; must qualify for the Trustees' Scholarship first. Cannot be combined with athletic scholarship or employee remission.

    How to keep it

    Conditional, renewable for up to four years, subject to annual review by the Dean of the Honors College. Recipients must participate in the Freshman Honors program, join the Honors College within their first year and remain in good standing, take at least 12 hours each semester, and maintain at least a 3.5 cumulative GPA.

    Worth knowing

    Amount not published on the page — competition-determined. The only award FHU explicitly says stacks on top of the Trustees' Scholarship (other awards are capped at $15,000/yr total unfunded institutional aid). 'Stackable up to the total cost of FHU's Comprehensive charge ($27,050 for the 2026-2027 school year).' Amount left as 'Varies' because no dollar figure is published.

  4. Transfer Scholarships$1,000-$7,000 per year (college-GPA basis); merit basis $2,000-$12,000AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Transfer Scholarships

    $1,000-$7,000 per year (college-GPA basis); merit basis $2,000-$12,000

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    2.0 college GPA and above for the transfer-scholarship track; merit track uses cumulative HS GPA + highest ACT/SAT
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Transfer Scholarships

    Who qualifies

    Transfer students are eligible for the same scholarships and discounts as first-time freshmen. Students graduating from a participating community college may be eligible for a minimum guaranteed scholarship. Cannot be combined with athletic scholarships.

    How to keep it

    Same maintenance rules as merit awards; students who transfer fewer than 30 hours must maintain 2.75 cumulative GPA the first year, more than 30 hours must maintain 3.0.

    Worth knowing

    Two tracks: (1) the freshman merit grid on HS GPA + ACT/SAT ($2,000-$12,000), or (2) a college-GPA transfer scholarship ($1,000-$7,000, available at a 2.0 college GPA and above). Header reads 'up to $11,000 annually'; body lists the $2,000-$12,000 and $1,000-$7,000 ranges.

  5. Artist Scholarship Award (FHU Artist Award)$4,000-$6,000 over 4 yearsNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Artist Scholarship Award (FHU Artist Award)

    $4,000-$6,000 over 4 years

    Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Artist Scholarship Award (FHU Artist Award)

    Who qualifies

    Covers four performing-arts degree programs: theatre, music, visual arts, and photography. Requires an audition or portfolio review with the Awards Committee during a Maroon & Gold Day (or by appointment). Selected by program director.

    How to keep it

    Spread over four years; renewal terms not specified beyond the four-year value.

    Worth knowing

    Talent award; audition/portfolio required. Page states '$4,000 - $6,000 over 4 years' (i.e., not per-year). Theatre decisions made by late April each year.

  6. FHU Competitive Departmental Awards (Garfield / Biblical Studies)$500-$2,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    FHU Competitive Departmental Awards (Garfield / Biblical Studies)

    $500-$2,000

    Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for FHU Competitive Departmental Awards (Garfield / Biblical Studies)

    Who qualifies

    James A. Garfield Award for Law & Politics and History majors (essay/writing-sample competition; submissions due April 14, 2026 for 2026-27); Biblical Studies Scholar Award for Bible, Missions, and Youth & Family Ministry majors. Selected by program directors; cannot be combined with athletic scholarship.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Competitive, major-specific. Page lists the range '$500 - $2,000' for Competitive Departmental Awards as a group.

  7. Lads to Leaders/Leaderettes ScholarshipUp to $1,500 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Lads to Leaders/Leaderettes Scholarship

    Up to $1,500 per year

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Maintain 2.5 GPA to renew
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Lads to Leaders/Leaderettes Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Recipient list comes from Lads to Leaders headquarters for students who completed the Lads to Leaders Scholarship Application and listed FHU as a top choice. Cannot be combined with athletic scholarships.

    How to keep it

    Students must maintain a 2.5 GPA; renewed at the end of every spring semester. Recipients must be enrolled full-time.

    Worth knowing

    NOT stackable with Trustees', Test-Optional Merit, or Athletic scholarships (explicit on the page) — a real trap for high-stat Church-of-Christ students who also do Lads to Leaders.

