Skip to content

Gallaudet award rules

Will the scholarship last four years at Gallaudet?

We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.

Verified Jul 20262 months ago

The short answer

5 of 5 published awards are listed as renewable.

The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.

What to do

Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.

See every award rule, common mistake, and source

At a glance

Renewable tiers
5 of 5
One-time tiers
0
Tiers with published renewal terms
5
Renewal risk profile
moderate

Renewal risk profile

Gallaudet's renewal bar is achievable for steady students but isn't generous. Most awards require a cumulative GPA in the 3.0–3.4 band plus full-time enrollment. Audit the strictest tier on this school's list before assuming the four-year value is locked in.

  • Provost's Excellence: Full-time enrollment
  • Dean's Prestige: Full-time enrollment
  • Academic Recognition: Full-time enrollment
  • Merit-Based Scholarships for Transfer Students: Full-time enrollment
  • Merit-Based Scholarships For Students of Distinction (Honors Program): 3.2 GPA

Renewal terms by tier

  • Provost's Excellence

    $11,000

    Entry requirements: Not published (based on ACT, SAT, and GPA; exact cutoffs not stated) GPA · Not published SAT · Not published ACT

    To keep it: Merit scholarships are renewable for students who continue to meet the established eligibility criteria. First-time freshmen may receive merit scholarships for up to eight consecutive semesters, provided they maintain required academic standing and full-time enrollment (per the undergraduate catalog).

    Source: https://gallaudet.edu/admissions/undergraduate/afford/

  • Dean's Prestige

    $9,000

    Entry requirements: Not published GPA · Not published SAT · Not published ACT

    To keep it: Renewable while continuing to meet established eligibility criteria; first-time freshmen up to eight consecutive semesters with required academic standing and full-time enrollment (per the undergraduate catalog).

    Source: https://gallaudet.edu/tuition-financial-aid/scholarships/

  • Academic Recognition

    $7,000

    Entry requirements: Not published GPA · Not published SAT · Not published ACT

    To keep it: Renewable while continuing to meet established eligibility criteria; first-time freshmen up to eight consecutive semesters with required academic standing and full-time enrollment (per the undergraduate catalog).

    Source: https://gallaudet.edu/tuition-financial-aid/scholarships/

  • Merit-Based Scholarships for Transfer Students

    Amount not published (same program as the $7,000-$11,000 freshman levels; no transfer-specific amounts stated)

    Entry requirements: Not published (based on high school or college academic record; exact cutoffs not stated) GPA · Not published SAT · Not published ACT

    To keep it: Transfer students may receive merit scholarships for up to six consecutive semesters (three years of study), provided they maintain required academic standing and full-time enrollment.

    Source: https://gallaudet.edu/financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarship-opportunities/

  • Merit-Based Scholarships For Students of Distinction (Honors Program)

    Amount not published

    Entry requirements: 3.2 cumulative GPA to retain (admission criteria not published) GPA · Not published SAT · Not published ACT

    To keep it: To retain the award: maintain a 3.2 cumulative GPA, continuous full-time student status, take a minimum of one Honors credit per semester, and advance to the Capstone in a timely manner.

    Source: https://gallaudet.edu/honors-program/merit-based-scholarships-for-students-of-distinction/

How families lose this aid

  • Assuming a specific GPA or test score guarantees the $11,000 / $9,000 / $7,000 award.

    Gallaudet publishes the three award amounts but NO GPA/ACT/SAT cutoff grid. Pages say students are 'automatically considered' based on ACT, SAT, and GPA, and the catalog adds 'other academic indicators' — the formula is not public. Use the scholarship estimator on the Afford page or ask Admissions for the current criteria before budgeting.

  • Letting the merit scholarship lapse by dropping below full-time or running past the semester clock.

    Per the catalog, merit scholarships require 'required academic standing and full-time enrollment' and are capped at eight consecutive semesters for first-time freshmen and six consecutive semesters for transfers. A part-time semester or a fifth year can cost the award.

  • Honors students assuming the extra Honors scholarship renews like regular merit aid.

    The Honors award has its own retention rules: 3.2 cumulative GPA, continuous full-time status, at least one Honors credit every semester, and timely advancement to the Capstone. Missing any of these forfeits the award.

  • Treating the advertised 'Total Costs Per Year $34,433' as the complete, current budget.

    That figure (tuition & fees $19,658 + room and board $14,775) excludes books, supplies, transportation, and personal expenses, and its tuition line is lower than the official 2026-2027 schedule ($9,612/semester tuition plus $705/semester mandatory fees, about $20,634/year) — so the real 2026-27 total will be higher.

Renewal questions families ask

What GPA or test scores do I need for each level?
Gallaudet does not publish cutoffs. The pages say awards are based on ACT, SAT, and GPA (catalog: 'GPA, standardized test scores, and other academic indicators') and offer a scholarship estimator tool on the Afford page. Ask Admissions for the current criteria.
How long is the merit scholarship renewable?
Up to eight consecutive semesters for first-time freshmen and six consecutive semesters for transfer students, provided you maintain required academic standing and full-time enrollment.
What does Gallaudet cost per year?
The admissions Afford page lists Annual Tuition & Fees $19,658, Room and Board $14,775, Total Costs Per Year $34,433 (books/personal expenses not included). The official 2026-2027 schedule sets undergraduate tuition at $9,612 per semester (12-18 credits) plus $705 per semester in mandatory fees.

Rules that bite at Gallaudet

The renewal trip wires we'd flag in a custom playbook, derived from Gallaudet's own tier rules and not generic advice.

  • Renewal ruleProvost's Excellence: renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

    Merit scholarships are renewable for students who continue to meet the established eligibility criteria. First-time freshmen may receive merit scholarships for up to eight consecutive semesters, provided they maintain required academic standing and full-time enrollment (per the undergraduate catalog). A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

How Gallaudet compares across our verified dataset

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Gallaudet is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every renewal claim is checked against Gallaudet’s own published materials.

More on Gallaudet merit aid