Northeastern State award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Northeastern State?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
7 of 7 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 7 of 7
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 7
- Renewal risk profile
- low
Renewal risk profile
Northeastern State's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.
- Automatic Tuition Waiver Scholarships (Collegiate Scholars / Valedictorian Scholars / Green & White Scholars): See notes
- Honors Scholarships (Baccalaureate Scholars / Oklahoma Rising Scholars / Northeastern Honors Scholars): See notes
- President's Leadership Class: See notes
- Breakthrough Scholars: See notes
- Quad-State Scholarships (Out-of-State): See notes
- Tribal Heritage Scholarship (Out-of-State): See notes
- Non-Resident Scholarships (Out-of-State): See notes
Renewal terms by tier
Automatic Tuition Waiver Scholarships (Collegiate Scholars / Valedictorian Scholars / Green & White Scholars)
$1,400-$2,200 per yearEntry requirements: 3.25 (Collegiate, Green & White); 4.0 + class rank 1 (Valedictorian) GPA · 1230-1250 (Collegiate); 1030-1220 (Green & White) SAT · 26 (Collegiate); 20-25 (Green & White) ACT
To keep it: Stated duration is 4 years; specific renewal GPA/credit conditions are not published on the page.
Source: https://scholarships.nsuok.edu/Freshmen/default.aspx
Honors Scholarships (Baccalaureate Scholars / Oklahoma Rising Scholars / Northeastern Honors Scholars)
$12,469-$14,969 per yearEntry requirements: 3.8 (Oklahoma Rising Scholars 28-ACT path) GPA · 1360-1380 (Baccalaureate, Oklahoma Rising alternate); 1300-1320 (Oklahoma Rising primary, Northeastern Honors) SAT · 30 (Baccalaureate); 28 with 3.8 GPA or 30 (Oklahoma Rising); 28 (Northeastern Honors) ACT
To keep it: Stated duration is 4 years; specific renewal conditions are not published on the page.
Source: https://scholarships.nsuok.edu/Freshmen/default.aspx
President's Leadership Class
$12,569 per yearEntry requirements: 3.5 GPA · 1100-1120 SAT · 22 ACT
To keep it: Stated duration is 4 years; specific renewal conditions are not published on the page.
Source: https://scholarships.nsuok.edu/Freshmen/default.aspx
Breakthrough Scholars
Up to $6,000 per yearEntry requirements: 3.0 cumulative GPA
To keep it: Annual amounts up to $3,000 per fall and spring semester; ongoing conditions beyond the listed criteria are not published on the page.
Source: https://scholarships.nsuok.edu/Freshmen/default.aspx
Quad-State Scholarships (Out-of-State)
100% of the non-resident portion of tuitionTo keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the overview page opened.
Source: https://scholarships.nsuok.edu/OutofState/default.aspx
Tribal Heritage Scholarship (Out-of-State)
100% of the non-resident portion of tuitionTo keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the overview page opened.
Source: https://scholarships.nsuok.edu/OutofState/default.aspx
Non-Resident Scholarships (Out-of-State)
50% of the non-resident portion of tuitionTo keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the overview page opened.
Source: https://scholarships.nsuok.edu/OutofState/default.aspx
How families lose this aid
- Waiting until senior-year spring to look at Honors or PLC
Both applications for 2026-2027 are already closed (deadline was February 1) and open the previous September — a family browsing in late spring has missed the on-time cycle; late Honors applicants are considered only after everyone else and may not hear back until June or July.
- Banking the Honors/PLC housing waiver while living off campus
The $1,500 (Honors) and $1,200 (PLC) per-semester housing waivers are 'for on-campus housing only,' and PLC recipients 'must live on campus for their first two years.'
Renewal questions families ask
- What is the Honors and President's Leadership Class deadline?
- February 1, and the student must be admitted by that deadline. Both 2026-2027 applications are now closed; the Fall 2027 applications open in September 2026.
- Do I need a separate application for the automatic waivers?
- No — qualified in-state students admitted by February 1, 2026 'will automatically be awarded one of our four-year academic waivers.' Honors, PLC, Breakthrough, foundation, and out-of-state awards each require an application.
How Northeastern State compares across our verified dataset
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Northeastern State is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Northeastern State’s own published materials.
More on Northeastern State merit aid
- Northeastern State merit aid overviewFull tier ladder, named scholarships, departmental awards, and how families decide.
- Northeastern State scholarship stackingWhether outside awards land as upside or quietly displace institutional aid.
- Does Northeastern State displace outside scholarships?The dollar math on a $5,000 outside award, plus peer schools that handle it differently.