Skip to content
← Back to Jarvis Christian's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

Jarvis Christian
Decision sheet

Texas · Research checked 2026-06-07 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

Jarvis Christian University, a Disciples of Christ-affiliated HBCU in Hawkins, Texas, awards GPA-banded Academic Excellence Scholarships from $4,000 up to a Presidential Scholar award covering tuition, fees, room and board — but every institutional scholarship is a 'last dollar' award capped at full tuition and fees, with strings attached (fall claiming, on-campus residency, 15-hour loads, and a 3.0 renewal cliff).

Selection beyond grades and scores. These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 4 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Freshman Academic Excellence Scholarships

$4,000-$8,000 · Published range

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: Academic Honors 3.00-3.19 ($4,000); Dean's Scholar 3.20-3.49 ($6,000); Distinguished Scholar 3.50-3.79 ($8,000); minimum 3.00 unweighted GPA to qualify

Eligibility: First-time freshmen (or first-time entering transfer students); an application for an academic scholarship must be on file; written essay on 'Why Attending Jarvis Is Important to Me?'; FAFSA required (Code 003637); award must be claimed during the fall semester; students must reside on campus

Renewal: The scholarships are renewable at the end of each academic year, for up to three (3) years, as long as the student maintains academic excellence. Renewal requires a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above and enrollment in a minimum of 15 hours per semester; if the GPA drops below the original scholarship level the award is reduced to the lower tier, and below 3.0 all scholarship benefits are lost.

Other terms: Awarded from a competitive pool based on the academic profile in the application; the committee also considers community service and leadership. The catalog states the same grid as '3.0 = $4000, 3.2 = $6000, 3.5 = $8000' (unweighted GPA).

https://alumni.jarvis.edu/academic-scholarships/

Presidential Scholar

Cost of tuition/fees/room/board · Published coverage or package

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: 3.80 – Rank in Top 10 of class

Eligibility: Recommendation from counselor required; catalog adds 'PRIOR APPROVAL NEEDED'; FAFSA required (Code 003637); award must be claimed in the fall semester; on-campus residency required

Renewal: Same renewal terms as other Academic Excellence awards: renewable up to three (3) years with a cumulative 3.0+ GPA and 15 hours per semester; a GPA drop moves the student to a lower-tier award amount, and below 3.0 all benefits are lost.

Other terms: Covers cost of tuition/fees/room/board — the page does not state it covers books, transportation, or personal expenses, so this is not stated as a full cost-of-attendance award.

https://alumni.jarvis.edu/academic-scholarships/

Transfer Academic Scholarship

$4,000-$8,000 · Published range

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: 3.0 = $4000; 3.2 = $6000; 3.5 = $8000 (cumulative GPA)

Eligibility: Transfer students; scholarship application on file; FAFSA required

Renewal: The alumni page states the academic scholarship 'is awarded to first-time freshmen or first-time entering transfer students' and 'The award is automatically renewed, as long as the above requirements have been met during the previous two regular semesters' (cumulative 3.0 GPA, 15 hours per semester).

Other terms: The transfer grid tops out at $8,000 — no Presidential tier is listed for transfers.

https://catalog.jarvis.edu/content.php?catoid=4&navoid=216

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: Jarvis institutional scholarships are 'last dollar' awards that cannot exceed full tuition and fees, and total institutional aid must not exceed 60% of the cost of tuition/fees and room and board. Private/funded scholarships may be added, but the total financial aid package cannot exceed the student's cost of attendance; the catalog says awards are revised when scholarship funds plus Title IV funds exceed the cost of education and/or remaining unmet need.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/jarvis-christian-university/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.