Skip to content

Rice University · Texas

Rice scholarships and merit aid

A highly selective private university (8% admit rate) that automatically considers all admitted freshmen for merit scholarships with no separate application, but publishes no automatic stat-based grids and no specific award amounts. About 20% of admitted students receive a merit offer, though only about 5% of first-year students with no financial need received pure non-need institutional merit in 2024-2025. Rice meets 100% of demonstrated need loan-free through the Rice Investment.

Verified Jul 20262 months ago

The short answer

Is Rice worth a closer look?

Rice may be worth checking, but its awards do not follow a simple grades-and-scores chart. Start with the published scholarships below.

See our full reasoning

Worth a shot only after you've already earned the admit — treat Rice merit as a lottery, not a budget line, because Rice publishes no award amounts and no stat thresholds for any tier.

Rice is the rare selective school where merit is real but unknowable in advance. Every admitted freshman is auto-considered with no separate application, and selection is by admission review, not a formula — automaticOnStats is false for all four tiers (general Merit, Trustee Distinguished, Century Scholars, Shepherd Music). Rice discloses zero dollar amounts and zero qualifying stats, so there is no computable score cliff to optimize toward, unlike formula schools. The one figure on record is a population statistic: the CDS lists an average non-need institutional merit award of $26,665 (2024-2025, estimated) — not a guaranteed or per-tier value. What you can actually plan around is stacking: outside scholarships hit work-study first, then Rice need-based grant, while Pell and merit are explicitly protected and never reduced. Music applicants face hard deadlines — Prescreening/Audition Profile by Dec 1, auditions mid-Jan to mid-Feb. Bottom line: aim for admission; do not budget on merit.

Merit tiers4See who qualifies
First-year students with school awards5%First-year students, CDS 2024-2025
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team
Lovett Hall at Rice University

Free Merit Check

See what Rice's published rules mean for your student. Takes 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Rice

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Varies. Rice does not publicly disc…Varies. Rice does not publicly disclose specific merit award amounts. The CDS reports an average non-need-based institutional merit award of $26,665 for first-year students (2024-2025 estimated). Individual awards may range from partial tuition to full tuition based on admission review.

Rice Merit Scholarship (general pool)

Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies
Who qualifies

All admitted freshman applicants are automatically considered for merit-based scholarships. No separate application, forms, or interviews are required. The Office of Admission selects recipients based on the admission application. Merit scholarships are not influenced by the FAFSA or CSS Profile. Recipients typically distinguish themselves academically and personally - past honorees include political and community service leaders, math and science competition winners, creative and performance artists, entrepreneurs, scholar-athletes, and exceptional writers.

How to keep it

Renewed annually as long as the student maintains full-time enrollment and a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.8 or 3.0, with the specific GPA requirement referenced in the individual admissions merit award letter.

Notes

About 20% of admitted students receive a merit scholarship offer. The CDS reports 55 first-time first-year students with no financial need received non-need institutional merit in 2024-2025 out of 1,147 degree-seeking first-years. Merit awards may be exchanged for endowed or named scholarships partially or completely. Merit scholarship funds cannot be used for coursework outside Rice, and students who graduate early cannot receive unexpended merit funds.

Source

Not publicly disclosed. Based on re…Not publicly disclosed. Based on recipient testimonials, the award is substantial enough to enable debt-free graduation.

Trustee Distinguished Scholarship

Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies
Who qualifies

Selected from the admitted applicant pool by the Office of Admission. No separate application. Specific selection criteria are not published.

How to keep it

Renewed annually with full-time enrollment and minimum cumulative GPA per the admissions merit award letter (2.8 or 3.0).

Notes

One of Rice's named endowed merit scholarships. Referenced in university donor communications but not detailed on the financial aid website. Exact number of awards per year is not published.

Source

Two-year merit scholarship…Two-year merit scholarship (amount not publicly disclosed) plus a research stipend for faculty-mentored research. The stipend covers research materials, textbooks, or conference travel as determined with mentor approval.

Century Scholars Program

Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies
Who qualifies

All admitted Rice students are automatically considered. No separate application required. The selection committee looks for special qualities and achievements in both academic and personal areas. Prior research experience is not required - demonstrated interest and enthusiasm qualify students.

How to keep it

The scholarship and research component last two years (freshman through sophomore year). The stipend is not awarded during semesters spent studying abroad. Students must maintain a one-semester minimum commitment to their initial research project.

