Skip to content

Northwest Nazarene scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$58,092per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Northwest Nazarene is worth checking if your student has strong grades or scores. We found 6 published awards, and 3 are based on those numbers.

Where does your student land?

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. NNU Merit Scholarship (Fall 2026 automatic grid)$14,000-$22,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    NNU Merit Scholarship (Fall 2026 automatic grid)

    $14,000-$22,000 per year

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.0-4.0+ high-school GPA bands (see excerpt); students admitted below 3.0 still qualify — see counselor
    SAT
    1100 SAT needed only for the top $22,000 tier
    ACT
    22 ACT needed only for the top $22,000 tier
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for NNU Merit Scholarship (Fall 2026 automatic grid)

    Who qualifies

    NNU is test-optional; only the top 4.0+ tier names a test score. Automatic on completing the NNU Application for Admission and Financial Aid; must be applied to tuition costs

    How to keep it

    Merit Scholarships are renewable as long as the student is academically eligible; the financial-aid page states renewal is based on maintaining an NNU cumulative GPA of at least 2.5.

    Worth knowing

    Award is set by high-school GPA. Test scores are NOT required for the $14,000-$20,000 tiers; only the top $22,000 tier lists '4.0+ and 1100 SAT or 22 ACT'. Bands: 4.0+ and 1100 SAT or 22 ACT = $22,000; 3.8+ = $20,000; 3.7-3.79 = $18,000; 3.5-3.69 = $17,000; 3.3-3.49 = $15,000; 3.0-3.29 = $14,000. Students below 3.0 still qualify for a merit scholarship per the page note.

  2. Aldersgate Honors College Scholarship$22,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Aldersgate Honors College Scholarship

    $22,000 per year

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.5 GPA
    SAT
    1100 SAT
    ACT
    22 ACT
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Aldersgate Honors College Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Must apply for and be accepted to NNU's Aldersgate Honors College

    How to keep it

    Tied to the merit scholarship structure; specific Honors renewal terms not stated on the page (general merit renewal is an NNU cumulative GPA of at least 2.5).

    Worth knowing

    Set at the top $22,000 merit level for Honors-admitted students; requires a separate application and acceptance to the Aldersgate Honors College in addition to admission to NNU.

  3. Christian Education Partner Scholarship$4,000 per year (on campus) / $2,000 per year (off campus)AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Christian Education Partner Scholarship

    $4,000 per year (on campus) / $2,000 per year (off campus)

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Christian Education Partner Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Must have attended a mission partner Christian high school

    How to keep it

    On-campus award is described as $4,000 'for up to four years.'

    Worth knowing

    Awarded automatically to eligible students from a mission partner Christian high school. The amount depends on housing: $4,000/year living on campus, $2,000/year living off campus.

  4. Ministerial Scholarship (first-year)$2,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Ministerial Scholarship (first-year)

    $2,000 per year

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Ministerial Scholarship (first-year)

    Who qualifies

    First-year students who are Nazarene and majoring in ministry / theology

    How to keep it

    Subsequent renewal requires continued enrollment as a ministry major and is determined by the faculty of the College of Theology and Christian Ministries.

    Worth knowing

    First-year ministerial scholarship is $2,000. Renewal is contingent on remaining a ministry major and on faculty determination, not on stats.

  5. Church Matching (Trustees Matching) ScholarshipMatch on up to $850 of church gift per year (up to 7:1 Nazarene / up to 4:1 other)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Church Matching (Trustees Matching) Scholarship

    Match on up to $850 of church gift per year (up to 7:1 Nazarene / up to 4:1 other)

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Church Matching (Trustees Matching) Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Full-time, degree-seeking; sponsoring church must send a gift; match ratio depends on church type and (for Nazarene churches on the NNU field) education-budget status

    How to keep it

    Awarded fall and spring each year until the first bachelor's degree is completed for a traditional full-time undergraduate; renewal of full eligibility depends on satisfactory academic progress (per the Trustees Matching covenant).

    Worth knowing

    NNU matches a church's gift, with the match based on the first $850 received from the church per student per year. Nazarene churches on the NNU field that paid their education budget in full earn a 7:1 match; other eligible churches up to 4:1. Total dollar value depends on the church gift and ratio; the current live page does not state a fixed total cap.

  6. Transfer Merit Scholarship$9,000-$18,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Transfer Merit Scholarship

    $9,000-$18,000 per year

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.5+ = $18,000; 2.5-3.49 = $16,000; 2.49 and below = $9,000 (cumulative GPA from all colleges attended)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Transfer Merit Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Full-time transfer students; must be applied to tuition costs

    How to keep it

    Renewable as long as the student is academically eligible (general NNU merit renewal: maintain an NNU cumulative GPA of at least 2.5).

    Worth knowing

    For transfer (not first-year) students; based on cumulative college GPA. Included as a merit tier for completeness; bands are $9,000-$18,000.

Lights up against Northwest Nazarene's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Northwest Nazarene award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Northwest Nazarene

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Renewal ruleChurch Matching (Trustees Matching) Scholarship: renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

Awarded fall and spring each year until the first bachelor's degree is completed for a traditional full-time undergraduate; renewal of full eligibility depends on satisfactory academic progress (per the Trustees Matching covenant). A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

Outside awardsNo published displacement order

Northwest Nazarene's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.

What makes Northwest Nazarene different

NNU posts a published Fall-2026 automatic Merit Scholarship grid worth $14,000-$22,000/year off a single high-school GPA (test scores are optional and only break the top $22,000 tier), and the award renews on a low NNU cumulative GPA of just 2.5.