Lights up against Freed-Hardeman's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Freed-Hardeman award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Freed-Hardeman

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Renewal ruleTrustees' Scholarship: renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

Applied to a maximum of eight regular semesters provided the student maintains a 3.4 college cumulative GPA, reviewed at the end of each semester. Recipient must be full-time and live in university housing or a lesser award is given. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

Aid capHard $36,310 cost-of-attendance ceiling

Institutional aid at Freed-Hardeman cannot push the package past $36,310. Big outside wins can mathematically reduce institutional grant once the ceiling is reached.

What makes Freed-Hardeman different

FHU stacks automatic, stats-based merit ($4,000-$12,000/yr, automatic at a 19 ACT / 3.00 GPA) up to an $18,000/yr Trustees' Scholarship at a 30 ACT / 3.80 GPA, but caps total unfunded institutional aid at $15,000/yr per student.

Merit tiers73 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Freed-Hardeman's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. Total UNFUNDED institutional aid is capped at $15,000/yr per student. Discounts combine with merit only up to that cap, and discounts don't stack on other discounts. Only the Honors Scholarship is stated to stack on the Trustees' Scholarship beyond the cap (up to the $27,050 comprehensive charge).

  2. The comprehensive charge ($27,050/yr) is tuition/fees only. Standard room ($4,580) and a 14-meal board plan ($4,680) bring the full 2026-27 total to $36,310/yr, and books (~$300-500/semester) and travel-course costs are still extra.

  3. FHU Promise is a need-based, last-dollar program that requires a Federal Pell Grant each semester, on-campus living, and a 21 ACT / 3.0 GPA. No Pell, no Promise — it is not a pure-merit award.

  4. The Lads to Leaders/Leaderettes Scholarship (up to $1,500) is explicitly NOT stackable with the Trustees', Test-Optional Merit, or Athletic scholarships — so a high-stat applicant generally can't add it to a Trustees' award.

  5. Discounts (Chester County, Participating School, Children of Minister's) must be applied for and accepted by May 15 for first-time freshmen and June 15 for transfers, or the award is forfeited.

  6. Merit is automatic on stats, but first-year freshmen must hold a 2.75 cumulative GPA (3.0 for upperclassmen/30+-hour transfers); the Trustees' requires a 3.4 college GPA and on-campus residence, and the Honors Scholarship a 3.5 GPA — fall below and the award is reduced or lost.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Christian (Churches of Christ) students who want a predictable, stats-based automatic merit award at a small faith-based university, especially high-stat applicants (30 ACT, 3.80 GPA) chasing the Trustees' + Honors stack and Tennessee residents who can layer the state HOPE Scholarship on top.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $36,310 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Freed-Hardeman, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Freed-Hardeman, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$20,988
$30,001–$48,000$21,788
$48,001–$75,000$19,639
$75,001–$110,000$21,308
$110,001+$23,618
All income levels (average)$21,574

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$25,620
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$21,574

That works out to roughly a 44% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $38,315 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
71%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
86%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$21,500 (~$228/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$47,485
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
27%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
49%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

FHU caps total UNFUNDED institutional aid at $15,000/yr per student. Discounts (Chester County, Participating School, Children of Minister's) may combine with other institutional awards (excluding other discounts) only up to that $15,000 cap. The Honors Scholarship is the explicit exception — it stacks on top of the Trustees' Scholarship up to the full $27,050 comprehensive charge. Endowed and Nursing scholarships are stated to SUPPORT merit awards and do NOT stack on top of them. The Church Scholarship Match (up to $2,500) may stack above the institutional cap up to the comprehensive charge. No dedicated 'outside / third-party scholarship displacement' page exists; the governing ceilings are the $15,000 unfunded-institutional cap and the comprehensive charge.

The $15,000/yr cap is on unfunded institutional aid, so it primarily limits how FHU's own scholarships and discounts combine, not necessarily how an external/private scholarship displaces aid. The Church Scholarship Match and the FHU Promise both explicitly cap total awards at the comprehensive charge / cost of attendance. How a true third-party (e.g., a Rotary or corporate) scholarship reduces FHU institutional merit is NOT published — confirm with the aid office (see Section C).

Source

Other Freed-Hardeman scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountUp to $5,000 per yearEligibilityChester County residents who graduated from Chester County High School or were homeschooled and intend to pursue full-time undergraduate study at FHU.

Can combine with other scholarships (excluding additional discounts and athletic scholarships) up to $15,000/yr. Accept by May 15 (freshmen) / June 15 (transfers).

