Skip to content

Misericordia scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$65,104per year · 2025-2026 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Misericordia may be worth checking, but its awards do not follow a simple grades-and-scores chart. Start with the published scholarships below.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jul 2026
3 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

Step 1 of comparing your list

Check the rules that could cut this.

Check Misericordia free in 30 seconds. Then see how it ranks against the rest of your list.

Checking merit aid at Misericordia

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. The Sister Mary Glennon '62 Full Tuition ScholarshipFull tuitionNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    The Sister Mary Glennon '62 Full Tuition Scholarship

    Full tuition

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.7 (as calculated by the Office of Admissions), or top 5% of graduating class
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for The Sister Mary Glennon '62 Full Tuition Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Traditional first-time, full-time first-year students; admitted by mid-December; essay writing competition on campus; finalists interview with a selection committee; six scholarships awarded per year (no more than three in any one college, at least one in each of the three colleges); recipients must reside in on-campus housing for two academic years

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms are not stated on the SMG pages themselves; the university's general policy says merit scholarships are renewed annually with a 2.75 cumulative GPA and full-time enrollment. SMG recipients must also live in on-campus housing for two academic years.

    Worth knowing

    No separate application — the admission application provides consideration. All competition participants are guaranteed acceptance into the University's Honors Program if they choose to participate.

  2. Merit Scholarship (incoming freshmen)$14,000-$30,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Merit Scholarship (incoming freshmen)

    $14,000-$30,000

    Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Merit Scholarship (incoming freshmen)

    Who qualifies

    Incoming freshmen who have attained outstanding academic records; automatic consideration at time of admission; no GPA/test award grid is published

    How to keep it

    Renewable until graduation provided minimum grade point averages (2.75 at the conclusion of the spring semester), satisfactory academic progress, and full-time enrollment are maintained. The minimum averages required for retention are outlined in the scholarship notification letter.

    Worth knowing

    Published range INCLUDES the university's $3,000 Residential Grant for students living on campus, so commuter amounts run lower than the advertised top figure.

  3. Misericordia Success Grant (incoming first-year students)Up to $17,500Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Misericordia Success Grant (incoming first-year students)

    Up to $17,500

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Misericordia Success Grant (incoming first-year students)

    Who qualifies

    Incoming first-year students who show determination and have academic promise; automatic consideration at time of admission

    How to keep it

    Renewable until graduation provided satisfactory academic progress and full-time enrollment is maintained.

    Worth knowing

    Non-need-based grant; amounts include the university residential grant.

  4. Merit Scholarship (incoming transfers)$14,500-$22,500Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Merit Scholarship (incoming transfers)

    $14,500-$22,500

    Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Merit Scholarship (incoming transfers)

    Who qualifies

    Incoming transfer students who have attained outstanding academic records; automatic consideration at time of admission; no GPA award grid is published

    How to keep it

    Renewable until graduation provided minimum grade point averages, full-time enrollment, and satisfactory academic progress are maintained; minimum averages required for retention are outlined in the scholarship notification letter.

    Worth knowing

    Published range INCLUDES the university's $3,000 Residential Grant for students living on campus.

  5. Misericordia Success Grant (incoming transfer students)$5,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Misericordia Success Grant (incoming transfer students)

    $5,000

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Misericordia Success Grant (incoming transfer students)

    Who qualifies

    Incoming transfer students who show determination and have academic promise; automatic consideration at time of admission

    How to keep it

    Renewable until graduation provided satisfactory academic progress and full-time enrollment is maintained.

    Worth knowing

    Non-need-based grant for transfers; flat $5,000 (unlike the first-year version, which runs up to $17,500).

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Renewal ruleThe Sister Mary Glennon '62 Full Tuition Scholarship: renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

Renewal terms are not stated on the SMG pages themselves; the university's general policy says merit scholarships are renewed annually with a 2.75 cumulative GPA and full-time enrollment. SMG recipients must also live in on-campus housing for two academic years. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

Aid capHard $65,104 cost-of-attendance ceiling

Institutional aid at Misericordia cannot push the package past $65,104. Big outside wins can mathematically reduce institutional grant once the ceiling is reached.

