Skip to content

NCCU award rules

Will the scholarship last four years at NCCU?

We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.

Verified Jun 20263 months ago

The short answer

4 of 4 published awards are listed as renewable.

The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.

What to do

Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.

See every award rule, common mistake, and source

At a glance

Renewable tiers
4 of 4
One-time tiers
0
Tiers with published renewal terms
4
Renewal risk profile
moderate

Renewal risk profile

NCCU's renewal bar is achievable for steady students but isn't generous. Most awards require a cumulative GPA in the 3.0–3.4 band plus full-time enrollment. Audit the strictest tier on this school's list before assuming the four-year value is locked in.

  • Cheatham-White Scholarship: Full-time enrollment
  • Chancellor's Cycle of Success Scholarship — Soaring Eagle: See notes
  • Chancellor's Cycle of Success Scholarship — Rising Eagle: See notes
  • Chancellor's Cycle of Success Scholarship — Eagle-In-Flight: See notes

Renewal terms by tier

  • Cheatham-White Scholarship

    Full ride (full cost of attendance: full tuition and fees, housing, meals, textbooks, a laptop, travel, and personal expenses) plus four funded summers

    Entry requirements: Minimum weighted or unweighted cumulative GPA of 4.0 or higher GPA · Optional: minimum SAT 1280 (test scores OPTIONAL for 2026-2027; superscores accepted) SAT · Optional: minimum ACT 28 (test scores OPTIONAL for the Cheatham-White for 2026-2027; superscores accepted) ACT

    To keep it: Renewed annually contingent on: minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 annually; enroll full time each semester and earn a minimum of 30 credit hours each academic year; maintain membership and active participation in the University Honors Program.

    Source: https://www.nccu.edu/usp/cheatham-white-scholarship-program

  • Chancellor's Cycle of Success Scholarship — Soaring Eagle

    $7,500

    Entry requirements: Awarded based on entering students' cumulative GPA (specific GPA band for each level not published) GPA · Test scores are not required SAT · Test scores are not required ACT

    To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the award-levels page.

    Source: https://www.nccu.edu/chancellors-cycle-success-scholarship

  • Chancellor's Cycle of Success Scholarship — Rising Eagle

    $3,500

    Entry requirements: Awarded based on entering students' cumulative GPA GPA · Test scores are not required SAT · Test scores are not required ACT

    To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the award-levels page.

    Source: https://www.nccu.edu/chancellors-cycle-success-scholarship

  • Chancellor's Cycle of Success Scholarship — Eagle-In-Flight

    $2,500

    Entry requirements: Awarded based on entering students' cumulative GPA GPA · Test scores are not required SAT · Test scores are not required ACT

    To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the award-levels page.

    Source: https://www.nccu.edu/chancellors-cycle-success-scholarship

How families lose this aid

  • Mistaking the scholar averages for entry cutoffs.

    The Cheatham-White minimum is a 4.0 weighted or unweighted GPA (test scores optional for 2026-2027, min SAT 1280/ACT 28 if submitted). The published 4.42 GPA / 28.8 ACT / 1322 SAT are averages of selected scholars, not requirements.

  • Letting Cheatham-White renewal conditions slip.

    It renews only if you keep a 3.5 cumulative GPA, earn at least 30 credit hours each year (full-time each semester), AND maintain active membership in the University Honors Program — failing any one ends the scholarship.

Renewal questions families ask

Are test scores required?
For the Cheatham-White, test scores are optional for 2026-2027 (min SAT 1280/ACT 28 if submitted; superscores accepted) with a 4.0 GPA minimum. The Chancellor's Cycle of Success scholarships are awarded on cumulative GPA with test scores not required.

Rules that bite at NCCU

The renewal trip wires we'd flag in a custom playbook, derived from NCCU's own tier rules and not generic advice.

  • Renewal ruleCheatham-White Scholarship: renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

    Renewed annually contingent on: minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 annually; enroll full time each semester and earn a minimum of 30 credit hours each academic year; maintain membership and active participation in the University Honors Program. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

How NCCU compares across our verified dataset

  • 69 of 749 verified schools publish a top renewal tier requiring 3.5+ GPA or major-GPA gating.

    NCCU is one of them. Calibrate year-one academic load against the renewal floor, not just freshman survival.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    NCCU is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every renewal claim is checked against NCCU’s own published materials.

More on NCCU merit aid