Oklahoma Baptist award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Oklahoma Baptist?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
11 of 11 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 11 of 11
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 11
- Renewal risk profile
- low
Renewal risk profile
Oklahoma Baptist's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.
- Academic Grant: See notes
- President's Academic: See notes
- Trustee's Academic: See notes
- Founder's Academic: See notes
- University Scholar (Full-Tuition): See notes
- Allen Academic Scholar (Full-Tuition, Western Oklahoma): See notes
- Martin Academic Scholar (Full-Tuition, Choctaw Nation): See notes
- Fine Arts Scholarships (Talent: voice, keyboard, instrument, music composition, art, theatre): See notes
- Band Award (non-music majors): See notes
- OBU Engineering Scholarship: See notes
- Oklahoma Regents Rising Scholars Program (Academic Scholars): See notes
Renewal terms by tier
Academic Grant
$15,000 per year ($60,000 over four years)Entry requirements: 3.24 or below GPA · 999 or below SAT · 18 or below ACT
To keep it: Renewable provided the student maintains a 2.0 College GPA.
Source: https://www.okbu.edu/financial-aid/freshmen-scholarships
President's Academic
$16,000 per year ($64,000 over four years)Entry requirements: 3.25-3.49 GPA · 1000-1099 SAT · 19-21 ACT
To keep it: Renewable provided the student maintains a 2.0 College GPA.
Source: https://www.okbu.edu/financial-aid/freshmen-scholarships
Trustee's Academic
$17,000 per year ($68,000 over four years)Entry requirements: 3.5-3.74 GPA · 1100-1199 SAT · 22-24 ACT
To keep it: Renewable provided the student maintains a 2.0 College GPA.
Source: https://www.okbu.edu/financial-aid/freshmen-scholarships
Founder's Academic
$20,000 per year ($80,000 over four years)Entry requirements: 3.75-4.0 GPA · 1200+ SAT · 25+ ACT
To keep it: Renewable provided the student maintains a 2.0 College GPA.
Source: https://www.okbu.edu/financial-aid/freshmen-scholarships
University Scholar (Full-Tuition)
Full tuitionEntry requirements: High school GPA of at least 3.5 GPA · At least 1330 SAT · At least 29 ACT
To keep it: Applies to up to 16 hours per semester for eight semesters or until completion of degree; not applicable to summer-term tuition.
Source: https://www.okbu.edu/financial-aid/university-scholar
Allen Academic Scholar (Full-Tuition, Western Oklahoma)
Full tuitionEntry requirements: At least 3.5 GPA · At least 1260 SAT · At least 27 ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the full-tuition scholarships page.
Source: https://www.okbu.edu/financial-aid/full-tuition-scholarships
Martin Academic Scholar (Full-Tuition, Choctaw Nation)
Full tuitionEntry requirements: At least 3.0 GPA · At least 1190 SAT · At least 25 ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the full-tuition scholarships page.
Source: https://www.okbu.edu/financial-aid/full-tuition-scholarships
Fine Arts Scholarships (Talent: voice, keyboard, instrument, music composition, art, theatre)
$500-$4,000To keep it: Recipient must major in the scholarship area and exhibit continued excellence in their area; specific renewal GPA not stated.
Source: https://www.okbu.edu/financial-aid/talent-and-athletic-scholarships
Band Award (non-music majors)
$250-$1,000To keep it: Described as 'Renewable and competitive-based.'
Source: https://www.okbu.edu/financial-aid/talent-and-athletic-scholarships
OBU Engineering Scholarship
$3,000To keep it: Renewal terms not stated.
Source: https://www.okbu.edu/financial-aid/freshmen-scholarships
Oklahoma Regents Rising Scholars Program (Academic Scholars)
$5,700To keep it: Available for up to eight semesters.
Source: https://www.okbu.edu/financial-aid/freshmen-scholarships
How families lose this aid
- Assuming the full-tuition University Scholar award is automatic on a 29 ACT.
Meeting the 3.5 GPA + 29 ACT/1330 SAT/89 CLT cutoff only lets you APPLY. It is a competition: you must submit a recommendation, resume, and a 500-1,000 word essay, then compete at Scholars Day (Feb 6, 2026). The automatic tiers top out at Founder's Academic ($20,000/year).
- Assuming a low high-school GPA means no merit money.
Even at 'GPA: 3.24 or below / ACT: 18 or below,' OBU's Academic Grant guarantees $15,000/year ($60,000 over four years) automatically — there is a guaranteed freshman floor.
Renewal questions families ask
- Is OBU's academic scholarship automatic?
- Yes. The four academic tiers (Academic Grant $15,000, President's $16,000, Trustee's $17,000, Founder's $20,000 per year) are awarded automatically on your GPA, ACT, SAT, or CLT — no separate application beyond admission. The full-tuition awards (University Scholar, Allen, Martin) are competitive and require an application.
- What do I need to keep my scholarship?
- Academic scholarships and grants are renewable provided you maintain a 2.0 College GPA.
How Oklahoma Baptist compares across our verified dataset
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Oklahoma Baptist is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Oklahoma Baptist’s own published materials.
- Policy pageOklahoma Baptist stacking policy
- Cost of attendanceOklahoma Baptist cost-of-attendance worksheet
- Merit tiersAcademic Grant
- Merit tiersUniversity Scholar (Full-Tuition)
- Merit tiersAllen Academic Scholar (Full-Tuition, Western Oklahoma)
- Merit tiersFine Arts Scholarships (Talent: voice, keyboard, instrument, music composition, art, theatre)
More on Oklahoma Baptist merit aid
- Oklahoma Baptist merit aid overviewFull tier ladder, named scholarships, departmental awards, and how families decide.
- Oklahoma Baptist scholarship stackingWhether outside awards land as upside or quietly displace institutional aid.
- Does Oklahoma Baptist displace outside scholarships?The dollar math on a $5,000 outside award, plus peer schools that handle it differently.