What makes Misericordia different

Misericordia awards every admitted freshman automatic consideration for a Merit Scholarship of $14,000-$30,000 (Residential Grant included) and runs a six-winner full-tuition Sister Mary Glennon '62 competition, but caps all combined institutional scholarships and grants at the price of tuition.

Merit tiers5See who qualifies
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

Selection beyond grades and scores

Start with the selection process.

These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

  1. Read the selection rules

    Look for the school's stated criteria and whether an additional application is needed.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Misericordia's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. Misericordia caps the combination of all institutional scholarships and grants at the annual full-time undergraduate TUITION price, and gift aid cannot be applied toward fees — so institutional aid will never cover the general fee, housing, or food, even for the strongest stackers.

  2. The published Merit Scholarship range ($14,000-$30,000 for freshmen; $14,500-$22,500 for transfers) and the Success Grant cap ($17,500) explicitly INCLUDE the $3,000 Residential Grant for students living on campus. Commuters do not receive the Residential Grant portion.

  3. Merit scholarships are renewed only if the student maintains a minimum 2.75 cumulative GPA (measured at the conclusion of the spring semester) and full-time undergraduate enrollment (12 credits or more). The exact retention averages are spelled out in the scholarship notification letter.

  4. Students receiving a Resident Grant, Non-PA Resident Grant, or Housing Stipend must remain in on-campus housing to renew the award — moving off campus forfeits that money (and the merit ranges quoted at admission include the $3,000 residential portion).

  5. Per the university's 2026-2027 announcement, applications for admission must be completed by mid-December each year to be considered, and eligibility requires a 3.7 GPA (Office of Admissions calculation) or top-5% class rank. Only six scholarships are awarded annually.

  6. SMG scholarship recipients are required to reside in on-campus housing for two academic years — the full-tuition award does not pay for that housing, since institutional gift aid is capped at tuition.

  7. The Non Pennsylvania Resident Grant is need-based and requires students to file the FAFSA each year and live on campus; need-based aid generally is re-evaluated annually via the FAFSA (PA residents face a May 1 PA State Grant deadline).

  8. Misericordia instructs students to notify Student Financial Services of any outside scholarships with documentation; checks are divided equally toward tuition between fall and spring unless the donor directs otherwise. The pages do not state whether outside money reduces institutional aid — ask the aid office directly.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Strong students who apply early do best here: a 3.7 GPA (or top-5% rank) student admitted by mid-December gets invited to compete for one of six full-tuition Glennon Scholarships, and every admitted freshman is automatically considered for $14,000-$30,000 in renewable merit aid. Residents get more than commuters because the published ranges include a $3,000 Residential Grant.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $65,104 for 2025-2026. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Misericordia, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Misericordia, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$36,759
$30,001–$48,000$37,554
$48,001–$75,000$36,848
$75,001–$110,000$37,879
$110,001+$37,665
All income levels (average)$37,485

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$40,370
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$37,485

That works out to roughly a 30% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $53,648 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
72%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
78%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$26,973 (~$286/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$64,313
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
34%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
82%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Institutional scholarships and grants can stack with each other, but the combined total of all institutional scholarships and grants is capped at the annual full-time undergraduate tuition price — institutional gift aid will not cover fees, housing, or food. The pages do not state how OUTSIDE scholarships interact with institutional aid; outside checks are simply split between fall and spring semesters and must be reported to Student Financial Services.

For 2026-2027: 'The maximum award for any combination of scholarships and grants is the annual full-time undergraduate tuition.' The part-time aid section adds that gift aid cannot be applied towards fees. Note this is a TUITION cap, which is stricter than a full cost-of-attendance cap. No published policy describes reducing institutional aid when a student brings outside scholarships.

