Skip to content
← Back to Mount Holyoke's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

Mount Holyoke
Decision sheet

Massachusetts · Research checked 2026-07-02 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

Historic women's LAC in western Massachusetts with named non-need-based scholarships (21st Century Scholars, Chin, Posse) layered on top of need-based aid plus 'The Mount Holyoke Commitment' — families earning up to $150,000 pay no tuition.

Selection beyond grades and scores. These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 5 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Mount Holyoke 21st Century Scholars

Amount not publicly published · Published award terms

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: Approximately 25 awards per year. Eligibility: 'outstanding record of scholarship, cocurricular achievement and considerable leadership potential.' Competitive selection through admission review.

Renewal: Renewal terms not publicly disclosed.

Other terms: Mount Holyoke's flagship competitive merit award by volume. Dollar amount not disclosed on the public page.

https://www.mtholyoke.edu/admission/apply-undergraduate-first-year/affording-mount-holyoke/financial-aid/types-financial-aid/non-need-based-scholarships-and-awards

Mount Holyoke Chin Scholars

Full tuition · Published coverage or package

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: Two awards per year. Eligibility: 'academic excellence with an impressive record of community service and engagement.'

Renewal: Renewal terms not publicly disclosed.

Other terms: One of the largest individual merit awards at Mount Holyoke. Two recipients per year, full tuition covered.

https://www.mtholyoke.edu/admission/apply-undergraduate-first-year/affording-mount-holyoke/financial-aid/types-financial-aid/non-need-based-scholarships-and-awards

Posse Scholarship

Full tuition (tuition-free) · Published coverage or package

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: Approximately 10 Mount Holyoke students per Posse cohort. Eligibility: 'exceptional leadership potential' from 10 designated cities. Requires Posse Foundation nomination.

Renewal: Four-year award per Posse Foundation terms.

Other terms: Standard Posse partnership terms; nomination must originate with the Posse Foundation, not Mount Holyoke directly.

https://www.mtholyoke.edu/admission/apply-undergraduate-first-year/affording-mount-holyoke/financial-aid/types-financial-aid/non-need-based-scholarships-and-awards

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/mount-holyoke/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.