Skip to content
← Back to Limestone's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

Limestone
Decision sheet

South Carolina · Research checked 2026-06-07 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

Limestone advertises merit awards from a 2.0-GPA Founders Scholarship up to a Presidential Palmetto award covering full tuition, fees, room and board — but that top award absorbs all federal, state, and outside aid, and the university caps stacked awards at full tuition, room and board.

Selection beyond grades and scores. These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 4 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Dean's Scholarship

Up to $12,500 · Variable or qualified amount

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: 3.0+ · SAT: 1100+ · ACT: 24+

Renewal: Renewal terms not stated on the page opened.

Other terms: STALE RISK: sourced from a Limestone costs page still showing 2020-2021 figures; a search-engine description of the current site references an 'Academic Dean Scholarship' up to $13,000 with different GPA bands, which could not be verified on an opened page. Confirm current amount/criteria.

https://www.limestone.edu/day/costs

Founders Scholarship

Up to $5,500 · Variable or qualified amount

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: 2.0+

Renewal: Renewal terms not stated on the page opened.

Other terms: STALE RISK: same dated source page; confirm current amount.

https://www.limestone.edu/day/costs

Presidential Palmetto Scholarship

Full tuition, fees, room, and board (less any federal, state and outside scholarships/grants) · Published coverage or package

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: Offered to individuals who have been awarded the SC Palmetto (Fellows) Scholarship.

Renewal: Up to four years, provided satisfactory academic progress continues with the student maintaining Palmetto renewal requirements.

Other terms: Gap-fill design: the award is reduced by ALL federal, state, AND outside scholarships/grants — it tops up to full direct costs rather than stacking. STALE RISK source page; confirm terms.

https://www.limestone.edu/day/costs

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: Limestone caps combined awards: students eligible for multiple academic, divisional, athletic, and/or special scholarships may receive totals only up to full tuition, room and board — and that ceiling counts federal and state grants. The Presidential Palmetto award goes further, explicitly deducting federal, state, AND outside scholarships/grants from its full-cost coverage.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/limestone-university/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.