Limestone award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Limestone?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
4 of 4 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 4 of 4
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 4
- Renewal risk profile
- low
Renewal risk profile
Limestone's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.
- Dean's Scholarship: See notes
- Founders Scholarship: See notes
- Presidential Palmetto Scholarship: See notes
- Fine Arts Scholarships (Art, Music, Theatre): See notes
Renewal terms by tier
Dean's Scholarship
Up to $12,500Entry requirements: 3.0+ GPA · 1100+ SAT · 24+ ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the page opened.
Founders Scholarship
Up to $5,500Entry requirements: 2.0+ GPA
To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the page opened.
Presidential Palmetto Scholarship
Full tuition, fees, room, and board (less any federal, state and outside scholarships/grants)To keep it: Up to four years, provided satisfactory academic progress continues with the student maintaining Palmetto renewal requirements.
Fine Arts Scholarships (Art, Music, Theatre)
Up to $4,500To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the page opened.
How families lose this aid
- Missing the June 30 FAFSA / SC Tuition Grant deadlines.
The costs page instructs: 'Submit your FAFSA before June 30' and 'S.C. Tuition Grant application deadline is June 30th.' SC Tuition Grant also requires full-time fall enrollment — failing to enroll full-time in fall forfeits the entire award year (per the catalog).
- SC students assuming HOPE/LIFE/Palmetto Fellows combine.
Per the catalog and costs page, the three SC state awards are mutually exclusive, and LIFE has a strict four-year window from first college enrollment with 30-credit-per-year renewal.
Renewal questions families ask
- What merit scholarships does Limestone offer freshmen?
- Per the (dated) costs page: Dean's Scholarship up to $12,500 (3.0+ GPA and 1100+ SAT or 24+ ACT), Founders Scholarship up to $5,500 (2.0+ GPA), the need-based Limestone Grant, the Presidential Palmetto Scholarship (full direct costs, less other aid, for SC Palmetto designees), Fine Arts up to $4,500, and athletic awards. The current scholarships page could not be machine-read — confirm 2026-2027 amounts with the aid office at financialaid@limestone.edu.
How Limestone compares across our verified dataset
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Limestone is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Limestone’s own published materials.
- Policy pageLimestone stacking policy
- Scholarship pageSC National Guard College Assistance Program (CAP)
More on Limestone merit aid
- Limestone merit aid overviewFull tier ladder, named scholarships, departmental awards, and how families decide.
- Limestone scholarship stackingWhether outside awards land as upside or quietly displace institutional aid.
- Does Limestone displace outside scholarships?The dollar math on a $5,000 outside award, plus peer schools that handle it differently.