Notes

Introduced in the 2000-2001 academic year. Pairs incoming freshmen with faculty mentors for two years of collaborative research in areas including data analysis, interviews, computer programming, gene cloning, and international conferences. Mandatory participation in Inquiry Weeks (sophomores must present). Administered by the Office of Undergraduate Research and Inquiry, not the main financial aid office.

Source

Varies. Amounts are not publicly di…Varies. Amounts are not publicly disclosed. Awards are distributed to applicants exhibiting exceptional musical ability and potential coupled with excellent academic credentials.

Shepherd School of Music Merit Scholarship

Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies
Who qualifies

Must apply to and be admitted through the Shepherd School of Music. Audition required (mid-January to mid-February). Must complete the Shepherd School Financial Assistance Application and apply for need-based assistance. Prescreening Profile or Audition Profile Form due December 1. Common Application and Rice Supplement due March 15. Shepherd School applicants are not eligible to apply through QuestBridge.

How to keep it

Reviewed annually. As long as merit recipients continue to make satisfactory musical and academic progress in their field of study and the degree program to which they are admitted, the expectation is for the award to be continued for four years.

Notes

These are music-specific merit awards separate from the university-wide merit scholarships administered by the Office of Admission. The Shepherd School is one of the top conservatory-style programs housed within a research university.

Source

See what could change an award

Rules that could change the answer

These are the rules we would flag for your family. Each comes from Rice's published information.

  • Renewal ruleRice Merit Scholarship (general pool): renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

    Renewed annually as long as the student maintains full-time enrollment and a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.8 or 3.0, with the specific GPA requirement referenced in the individual admissions merit award letter. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

  • Outside awardsDifferent aid types are displaced differently

    Rice treats loans, work-study, and institutional grant under different rules. The same $5,000 outside award can land against any of them depending on category.

Straight from the aid office

What Rice's aid office says

Per the Office of Financial Aid, Rice University, August 2026. How we verify

Outside scholarships

When an outside scholarship arrives, what gets reduced first?

Work study first — then need-based aid, dollar for dollar. That second clause is the one to hear: once the work-study expectation is gone, each additional outside dollar comes out of the need-based package. Families whose students win large outside scholarships should model them as replacing Rice need-based aid past that point, not as stacking on top.

“We reduce work study first when an outside scholarship is received. After, need-based aid is reduced dollar for dollar.”
Annual reapplication

Does aid renew automatically each year?

No — the full application renews annually: FAFSA, CSS Profile, and W2 uploads every year. The award is recalculated on current finances, which cuts both ways as income moves.

“We require students to complete a new financial aid application each year. This means completing the FAFSA, CSS Profile, and uploading W2s.”
Special circumstances

How does a family request a special-circumstances review?

By emailing the office directly once the student is admitted — no elaborate form is named. The gate is admission: the office reviews circumstances for admitted students, not applicants.

“If admitted, we would be happy to review any special circumstances your family may have. You may simply email us at this address.”

What families often miss

  1. Rice does not publish any automatic stat-to-dollar merit grid. All merit scholarships are competitively awarded through holistic admission review. There is no formula to reverse-engineer. The CDS rates standardized test scores, academic GPA, class rank, rigor of secondary school record, application essay, recommendations, extracurricular activities, talent/ability, and character/personal qualities all as Very Important in admission decisions. A 1560 SAT does not guarantee a merit offer any more than a 1510 does.

  2. The Rice Investment is Rice's flagship need-based financial aid program: families earning under $75,000 pay nothing for tuition, fees, room, and board; families earning $75,000-$140,000 pay no tuition; families earning $140,000-$200,000 have at least half tuition covered. This is entirely need-based and requires FAFSA and CSS Profile. Merit scholarships are a separate system administered by the Office of Admission, not influenced by FAFSA or CSS Profile. Families with high income who assume the Rice Investment will help them are confusing need-based aid with merit aid.

  3. Rice deliberately does not publish dollar amounts, tier names, or the number of awards for its general merit scholarship pool. The Office of Admission notifies recipients at the time of admission. The only way to learn your specific merit award is to be admitted and receive the notification. This makes it impossible to build a reliable financial plan around Rice merit aid before applying.

  4. Rice requires students to report all outside scholarships through ESTHER or by email. If the Office of Financial Aid discovers unreported outside aid, they will reduce institutional funds by the same amount. This penalty is avoidable - by reporting proactively, students ensure the standard displacement order (work-study first, then grants) is followed, and merit scholarships and Pell grants remain protected.

See award cutoffs and special programs

What the data actually supports

Rice publishes no award amounts and no qualifying stat thresholds for any merit tier, so no student profile maps to a guaranteed dollar figure. Every tier is selected by admission review (automaticOnStats is false for all), and the only dollar figure on record is a population average, not a tier value. Rows below state exactly what is disclosed and what is not.

Student profileLikely outcome
Any admitted freshman (no separate application)Rice Merit Scholarship — amount undisclosed (auto-considered)Selected by the Office of Admission, not by a stat formula. The only dollar figure in the data is the CDS average non-need institutional merit award of $26,665 (2024-2025, estimated) — a population statistic, not a per-tier or guaranteed value. No score guarantees any award.
Academically and personally distinctive admit (math/science, arts, writing, leadership)Trustee Distinguished / Century Scholars — amount undisclosedTrustee amount unpublished (recipient testimonials cite debt-free graduation). Century Scholars is a two-year award plus a research stipend. Both are selected from the admitted pool with no published criteria; neither exposes a dollar value.
Shepherd School of Music applicant (audition admit)Shepherd Music Merit — amount undisclosed, renewable up to 4 yrsSeparate from university-wide merit; requires audition and the Shepherd Financial Assistance Application. Prescreening/Audition Profile due Dec 1; auditions mid-Jan to mid-Feb. Shepherd applicants cannot apply via QuestBridge.
Any merit recipient who also wins outside scholarshipsMerit and Pell are protected from outside-aid displacementOutside scholarships reduce work-study first, then Rice need-based grant — but merit scholarships and Pell are explicitly never reduced. Report all outside awards via ESTHER or fina@rice.edu; unreported awards trigger an equal institutional reduction.
See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Families who need to understand that Rice's merit scholarships are competitively awarded through holistic review with no published formulas. Rice does not disclose named merit tiers or dollar amounts publicly - the Office of Admission notifies winners at the time of admission. If your family does not qualify for need-based aid, you will likely pay full price ($87,047 in first-year direct costs for 2025-2026) unless your student is among the small percentage who receive a merit award. The Rice Investment (need-based, not merit) covers full tuition, fees, room, and board for families earning under $75,000, and provides scaled coverage up to $200,000. Merit and need-based aid are separate systems at Rice.

Cost of attendance$97,309 for 2026-2027Each bar is the full published cost for that scenario, sized against the highest figure so totals compare at a glance.
On-campus$97,309
  • Tuition & fees
  • Housing & food
  • Books
  • Personal

Official page now shows 2026-2027 (newer than input 2025-2026). Figures for students entered 2024 & later; non-waivable health insurance, travel, and orientation fees excluded.

Rice cost-of-attendance source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Rice, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Rice, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$5,827
$30,001–$48,000$563
$48,001–$75,000$3,217
$75,001–$110,000$17,755
$110,001+$48,466
All income levels (average)$13,370

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$64,144
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$13,370

That works out to roughly a 83% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $79,788 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
95%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
97%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$11,000 (~$117/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$89,718
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
18%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
6%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Outside scholarships first displace work-study, then reduce Rice institutional need-based grants. Pell grants and merit scholarships are protected and not reduced by outside aid. Total aid cannot exceed the cost of attendance.

Rice's published outside aid policy states that outside aid is considered a resource that reduces need-based financial aid. The displacement order is: (1) work-study is reduced first, then (2) Rice institutional grant aid, then (3) state and federal grants. If work-study was not in the initial package, institutional, state, and federal need-based grants are reduced first instead. Critically, Pell grants and merit scholarships are explicitly protected and not affected by outside aid. Students must report all outside scholarships through ESTHER or by emailing fina@rice.edu, providing the scholarship name, dollar amount, one-time or renewable status, disbursement method, and payment frequency. If the Office of Financial Aid discovers unreported outside scholarships, institutional funds are lowered by the same amount. For scholarships over $1,000 without a semester designation, funds are split evenly between fall and spring. A one-time technology allocation of up to $2,000 (capped by the scholarship amount) may be applied toward approved technology purchases.

Source

More school data

From the Rice Common Data Set 2024-2025:

Merit penetrationHow likely is merit aid here?From Rice’s Common Data Set: the share of first-year students who receive institutional merit and the average dollar amount when they do.
5%of admitsget merit
Average award$26,665Covers ~27% of $97,309 cost of attendance

At Rice, roughly 1 in 20 first-year admits receive institutional merit aid. The average award is $26,665about 27% of total cost.

SAT mid-50%1510–156025th / 75th percentile
ACT mid-50%34–3525th / 75th percentile
Receive institutional merit5%First-year students
Average merit award$26,665Across recipients

Source: Common Data Set

Other Rice scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountVaries (over $150,000 awarded annually across all recipients)EligibilityUndergraduate students in the George R. Brown School of Engineering. Awards based on academic achievement, research, leadership, or service. Direct application through the REA website.

Not available to incoming freshmen - these are for current engineering students. The oldest alumni affinity group at Rice awards these annually. REA awards are split into four categories with separate Google Form applications: Leadership Excellence Award, Research Excellence Award, Graduate Travel Grants, and R.K.M. "Bob" Dickson Prize. Easy to miss because they are administered by the engineering alumni association, not the central financial aid office. Check the REA website for fall and spring deadlines.

Source

Amount$6,500 (up to two awards per year)EligibilityJuniors, seniors, or fifth-year engineering students with significant involvement in performing, visual, or written arts. Requires direct application with reference letter from faculty or staff and current resume/CV.

An engineering school award for students who combine STEM with arts involvement. Application deadline March 3 at 5:00 PM CST. Administered by the School of Engineering, not the financial aid office.

Source

Amount$1,000 to $2,000 (up to two recipients per eligible engineering program)EligibilityFull-time engineering students in CHBE, CEE, CS, ECE, MECH, or MSNE with a minimum 3.3 GPA. Department nomination required.

Industry-funded scholarship available to current engineering students. Not for incoming freshmen. Application deadline December 15 at 5:00 PM CST. Requires department nomination, so students must be known to their department faculty.

Source

Rice merit aid FAQ

  • Does Rice offer automatic merit scholarships based on GPA or test scores?

    No. Rice automatically considers all admitted freshmen for merit scholarships based on the full admission application, but there is no published formula linking test scores or GPA to a specific dollar amount. Merit awards are competitively determined through holistic review. About 20% of admitted students receive a merit offer, but Rice does not disclose the selection criteria, tier structure, or award amounts in advance.

  • Do I need to submit a separate application for merit scholarships?

    No, for the general university-wide merit pool. All admitted freshman applicants are automatically considered based on their admission application. No separate forms, essays, or interviews are required. The Shepherd School of Music is the exception: music majors must complete the Shepherd School Financial Assistance Application and audition (mid-January to mid-February) to be considered for music-specific merit awards.

  • What is the Rice Investment, and is it the same as a merit scholarship?

    No. The Rice Investment is Rice's need-based financial aid program for domestic students. It guarantees that families earning under $75,000 pay nothing for tuition, fees, room, and board; families earning $75,000-$140,000 pay no tuition; and families earning $140,000-$200,000 have at least half tuition covered. It requires FAFSA and CSS Profile. Merit scholarships are a completely separate system, awarded by the Office of Admission regardless of financial need and not influenced by financial aid applications. A student can receive both merit and need-based aid.

  • How do outside scholarships affect my Rice financial aid?

    Outside scholarships first reduce work-study, then Rice institutional grants. Pell grants and merit scholarships are explicitly protected and will not be reduced. You must report all outside aid through ESTHER or by email to fina@rice.edu. Unreported outside scholarships will result in a dollar-for-dollar reduction in institutional funds when discovered. Total aid from all sources cannot exceed the cost of attendance.

  • What percentage of Rice freshmen receive merit aid?

    Rice states that about 20% of admitted students receive a merit scholarship offer. However, the CDS reports that only 55 first-time first-year students with no financial need received non-need institutional merit in 2024-2025, out of 1,147 total degree-seeking first-years (about 5%). The discrepancy reflects the fact that some merit recipients also have demonstrated financial need, so their merit award is counted as need-based in CDS reporting. The average non-need merit award for first-years was $26,665.

See sources and other schools

How Rice compares

  • 32 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use mixed displacement.

    Rice is in the small minority (32 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Rice is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Rice’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Rice merit aid

Planning guides for Rice