Merit tiers63 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Northwest Nazarene's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. NNU is test-optional and the published Fall-2026 grid sets $14,000-$20,000 awards on high-school GPA alone. Only the top $22,000 tier lists '4.0+ and 1100 SAT or 22 ACT' — for everyone else, a test score is not required to earn the merit award.

  2. The financial-aid page explicitly notes that 'Students admitted with a GPA below 3.0 still qualify for a merit scholarship' — you just have to consult your Admissions Counselor for the amount, which isn't on the published grid.

  3. Tuition is $42,430/year, but NNU's published 2026-27 total Cost of Attendance is $58,092 once fees, housing, the meal plan, books, transportation and personal expenses are added. Merit awards 'must be applied to tuition costs,' so they reduce tuition, not the housing/food bill.

  4. It's $4,000/year only if you live on campus; off-campus students get $2,000/year. Where you live changes the award.

  5. NNU does not publish how outside scholarships affect institutional merit or need-based aid. You must report each outside award, and it is 'included as part of the student's overall financial aid offer' — ask the aid office whether it reduces your NNU award before assuming it's all extra.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Faith-oriented students (NNU is a Church of the Nazarene university in Nampa, Idaho) who want a large, predictable, GPA-only automatic merit award at a small Christian college; students from Nazarene/partner churches and pastors' families gain extra stackable awards.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $58,092 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Northwest Nazarene, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Northwest Nazarene, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$28,732
$30,001–$48,000$30,626
$48,001–$75,000$35,166
$75,001–$110,000$33,413
$110,001+$34,800
All income levels (average)$29,580

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$40,794
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$29,580

That works out to roughly a 46% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $55,163 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
71%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
77%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$23,750 (~$252/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$51,719
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
29%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
65%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

NNU does not publish an outside-scholarship displacement policy on its financial-aid pages. The NNU Matching Scholarships page directs students to present a copy of each outside award so it 'can be included as part of the student's overall financial aid offer,' and NNU itself matches church gifts — implying outside church awards add value rather than reduce institutional aid. Whether a private/outside scholarship reduces NNU institutional merit or only need-based/self-help aid is NOT stated, so displacement is unclear.

Several institutional awards (Merit, Christian Education Partner, Ministerial, Church Matching) are described as separate awards and the church match is explicitly additive, but no page states a rule for how third-party OUTSIDE scholarships interact with NNU merit aid or whether total institutional aid is capped at tuition (the Merit Scholarship 'must be applied to tuition costs,' which is a use restriction, not a stated displacement rule).

Source

Other Northwest Nazarene scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountTuition reduction (amount not published)EligibilityFull-time, unmarried, traditional dependent undergrads whose parent/guardian is an ordained Nazarene or non-Nazarene missionary, senior pastor, chaplain, pastoral staff, District Superintendent or Assistant District Superintendent receiving primary income from that role; also MAF missionary/staff dependents.

Tuition-only reduction for ministerial dependents; specific dollar amount not stated on the catalog page.

Source

AmountUp to 90% tuition allowanceEligibilityDependents of full-time faculty/first-line administrators at U.S./Canadian Nazarene colleges or NTS, or CCCU schools.

Up to 90% tuition allowance; number of allowances is limited. Requires a signed Tuition Remission Recommendation Form.

Source

AmountPays tuition, fees, and room charges (meal plan not included)EligibilityNNU students awarded a 2-, 3-, or 4-year Army ROTC scholarship.

Pays tuition, fees, and room for each year received; a room stipend is available for approved ROTC participants living on campus who don't receive the scholarship.

Source

AmountVariesEligibilityAwarded based on student achievement in athletics, music, and forensics.

Talent-based; amounts not published on the catalog page.

Source

Amount50% per-credit tuition reductionEligibilityStudents taking traditional undergraduate courses who already completed a baccalaureate degree at NNU.

50% reduction in per-credit tuition cost.

Source

Northwest Nazarene merit aid FAQ

  • Is the NNU merit scholarship automatic?

    Yes for first-time traditional freshmen — 'All first-time traditional freshmen at NNU are automatically considered for all scholarships that they may be eligible to receive' by completing the NNU Application for Admission and Financial Aid and submitting transcripts. The merit award is set by your high-school GPA per the Fall-2026 grid ($14,000-$22,000).

  • Do I need to submit ACT or SAT scores?

    No. NNU is test-optional, and the merit grid awards $14,000-$20,000 on GPA alone. A test score (1100 SAT / 22 ACT) is listed only on the top $22,000 tier; entering test scores 'may/may not enhance your scholarship offerings.'

  • How do I keep my merit scholarship each year?

    Merit Scholarships are 'renewable as long as the student is academically eligible,' and NNU's financial-aid page states renewal is based on maintaining an NNU cumulative GPA of at least 2.5.

  • Can NNU merit aid stack with church or other awards?

    NNU separately offers a church-matching scholarship (matching up to $850 of a church gift per year, up to 7:1 for qualifying Nazarene churches) and additional ministry, honors, and partner-school awards, suggesting awards add together. However, NNU does not publish how third-party OUTSIDE scholarships affect institutional aid — confirm with the aid office (208.467.8638).

See sources and other schools

How Northwest Nazarene compares

  • 133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.

    Northwest Nazarene is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.

    Northwest Nazarene is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Northwest Nazarene is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Northwest Nazarene’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Northwest Nazarene merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Northwest Nazarene fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook