Skip to content
← Back to Greensboro College's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

Greensboro College
Decision sheet

North Carolina · Research checked 2026-07-02 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

Greensboro College auto-considers every accepted traditional undergraduate for GPA-based merit scholarships ($1,500–$8,000/yr starting Fall 2026), and layers on residency- and income-gated full-tuition pathways (Presidential, Stay Local, GC shift_ed) for the right profiles.

More than one award path. Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 4 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

First-Time Freshman Merit Scholarships (Trustee / Dean / Founders / Achievement / Incentive)

$1,500-$8,000 · Published range

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: Based on high school GPA; tier cutoffs not published · SAT: Not published (test optional) · ACT: Not published (test optional)

Eligibility: Incoming first-time freshmen pursuing a first bachelor's degree; all accepted traditional undergraduates are automatically considered

Renewal: "These merit scholarships are renewable for up to four years as long as the student meets the yearly requirement." Per the Financial Aid Offer Terms and Conditions, all Merit scholarships have GPA requirements with one warning semester before loss; the specific GPA threshold per tier is not published on the site.

Other terms: Five named levels effective Fall 2026: Trustee $8,000, Dean $7,000, Founders $6,000, Achievement $3,500, Incentive $1,500 annually. The school publishes amounts but NOT the GPA cutoff for each level.

https://www.greensboro.edu/financial-aid/types-of-aid/

Merit-Based Transfer Scholarships

Amount not published · Published award terms

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: Based on college GPA; cutoffs not published

Eligibility: Students transferring from other universities and colleges, pursuing their first bachelor's degree; all accepted traditional undergraduates are automatically considered. Transfer students also get GC ClearPath benefits (no enrollment fees, institutional aid priority).

Renewal: "These merit scholarships are renewable for up to four years as long as the student meets the yearly requirement." Specific GPA requirement not published.

Other terms: Dollar amounts for transfer merit levels are not published anywhere on the site.

https://www.greensboro.edu/financial-aid/types-of-aid/

Presidential Scholarship

Full tuition · Published coverage or package

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: Weighted cumulative GPA of 4.0 or greater

Eligibility: Apply and be accepted to the College; apply and be accepted into the George Center for Honors Studies; potential recipients invited to Honors Day on Saturday, February 21, 2026; generally first-year students only; the scholarship has a residential component

Renewal: Renewal terms not stated on the Honors page; per the Financial Aid Offer Terms and Conditions all Merit scholarships have GPA requirements with a one-semester warning before loss (specific GPA not published).

Other terms: The college's top merit award — full TUITION only, not full cost of attendance. Only four available for fall 2026.

https://www.greensboro.edu/academics/honors-program/

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: Institutional aid is capped at the cost of attendance: if total aid exceeds the student's COA budget, aid is reduced loans-first (PLUS, private, Unsubsidized, Subsidized) before Greensboro College funds are touched. Donor-named endowed scholarships REPLACE previously offered institutional scholarships/grants dollar-for-dollar rather than stacking. The published policy does not state whether private outside scholarships reduce institutional merit before reaching the COA cap.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/greensboro-college/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.