Skip to content
← Back to NCCU's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

NCCU
Decision sheet

North Carolina · Research checked 2026-06-03 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

An HBCU whose flagship Cheatham-White Scholarship is a fully funded, four-year, full-cost-of-attendance award (open to non-residents), backed by fixed-amount Chancellor's Cycle of Success scholarships awarded on GPA with no test scores required. DRAFT.

Selection beyond grades and scores. These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 4 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Cheatham-White Scholarship

Full ride (full cost of attendance: full tuition and fees, housing, meals, textbooks, a laptop, travel, and personal expenses) plus four funded summers · Published coverage or package

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: Minimum weighted or unweighted cumulative GPA of 4.0 or higher · SAT: Optional: minimum SAT 1280 (test scores OPTIONAL for 2026-2027; superscores accepted) · ACT: Optional: minimum ACT 28 (test scores OPTIONAL for the Cheatham-White for 2026-2027; superscores accepted)

Eligibility: Admitted as a freshman in the fall into a baccalaureate program; U.S. citizen or permanent resident; on course to graduate HS the spring prior; exceptional character/leadership; significant extracurricular involvement; strong commitment to service. Requires nomination (by a HS administrator or self-nomination) then an application. Applicants do NOT have to be NC residents.

Renewal: Renewed annually contingent on: minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 annually; enroll full time each semester and earn a minimum of 30 credit hours each academic year; maintain membership and active participation in the University Honors Program.

Other terms: Fully funded four-year award covering full cost of attendance (not merely full tuition). Scholar performance averages cited on the program page (4.42 GPA, 28.8 ACT, 1322 SAT) are AVERAGES of selected scholars, not minimum cutoffs.

https://www.nccu.edu/usp/cheatham-white-scholarship-program

Chancellor's Cycle of Success Scholarship — Soaring Eagle

$7,500 · Published amount

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: Awarded based on entering students' cumulative GPA (specific GPA band for each level not published) · SAT: Test scores are not required · ACT: Test scores are not required

Eligibility: New first-time entering undergraduate students who have exemplified academic excellence.

Renewal: Renewal terms not stated on the award-levels page.

Other terms: Highest of three GPA-based levels. The page states awards are based on cumulative GPA with test scores not required; whether placement is fully automatic or requires a separate application is not fully clear from the pages opened (a 'how to apply / selection guidelines' page was not opened).

https://www.nccu.edu/chancellors-cycle-success-scholarship

Chancellor's Cycle of Success Scholarship — Rising Eagle

$3,500 · Published amount

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: Awarded based on entering students' cumulative GPA · SAT: Test scores are not required · ACT: Test scores are not required

Eligibility: New first-time entering undergraduate students.

Renewal: Renewal terms not stated on the award-levels page.

Other terms: Middle of three GPA-based levels.

https://www.nccu.edu/chancellors-cycle-success-scholarship

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: Cost of attendance reflects the maximum total of grants, scholarships, work assistance, and loans a student may receive for the enrollment period; need is COA − SAI − Other Financial Assistance.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/north-carolina-central-university/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.