Source

AmountUp to $5,000 per year ($10,000 if parent is full-time faculty/staff at a participating Christian college/university)EligibilityStudents who graduate from, or whose parent is full-time faculty/staff at, a K-12 school in the National Christian School Association (NCSA).

May combine with other institutional awards (excluding discounts) up to $15,000/yr. One discount per student.

Source

AmountUp to $5,000 per yearEligibilityChildren of full-time Church of Christ pulpit or youth ministers (40 hrs/wk paid, employed full-time as a minister at least five years prior). Form signed by two elders, due May 15.

Must be full-time and live on-campus (housing + meal plan). Graduate students not eligible. Combines with other institutional awards (excluding discounts) up to $15,000/yr.

Source

AmountMatches a church scholarship up to $2,500 per year (up to $5,000 combined)EligibilityNew full-time freshman/transfer living on-campus whose church operates a bona fide scholarship program; pass-through arrangements excluded.

May stack above the $15,000 institutional cap up to the comprehensive charge. Renewable up to four years; must keep receiving an equal/greater church scholarship, 12+ hrs/semester, 2.75 GPA first year then 3.0.

Source

AmountCovers up to 90% of the comprehensive charge not met by other aid; caps freshman out-of-pocket at $240/semester tuition & feesEligibilityNEED-BASED. 21 ACT (1060 SAT), 3.0 HS GPA, receives a Federal Pell Grant each semester, lives on campus, admitted before May 15.

Requires a Pell Grant, so it is need-gated, not pure merit. Cannot combine with athletic scholarship or employee remission. The grants page caps the freshman-year gap at $9,500; the FHU Promise page frames it as no more than $6,250/semester for tuition, room and board — confirm which figure governs.

Source

Amount$4,500/yr (freshmen & sophomores), $5,700/yr (juniors & seniors)EligibilitySTATE award, not FHU merit. Tennessee resident (1 yr by Sep 1), 21 ACT (1060 SAT) on a national/state test date OR weighted 3.0 GPA, graduate from a TN-eligible high school. GAMS (+$1,000) and ASPIRE (+$1,500) supplements available.

Layers on top of FHU institutional aid for TN residents; governed by the Tennessee Education Lottery, not FHU. Renewal reviewed at 24/48/72/96 attempted hours (2.75 then 3.0 cumulative TELS GPA).

Source

Freed-Hardeman merit aid FAQ

  • Is FHU merit aid automatic?

    Yes. Any applicant with at least a 19 ACT (990 SAT) and a 3.00 high school GPA is automatically considered for a Merit Scholarship of $4,000-$12,000/yr; a 30 ACT (1360 SAT) and 3.80 GPA automatically qualifies for the $18,000/yr Trustees' Scholarship. Submit your application, 3-year transcript, and ACT/SAT/CLT score — no separate scholarship application is required, and earlier submission is given preference.

  • What's the deadline?

    There's no hard merit deadline, but FHU gives preference to early applicants and begins awarding in August or September of senior year. Discounts must be accepted by May 15 (freshmen) / June 15 (transfers). FHU Promise requires admission before May 15. Competitive departmental awards (Garfield) close April 14, 2026 for 2026-27.

  • Can I combine FHU scholarships?

    Up to a point. Total unfunded institutional aid is capped at $15,000/yr. Discounts combine with merit only up to that cap (and not with each other). The Honors Scholarship is the one award stated to stack on top of the Trustees' Scholarship up to the $27,050 comprehensive charge. Endowed and Nursing scholarships support — but don't stack on top of — merit awards. Most FHU awards can't be combined with athletic scholarships.

  • How do I keep my merit scholarship?

    First-time freshmen and sub-30-hour transfers must maintain a 2.75 cumulative GPA in the first academic year; upperclassmen and 30+-hour transfers need a 3.0. The Trustees' Scholarship requires a 3.4 college GPA, full-time status, and living in university housing; the Honors Scholarship requires a 3.5 GPA and active Honors College participation. GPA is reviewed after each semester.

See sources and other schools

How Freed-Hardeman compares

  • 235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.

    Freed-Hardeman is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Freed-Hardeman is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Freed-Hardeman’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Freed-Hardeman merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Freed-Hardeman fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook