Skip to content

Heidelberg University scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$49,280per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Heidelberg University awards automatic merit on admission. Heidelberg University does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Where does your student land?

Step 1 of comparing your list

Check the rules that could cut this.

Check Heidelberg University free in 30 seconds. Then see how it ranks against the rest of your list.

Checking merit aid at Heidelberg University

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Academic Merit Scholarships (Presidential / Dean's / Faculty / Academic Award / Prince Promise ladder)$10,000-$20,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Academic Merit Scholarships (Presidential / Dean's / Faculty / Academic Award / Prince Promise ladder)

    $10,000-$20,000 per year

    Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Based on overall admission application and seventh semester high school GPA; specific GPA cutoffs per tier are NOT published
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Academic Merit Scholarships (Presidential / Dean's / Faculty / Academic Award / Prince Promise ladder)

    Who qualifies

    Awarded following acceptance to incoming students; five published levels — Presidential $20,000, Dean's $17,500, Faculty $15,000, Academic Award $12,500, Prince Promise $10,000 (Prince Promise recipients are placed in the Student Prince Promise Program)

    How to keep it

    Renewal of all sources of financial aid is contingent upon maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP): passing at least 67% of attempted hours per academic year and a 2.0 GPA or higher by the end of the freshman year. No higher merit-specific renewal GPA is published.

    Worth knowing

    The page lists five fixed annual award levels but does NOT publish the GPA/test thresholds that map a student to each level — the catalog states 'All awards are based on overall admission application and seventh semester high school GPA,' which is a review of the application, not a pure stat-automatic grid. The $10,000-$20,000 amounts apply to terms starting August 2026 or later. The catalog (older 2024-25 snapshot) listed slightly different figures (Academic Award $10,000, Prince Promise $5,000), so use the current scholarships page figures.

  2. Austin E. Knowlton Memorial Scholarship$5,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Austin E. Knowlton Memorial Scholarship

    $5,000 per year

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Austin E. Knowlton Memorial Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    First consideration given to an Ohio student with an interest in mathematics or the natural sciences

    How to keep it

    Described as a renewable scholarship; tied to the general SAP renewal standard (67% of attempted hours; 2.0 GPA by end of freshman year).

    Worth knowing

    STEM-leaning competitive award; first consideration (not exclusive) to Ohio math/natural-science students.

  3. Choose Ohio First ScholarshipVaries (state-funded STEM award; amount not published)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Choose Ohio First Scholarship

    Varies (state-funded STEM award; amount not published)

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Choose Ohio First Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Must be from Ohio and majoring in a STEM field; applications reviewed as submitted until August 1st or until funds are depleted, whichever occurs first

    How to keep it

    Described as a four-year renewable scholarship.

    Worth knowing

    State of Ohio STEM scholarship administered through Heidelberg; the public scholarships page does not list a dollar amount. A 2025 HU news item references $500K in state STEM scholarship funding but no per-student figure is published. Apply early — funds are first-come/first-served until depleted or Aug 1.

  4. Out-of-State GrantUp to $3,000 (CA/FL/IN/MI/TX) or up to $1,500 (all other out-of-state) per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Out-of-State Grant

    Up to $3,000 (CA/FL/IN/MI/TX) or up to $1,500 (all other out-of-state) per year

    Variable or qualified amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Out-of-State Grant

    Who qualifies

    Out-of-state residency; higher tier for California, Florida, Indiana, Michigan, or Texas residents

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the grants page; general SAP standard applies to renewal of all aid sources.

    Worth knowing

    Geography-based grant that stacks on top of academic merit. Listed under Grants, but functions as an automatic residency-based award (not need-tested per the page). 'Up to' language means the figures are maximums.

  5. Campus Visit Award$500 (first year)Automatic
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Campus Visit Award

    $500 (first year)

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    Open award details for Campus Visit Award

    Who qualifies

    Visit campus, get accepted, and submit the FAFSA by March 15th

    Renewal terms

    Stated as a one-year award 'for their first year on campus.'

    Worth knowing

    Easy stackable one-time award; the March 15 FAFSA deadline is the trigger — miss it and the award is lost.

  6. Alumni Family GrantUp to $1,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Alumni Family Grant

    Up to $1,000 per year

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Alumni Family Grant

    Who qualifies

    Must have a parent, grandparent, or sibling who graduated from Heidelberg

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated.

    Worth knowing

    Legacy grant; stacks on academic merit.

  7. Multi-Family Member GrantUp to $1,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Multi-Family Member Grant

    Up to $1,000 per year

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Multi-Family Member Grant

    Who qualifies

    Must have a family member from the same household enrolled full-time at Heidelberg

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated.

    Worth knowing

    Sibling/household concurrent-enrollment grant; stacks on academic merit.

  8. UCC GrantUp to $1,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    UCC Grant

    Up to $1,000 per year

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for UCC Grant

    Who qualifies

    Member of the United Church of Christ; letter of recommendation from minister required

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated.

    Worth knowing

    Faith-affiliation grant reflecting Heidelberg's UCC heritage; stacks on academic merit.

  9. UCC Ministerial GrantUp to $2,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    UCC Ministerial Grant

    Up to $2,000 per year

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for UCC Ministerial Grant

    Who qualifies

    NEED-BASED. Children of ordained UCC ministers and full-time missionaries; based on need

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated.

    Worth knowing

    Need-based award (not pure merit) — explicitly 'Based on need.' For children of UCC clergy/missionaries.

Lights up against Heidelberg University's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

What makes Heidelberg University different

Heidelberg (Tiffin, OH; UCC heritage) awards a published, five-level academic merit ladder from $10,000 to $20,000 per year based on the admission application and seventh-semester high-school GPA, layered with renewable named grants and a tuition guarantee that locks first-year tuition for four years.

Merit tiers92 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJun 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Heidelberg University's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. Heidelberg publishes the five fixed annual amounts ($10,000-$20,000) but NOT the GPA/test cutoffs that map to each level. The catalog says awards are 'based on overall admission application and seventh semester high school GPA' — i.e., an application-review decision, not a self-service stat lookup. You cannot reliably predict your tier from a test score alone.

  2. The award requires you to visit campus, be accepted, AND submit the FAFSA by March 15th. The FAFSA date is the trigger; a late FAFSA forfeits the award.

  3. $49,280 (2026-27) covers tuition, housing & food, technology fee, and student services fee. It does NOT include books, transportation, or personal expenses, which are part of a full cost of attendance and are additional.

  4. The guarantee locks TUITION for four years, but Heidelberg explicitly says room, board, fees, and scholarships can still vary year to year — only tuition won't rise.

  5. Choose Ohio First is a state-funded, first-come award reviewed until Aug 1 or funds run out, with no per-student amount published; talent awards also have no published amount. Confirm the figure in writing before relying on it.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Students who want a transparent, GPA-and-application-based merit award at a small private UCC-affiliated university; Ohio STEM students (Choose Ohio First, Knowlton) and out-of-state students from CA/FL/IN/MI/TX get extra stackable grant dollars.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $49,280 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Heidelberg University, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Heidelberg University, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$18,217
$30,001–$48,000$15,974
$48,001–$75,000$14,556
$75,001–$110,000$21,376
$110,001+$26,286
All income levels (average)$20,556

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$33,650
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$20,556

That works out to roughly a 56% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $47,025 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
52%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
74%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$27,000 (~$286/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$48,466
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
45%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
98%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Heidelberg's published academic catalog states that OUTSIDE (third-party) scholarship funds are applied to unmet need first, and that the student's self-help (loans/work) is reduced BEFORE the University grant is reduced. This is a student-protective, self-help-first displacement order: outside awards bite into loans/work before they cut institutional grant aid. Institutional academic merit and the named grants above appear to layer/stack with each other (multiple named grants are listed without exclusivity language), though the pages do not publish an explicit 'these stack' statement.

The catalog 'Expenses and Student Aid' page states the order of treatment for outside funds. No statement was found that an outside scholarship reduces an institutional merit scholarship dollar-for-dollar; the documented order protects the University grant until self-help is exhausted. Whether two HU grants (e.g., Alumni Family + Multi-Family) can both be held was not explicitly addressed on the public pages.

Source

Other Heidelberg University scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountVaries (amount not published)EligibilityIncoming students with demonstrated talent; music scholarships typically require an audition.

Heidelberg states it 'offers both academic and talent scholarships for incoming students that renew each year,' but no specific dollar amounts for talent awards are published on official financial-aid pages. Music awards are tied to auditions (see School of Music & Theatre).

Source

AmountUp to $4,000 per year ($16,000 total undergraduate)EligibilityStudents entering high-need teaching fields who agree to a service obligation.

Federal grant (not institutional merit). Becomes a loan if the four-year Title I teaching service obligation is not met.

Source

Heidelberg University merit aid FAQ

  • What is the scholarship deadline?

    There is no single published merit deadline. The $500 Campus Visit Award requires the FAFSA by March 15th. Choose Ohio First applications are reviewed as submitted until August 1st or until funds are depleted, whichever comes first, so apply early. Academic merit awards are determined from your admission application and seventh-semester GPA at the time of review.

  • Are the academic scholarships automatic based on my GPA or test scores?

    Not in a published-grid sense. Heidelberg lists five fixed award levels ($10,000-$20,000/yr) but does not publish the GPA/test thresholds for each. The catalog says awards are based on the 'overall admission application and seventh semester high school GPA,' so the level is set during admission review. Ask admissions which level your application earned.

  • Can I combine Heidelberg scholarships and grants?

    The named grants (Out-of-State, Alumni Family, Multi-Family, UCC, Knowlton, Choose Ohio First) are listed separately and generally layer on top of an academic merit award. For OUTSIDE (third-party) scholarships, the catalog says outside funds hit unmet need first and reduce your self-help (loans/work) before reducing the University grant — a student-friendly order. Confirm specifics with the aid office.

  • Does the Tuition Guarantee mean my bill never changes?

    No. It freezes tuition for your four years, but room, board, fees, and scholarship amounts can still change year to year.

See sources and other schools

How Heidelberg University compares

  • 145 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use loan-first displacement.

    Heidelberg University is in a recognizable cluster (145 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Heidelberg University is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Heidelberg University’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

  • MVNU merit aid. Ohio private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Ohio Wesleyan merit aid. Ohio private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Dayton merit aid. Ohio private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Ursuline merit aid. Ohio private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.

Keep exploring Heidelberg University merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Heidelberg University fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook