These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.
$80,000 4-year value ($20,000/year)
President's Scholarship
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- Potential eligibility based upon ACT and GPA combination (see OBU scholarship calculator)
- ACT
- Minimum ACT score of 26 required
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesIncoming first-time freshman; determined by high school GPA through the 7th semester. An ACT score is required for the President's Scholarship only.
How to keep itA 2.00 cumulative GPA is required to maintain scholarship eligibility each year. Awarded up to a maximum of eight semesters (residential component of the first degree).
NotesThis is the only tier that requires a test score. Eligibility is an ACT-and-GPA combination, so a 26 ACT alone does not guarantee the President's level — run the official scholarship calculator. OBU accepts ACT scores through the February test date. Amounts on the page carry a 'Fall 2025' label; the dollar grid has been identical across recent cohorts but a separate Fall 2026 grid was not separately published at retrieval (see Section C).
Source
$68,000 4-year value ($17,000/year)
Founder's Scholarship
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- High school GPA of 3.85-4.0
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesIncoming first-time freshman; determined by high school GPA through the 7th semester. No ACT required for this tier.
How to keep itA 2.00 cumulative GPA is required to maintain scholarship eligibility each year. Awarded up to a maximum of eight semesters.
NotesAutomatic on GPA alone — no test score or separate application beyond admission.
Source
$60,000 4-year value ($15,000/year)
Dean's Scholarship
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- High school GPA of 3.55-3.849
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesIncoming first-time freshman; determined by high school GPA through the 7th semester. No ACT required for this tier.
How to keep itA 2.00 cumulative GPA is required to maintain scholarship eligibility each year. Awarded up to a maximum of eight semesters.
NotesAutomatic on GPA alone — no test score or separate application beyond admission.
Source
$48,000 4-year value ($12,000/year)
Collegiate Scholarship
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- High school GPA of 3.00-3.549
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesIncoming first-time freshman; determined by high school GPA through the 7th semester. No ACT required for this tier.
How to keep itA 2.00 cumulative GPA is required to maintain scholarship eligibility each year. Awarded up to a maximum of eight semesters.
NotesAutomatic on GPA alone — no test score or separate application beyond admission.
Source
$20,000 4-year value ($5,000/year)
Opportunity Award
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- High school GPA of 2.00-2.999
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesIncoming first-time freshman; determined by high school GPA through the 7th semester. No ACT required for this tier.
How to keep itA 2.00 cumulative GPA is required to maintain scholarship eligibility each year. Awarded up to a maximum of eight semesters.
NotesLowest automatic tier; ensures even C-average admits receive a renewable merit award.
Source
$5,000-$12,500 per year
Transfer Scholarship
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- Transfer GPA tiers: above 3.5 = $12,500/yr; 3.0-3.49 = $10,000/yr; 2.5-2.99 = $7,500/yr; 2.0-2.49 = $5,000/yr
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesIncoming transfer student; based on transfer GPA.
How to keep it2.0 cumulative GPA required to maintain; available up to eight semesters, less prior full-time semesters attended at another institution.
NotesFor transfer (not first-time freshman) applicants; awarded on transfer GPA. Semesters of eligibility are reduced by prior full-time semesters elsewhere.
Source
Minimum of three $1,000 awards per…Minimum of three $1,000 awards per year
National Merit Ouachita Baptist University Scholarship
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesNational Merit Finalists who select Ouachita as first-choice school with the National Merit Scholarship Corporation by March 1; cannot be chosen for another NMSC or corporate-sponsor award.
How to keep itRenewal terms not stated on the page.
NotesOBU is a college sponsor of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Deadline-sensitive: Ouachita must be your NMSC first choice by March 1. (Note: a third-party page claims National Merit Finalists get full-tuition coverage at OBU — that is NOT stated on the official page, which lists a minimum of three $1,000 awards; do not assume full tuition.)
Source
$5,000 per year
Missionary Dependent Award
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesU.S. citizens who are dependent students of full-time cross-cultural evangelical missionaries serving outside the U.S. and Canada; letter verifying service by the sending organization required.
How to keep itRenewable over four years.
NotesExplicitly stackable: 'can be stacked with merit based aid from the university.' Awarded at the discretion of the university, which may limit the number of discounts in any given year.
Source
$2,000 per year
Minister's Child and Spouse Award
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesDependent children and spouses of active, retired or deceased full-time ministers in Southern Baptist churches and current associational missionaries; also dependents of SBC North American Mission Board-endorsed chaplains and certain Arkansas Baptist State Convention employees.
How to keep it2.0 cumulative GPA to maintain.
NotesFaith/affiliation-based award for ministry families.
Source
$1,000 per year
Legacy Award
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesStudents who have at least one parent who attended Ouachita.
How to keep it2.0 cumulative GPA to maintain.
NotesLegacy/alumni-family award; small but easy to overlook.
Source
Up to $3,000 per year (each)
Talent / Performing Arts Scholarships (Art & Design, Band, Theatre Arts)
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesAudition, portfolio, and/or interview with the relevant program director. Art & Design (Art Education, Graphic Design, Studio Art) judged on portfolio + brief essay (deadline second Friday of November); Band on performance audition; Theatre Arts on audition, portfolio and interview.
How to keep itAwarded for a maximum of eight semesters; Band requires a 2.0 cumulative GPA to maintain.
NotesThree separate talent awards each capped at $3,000/yr. Music Scholarship (School of Performing Arts) and Athletic Scholarship are listed separately. Requires action beyond admission (audition/portfolio); not automatic.
Source
Up to tuition…Up to tuition, fees, housing and food per year
Athletic Scholarship
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesOffered to each of Ouachita's NCAA athletic teams; contact individual coaches via the Athletic Department.
How to keep itTerms set by individual coaches; awarded for a maximum of eight semesters.
NotesExplicitly 'stackable with Ouachita merit scholarship.' Recruited-athlete award, not automatic.
Source