Michigan Tech award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Michigan Tech?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
10 of 10 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 10 of 10
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 10
- Renewal risk profile
- low
Renewal risk profile
Michigan Tech's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.
- Presidential Scholars Program (Michigan residents): See notes
- National Scholars Program (non-Michigan residents): See notes
- Leading Scholar Award (competitive): See notes
- Michigan Tech Transfer Scholarship (Michigan residents): See notes
- National Transfer Scholarship (non-Michigan residents): See notes
- College Partners Pathway Award (non-resident transfers): See notes
- Alumni Legacy Award: See notes
- College of Business Dean's Award (non-resident & international): See notes
- Military Family Education Award (non-resident): See notes
- International Ambassador Scholarship (international students): See notes
Renewal terms by tier
Presidential Scholars Program (Michigan residents)
$1,000-$5,500 per yearEntry requirements: Based on cumulative GPA or a combination of cumulative GPA and SAT/ACT GPA
To keep it: Renewable for eight semesters (see Presidential Scholars renewal criteria).
Source: https://www.mtu.edu/admissions/financial/scholarships/
National Scholars Program (non-Michigan residents)
$11,000-$18,000 per yearEntry requirements: Based on cumulative GPA or a combination of cumulative GPA and SAT/ACT GPA
To keep it: Renewable for eight semesters (see National Scholars renewal criteria).
Source: https://www.mtu.edu/admissions/financial/scholarships/
Leading Scholar Award (competitive)
Michigan residents: full-time tuition + housing & food + $1,000/yr; Non-residents: full-time nonresident tuitionTo keep it: See Leading Scholar renewal criteria.
Source: https://www.mtu.edu/admissions/financial/scholarships/
Michigan Tech Transfer Scholarship (Michigan residents)
$2,000-$4,000 per yearEntry requirements: 3.50-4.00 = $4,000; 3.00-3.49 = $2,000 (cumulative transfer GPA) GPA
To keep it: See Michigan Tech Transfer Scholarship renewal criteria.
Source: https://www.mtu.edu/admissions/financial/scholarships/
National Transfer Scholarship (non-Michigan residents)
$5,000-$10,000 per yearEntry requirements: 3.50-4.00 = $10,000; 3.00-3.49 = $5,000 (cumulative transfer GPA) GPA
To keep it: See National Transfer Scholarship renewal criteria.
Source: https://www.mtu.edu/admissions/financial/scholarships/
College Partners Pathway Award (non-resident transfers)
Difference between nonresident and resident tuition (more than $24,000 per year)Entry requirements: 3.00 or higher (cumulative college) GPA
To keep it: See scholarship details and renewal criteria.
Source: https://www.mtu.edu/admissions/financial/scholarships/
Alumni Legacy Award
Michigan residents: $1,000/year (max 4 years). Non-residents/International: Michigan resident tuition rate (valued over $24,000/year)To keep it: MI resident version: max four years (eight semesters).
Source: https://www.mtu.edu/admissions/financial/scholarships/
College of Business Dean's Award (non-resident & international)
$2,000-$20,000 per yearTo keep it: Not stated on page.
Source: https://www.mtu.edu/admissions/financial/scholarships/
Military Family Education Award (non-resident)
Difference between nonresident and resident tuition (over $24,000 per year)To keep it: Not stated; under age 24 requirement.
Source: https://www.mtu.edu/admissions/financial/scholarships/
International Ambassador Scholarship (international students)
$11,000-$14,300 per yearTo keep it: Up to four years (eight semesters).
Source: https://www.mtu.edu/admissions/financial/scholarships/
Renewal questions families ask
- Is the main merit scholarship automatic?
- Yes — Presidential Scholars (MI residents, $1,000-$5,500) and National Scholars (non-residents, $11,000-$18,000) are awarded with automatic consideration based on your GPA or GPA + SAT/ACT. The International Ambassador Scholarship ($11,000-$14,300) is automatic for international students.
How Michigan Tech compares across our verified dataset
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Michigan Tech is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Michigan Tech’s own published materials.
- Policy pageMichigan Tech stacking policy
- Cost of attendanceMichigan Tech cost-of-attendance worksheet
More on Michigan Tech merit aid
- Michigan Tech merit aid overviewFull tier ladder, named scholarships, departmental awards, and how families decide.
- Michigan Tech scholarship stackingWhether outside awards land as upside or quietly displace institutional aid.
- Does Michigan Tech displace outside scholarships?The dollar math on a $5,000 outside award, plus peer schools that handle it differently.