Source

Other Misericordia scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

Amount$3,000EligibilityStudents residing in on-campus housing; must maintain satisfactory academic progress, full-time enrollment, and on-campus residency

Non-need-based. This grant is already counted inside the published Merit Scholarship and Success Grant ranges.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityNeed-based; students who reside outside of Pennsylvania and live on campus; must maintain SAP, on-campus residency, and file the FAFSA each year

Renewable provided on-campus residency.

Source

Amount$1,000/yearEligibilityIncoming full-time students who are children or grandchildren of Misericordia University alumni

Available to both freshmen and transfers.

Source

Amount$500/yearEligibilityIncoming students who indicated (by name) on their admission application that a Misericordia alumnus encouraged them to apply

Listed under traditional (freshman) institutional scholarships.

Source

Amount$1,000/yearEligibilityTwo or more eligible siblings concurrently enrolled full time (charged flat-rate tuition); scholarship is given to the eldest sibling

Non-need-based. If more than two siblings are enrolled, the eldest sibling(s) receive the Sibling Grant.

Source

Amount$1,000/year (Lackawanna College or Keystone College associate's) or $4,000/year (Luzerne County Community College associate's)EligibilityTransfer students who earned an Associate's Degree from Lackawanna College, Keystone College, or Luzerne County Community College

Partner-college award; LCCC grads get 4x the amount of the other two partners.

Source

Amount$1,000/yearEligibilityTransfer students who provide proof of membership in Phi Theta Kappa

Annual grant.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityAny student age 25 or older; minimum 2.5 GPA; demonstrated financial need; enrolled full or part time in a traditional or accelerated undergraduate program; completed at least half the credits toward the degree

Adult-student award listed on the financial aid page.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityQualified students; sponsored by individuals and businesses close to the university

A complete listing of endowed scholarships is available in the University Catalog.

Source

Misericordia merit aid FAQ

  • What is the deadline for the full-tuition Sister Mary Glennon '62 Scholarship?

    Per the university's announcement of the 2026-2027 recipients, applications for admission to Misericordia must be completed by mid-December each year to be considered. The scholarship page (which still shows the prior cycle) listed a December 15 admission cutoff, with essay competitions running from early November through mid-February and finalist interviews in late February. Confirm the exact date for your entry year with Admissions.

  • Do I need a separate application for merit scholarships?

    No. Students are automatically given consideration for the Merit Scholarship and the Misericordia Success Grant at time of admission, and the admission application also provides consideration for the Sister Mary Glennon '62 full-tuition competition (for students with a 3.7 GPA or top-5% rank).

  • What GPA do I need to keep my merit scholarship?

    A minimum cumulative GPA of 2.75 (checked at the conclusion of the spring semester) plus full-time undergraduate enrollment of 12 credits or more. Other institutional scholarships renew with Satisfactory Academic Progress and full-time enrollment unless otherwise noted in the award letter.

  • Can my scholarships cover room and board?

    No. The maximum award for any combination of institutional scholarships and grants is the annual full-time undergraduate tuition, and gift aid cannot be applied toward fees — so institutional aid does not cover the $2,000 general fee, housing, or meal plans.

  • How much does Misericordia cost?

    The most recent published estimated cost of attendance (2025-2026) is $65,104 living on campus ($41,000 tuition, $2,000 general fee, $17,040 housing and food, plus indirect costs). The university notes costs have risen about 4% per year and estimates 2026-2027 tuition plus general fee at $44,720; the 2026-2027 tuition page would not load when checked.

  • Is there a FAFSA deadline?

    Pennsylvania residents must file the 2026-2027 FAFSA by May 1, 2026 for PA State Grant eligibility. Need-based federal, state, and institutional aid is re-evaluated each year via the FAFSA, and the Non-PA Resident Grant requires a FAFSA each year.

See sources and other schools

How Misericordia compares

  • 235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.

    Misericordia is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Misericordia is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Misericordia’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

  • Rosemont merit aid. Pennsylvania private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Scranton merit aid. Pennsylvania private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Saint Joseph's merit aid. Pennsylvania private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Grove City merit aid. Pennsylvania private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.

Keep exploring Misericordia merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Misericordia fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook