Skip to content

Loyola Marymount scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$94,598per year · 2025-2026 · On-campus
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Loyola Marymount may be worth checking, but its awards do not follow a simple grades-and-scores chart. Start with the published scholarships below.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jul 2026
3 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Presidential ScholarshipNot publicly disclosed by LMUNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Presidential Scholarship

    Not publicly disclosed by LMU

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Renewal: 3.0 cumulative
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Presidential Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Awarded by the admissions committee; no separate scholarship application; all applicants for first-year admission are automatically considered

    How to keep it

    Renewal is automatic up to 4 years/8 semesters with a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA

    Worth knowing

    LMU does not publish a dollar amount or stat cutoff for the Presidential Scholarship. Families should treat the award size as unknown until the financial aid offer arrives.

  2. Arrupe ScholarshipNot publicly disclosed by LMUNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Arrupe Scholarship

    Not publicly disclosed by LMU

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Renewal: 3.0 cumulative
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Arrupe Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Awarded by the admissions committee; no separate scholarship application required

    How to keep it

    Renewal is automatic up to 4 years/8 semesters with a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA

    Worth knowing

    Named after Jesuit Superior General Pedro Arrupe. LMU does not publish a dollar amount.

  3. LMU Excellence ScholarshipNot publicly disclosed by LMUNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    LMU Excellence Scholarship

    Not publicly disclosed by LMU

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Renewal: 3.0 cumulative
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for LMU Excellence Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Awarded automatically based on the admission application; no separate application required

    How to keep it

    Renewal is automatic up to 4 years/8 semesters with a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA

  4. Chancellor's Annual ScholarshipNot publicly disclosed by LMUNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Chancellor's Annual Scholarship

    Not publicly disclosed by LMU

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Renewal: 3.0 cumulative
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Chancellor's Annual Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Awarded automatically based on the admission application; no separate application required

    How to keep it

    Renewal is automatic up to 4 years/8 semesters with a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA

  5. Leavey Family Foundation ScholarshipNot publicly disclosed by LMUNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Leavey Family Foundation Scholarship

    Not publicly disclosed by LMU

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Renewal: 3.2 cumulative
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Leavey Family Foundation Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Awarded by LMU; no separate application required

    How to keep it

    Renewal requires a minimum 3.2 cumulative GPA, up to 4 years/8 semesters

    Worth knowing

    Higher renewal GPA threshold (3.2) than the other automatic awards.

  6. University Hill Foundation ScholarshipNot publicly disclosed by LMUNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    University Hill Foundation Scholarship

    Not publicly disclosed by LMU

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Renewal: 3.2 cumulative
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for University Hill Foundation Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Awarded by LMU; no separate application required

    How to keep it

    Renewal requires a minimum 3.2 cumulative GPA, up to 4 years/8 semesters

    Worth knowing

    Higher renewal GPA threshold (3.2) than most LMU automatic awards.

  7. Jesuit and Marymount High School ScholarshipNot publicly disclosed by LMUNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Jesuit and Marymount High School Scholarship

    Not publicly disclosed by LMU

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Renewal: 3.0 cumulative
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Jesuit and Marymount High School Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Graduates of a Jesuit secondary school or a Marymount/RSHM-affiliated high school. No separate scholarship application required.

    How to keep it

    Renewal is automatic up to 4 years/8 semesters with a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA

    Worth knowing

    Eligibility-restricted feeder-school award. Confirm school affiliation with LMU admissions before assuming eligibility.

  8. Loyola High School ScholarshipNot publicly disclosed by LMUNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Loyola High School Scholarship

    Not publicly disclosed by LMU

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Renewal: 3.0 cumulative
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Loyola High School Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Restricted to graduates of Loyola High School of Los Angeles. No separate application required.

    How to keep it

    Renewal is automatic up to 4 years/8 semesters with a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA

  9. Jesuit Community ScholarshipNot publicly disclosed by LMUNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Jesuit Community Scholarship

    Not publicly disclosed by LMU

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Renewal: 3.0 cumulative
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Jesuit Community Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Awarded by LMU; no separate application required

    How to keep it

    Renewal is automatic up to 4 years/8 semesters with a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA

  10. LMU Global ScholarshipNot publicly disclosed by LMUNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    LMU Global Scholarship

    Not publicly disclosed by LMU

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Renewal: 3.0 cumulative
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for LMU Global Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    International first-year applicants awarded by LMU; no separate application required

    How to keep it

    Renewal is automatic up to 4 years/8 semesters with a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Loyola Marymount award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Loyola Marymount

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

What makes Loyola Marymount different

Jesuit/Marymount Catholic university in Los Angeles that auto-considers every applicant for ten named scholarships but publishes no dollar amounts or stat cutoffs, leaving award size opaque until the offer arrives.

Merit tiers10See who qualifies
First-year students with school awards53%First-year students, CDS 2023-2024
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

Selection beyond grades and scores

Start with the selection process.

These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

  1. Read the selection rules

    Look for the school's stated criteria and whether an additional application is needed.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Loyola Marymount's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. Unlike Alabama or Ole Miss, LMU publishes no GPA/test cutoffs and no dollar amounts for any of its ten named scholarships. Award size is decided by the admissions committee and is not knowable until the offer letter arrives. Modeling an LMU net cost on a forum-sourced 'Presidential = $25k' anchor can produce a mid-five-figure miss either direction.

  2. LMU's policy is explicit: outside resources that cover tuition and fees and were not disclosed when the offer was built will cause the LMU Grant to be reduced or canceled. Families winning local or national scholarships should report them before the offer is finalized so LMU has a chance to apply them against unmet need, loans, or work-study first — though even then, grant-first displacement is the documented default for tuition-fee-level overlap.

  3. LMU's federal-aid Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) floor is a 2.0 cumulative GPA and 67% completion rate. The named merit scholarships require a 3.0 cumulative GPA (3.2 for the Leavey and University Hill awards) to renew. A student can pass SAP, keep federal aid, and still lose a five-figure LMU scholarship in the same semester.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Strong students drawn to a mid-size Catholic university in coastal LA who can accept that LMU's merit aid is real but unpredictable, and who plan to pursue outside scholarships carefully because they may displace the LMU Grant.

Cost of attendance$94,598 for 2025-2026Each bar is the full published cost for that scenario, sized against the highest figure so totals compare at a glance.
On-campus$94,598
  • Tuition & fees
  • Housing & food
  • Books
  • Personal
  • Travel
  • Loan fees

Full-time undergraduate, on-campus.

Loyola Marymount cost-of-attendance source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Loyola Marymount, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Loyola Marymount, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$32,268
$30,001–$48,000$34,535
$48,001–$75,000$34,351
$75,001–$110,000$40,557
$110,001+$58,371
All income levels (average)$48,381

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$62,357
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$48,381

That works out to roughly a 42% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $83,943 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
79%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
89%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$19,500 (~$207/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$78,349
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
13%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
33%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Outside scholarships reduce loans and/or work-study first; institutional grants are only reduced if required to prevent an over-award.

Verified policy language (2026-07-02): When adjusting a student's need-based award, an outside scholarship will first reduce or replace the self-help portion of the student's award (need-based loans or federal work awards) before reducing LMU Scholarships or grants. LMU makes every effort to avoid reducing institutional awards, but there are times when it cannot be avoided.

Source

More school data

From the Loyola Marymount Common Data Set 2023-2024:

Merit penetrationHow likely is merit aid here?From Loyola Marymount’s Common Data Set: the share of first-year students who receive institutional merit and the average dollar amount when they do.
53%of admitsget merit
Average award$10,762Covers ~11% of $94,598 cost of attendance

At Loyola Marymount, 53% of first-year admits receive institutional merit aid. The average award is $10,762 — about 11% of total cost.

As filed in Loyola Marymount's CDS Section H2A: of 1,533 first-time, full-time degree-seeking freshmen, 811 had no financial need and received institutional merit (non-need) scholarship or grant aid, averaging $10,762. Across all full-time degree-seeking undergraduates: 3,114 of 7,035, averaging $11,579. Athletic awards are excluded per the CDS definition.

Receive institutional merit53%First-year students, Common Data Set 2023-2024
Average merit award$10,762Across recipients, Common Data Set 2023-2024

Source: Common Data Set 2023-2024 (verified 2026-07-23)

Loyola Marymount merit aid FAQ

  • Why doesn't LMU publish merit scholarship amounts?

    LMU's official scholarships page lists ten named awards by name but does not publish dollar amounts or stat cutoffs. The merits are awarded by the admissions committee with no separate application. The practical implication: you cannot predict award size from stats before applying; the only reliable number is the one in your offer letter.

  • Do I need to apply separately for LMU merit scholarships?

    No. Per LMU: 'No special application is required for these scholarships. All applicants for admission are automatically considered.' Submitting the regular first-year admission application puts you in the pool for every automatic scholarship you're eligible for.

  • What happens to my LMU Grant if I win an outside scholarship?

    If the outside scholarship plus your LMU offer covers tuition and fees, and LMU didn't know about the outside award when the offer was built, the LMU Grant will be reduced or canceled. Report outside scholarships early so LMU can attempt to coordinate them against unmet need, loans, or work-study before touching grant aid.

  • What GPA do I need to keep my LMU merit scholarship?

    Most LMU merit awards require a 3.0 cumulative GPA for renewal, up to 4 years or 8 semesters. The Leavey Family Foundation Scholarship and University Hill Foundation Scholarship require a 3.2 cumulative GPA. These thresholds are stricter than the 2.0 cumulative GPA / 67% completion rule that governs federal aid Satisfactory Academic Progress.

  • When should I submit the FAFSA for LMU?

    For Fall 2026 entry, LMU's FAFSA deadlines mirror the admission plan: November 1, 2025 for Early Decision; January 10, 2026 for Early Action and Early Decision II; February 1, 2026 for Regular Decision. California residents must also submit the Cal Grant GPA Verification Form by California's March 2, 2026 deadline.

See sources and other schools

How Loyola Marymount compares

  • 145 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use loan-first displacement.

    Loyola Marymount is in a recognizable cluster (145 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Loyola Marymount is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Loyola Marymount’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Loyola Marymount merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Loyola Marymount fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook