Skip to content

San Diego State scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$36,432per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

San Diego State may be worth checking, but its awards do not follow a simple grades-and-scores chart. Start with the published scholarships below.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jul 2026
3 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. SDSU Merit Scholarship$7,500 - $10,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    SDSU Merit Scholarship

    $7,500 - $10,000 per year

    Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Minimum 4.30 CSU-calculated high school GPA
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for SDSU Merit Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Must graduate from a local SDSU admissions-area high school; invitation-only — eligible applicants are emailed a link to apply; Merit Scholars are automatically admitted to the Weber Honors College

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published on the page. Ask the SDSU Scholarship Office what GPA/enrollment is required to renew.

    Worth knowing

    SDSU's most prestigious freshman award, but NOT automatic: it is reserved for a very select number of the most academically qualified students from the local San Diego admissions area and is by invitation only. Application deadline February 13, 2026; decisions by early March. Eligible students are notified in December/January.

  2. SDSU High-Achieving Scholarship$1,000-$9,000 or more per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    SDSU High-Achieving Scholarship

    $1,000-$9,000 or more per year

    Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for SDSU High-Achieving Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    First-year admitted California students; invitation-only — eligible students are notified in March to apply

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Offered to high-achieving first-year admitted California students. The application is invitation-only; qualified applicants are notified in March. No published GPA/test cutoff and no automatic-on-stats grid.

  3. Presidential Scholars Program ScholarshipUp to $30,000 over four yearsNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Presidential Scholars Program Scholarship

    Up to $30,000 over four years

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Presidential Scholars Program Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Students accepted to SDSU's Presidential Scholars program; invitation-only — applicants notified December through March

    How to keep it

    Award is structured over four years; specific per-year renewal conditions not published on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Tied to acceptance into SDSU's Presidential Scholars program. Invitation-only; not awarded automatically on a published GPA/test grid.

  4. de Llamas Opportunity ScholarshipUp to $6,000 eachNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    de Llamas Opportunity Scholarship

    Up to $6,000 each

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for de Llamas Opportunity Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    High-achieving students who graduate from Mar Vista or San Ysidro high schools; admitted first-year students are invited to apply each spring

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated; described as an 'each' award value.

    Worth knowing

    Geographically restricted to graduates of two specific San Diego-area high schools (Mar Vista, San Ysidro). Application-based, not automatic.

  5. Weber Honors College Scholarship$1,000 - $7,500 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Weber Honors College Scholarship

    $1,000 - $7,500 per year

    Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Weber Honors College Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Students accepted to the Weber Honors College

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Available to Weber Honors College admits. SDSU Merit Scholars are automatically admitted to the Weber Honors College, but the honors scholarship itself is a separate, non-automatic award.

  6. Economics ScholarshipTypically $5,000 or more per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Economics Scholarship

    Typically $5,000 or more per year

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Economics Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    California high-achieving students majoring in Economics

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Departmental/major-restricted award for Economics majors.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which San Diego State award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at San Diego State

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

What makes San Diego State different

SDSU is a low-cost CSU public where institutional merit is invitation-only and competitive, not automatic on a stats grid — the headline awards are the SDSU Merit Scholarship (typically $7,500-$10,000/yr, requires a 4.30 CSU GPA and a local admissions-area high school) and the SDSU High-Achieving Scholarship ($1,000-$9,000/yr); most awards are reviewed through the one Aztec Scholarships application.

Merit tiers6See who qualifies
First-year students with school awards6%First-year students, CDS 2025-2026 (school-estimated)
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

Selection beyond grades and scores

Start with the selection process.

These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

  1. Read the selection rules

    Look for the school's stated criteria and whether an additional application is needed.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take San Diego State's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. It does not. SDSU is a CSU public; institutional merit awards (SDSU Merit, High-Achieving, Presidential Scholars) are invitation-only and competitive. There is no published 'this GPA/SAT = this dollar amount' guarantee — eligible students are emailed a link to apply.

  2. The flagship SDSU Merit Scholarship requires both a minimum 4.30 CSU-calculated GPA AND graduation from a local SDSU admissions-area high school. Out-of-area California students are not eligible for that specific award.

  3. SDSU coordinates ~800 scholarships through one Aztec Scholarships application. For 2026-27 the incoming-student deadlines are Recruitment Scholarship June 26, 2026, Incoming Student Early Action July 31, 2026, and a final deadline of Sept. 4, 2026 — separate from the invitation-only SDSU Merit Scholarship deadline of February 13, 2026.

  4. Resident tuition is low, but the full 2026-27 cost of attendance for a California resident living on campus is about $36,432 once housing ($14,008), a meal plan ($7,848), campus fees, books, transportation and personal costs are added. Most SDSU aid for typical families is need-based (Cal Grant, State University Grant), not merit.

  5. SDSU must consider all resources by federal law and will adjust your financial aid 'when necessary' when you report an external award. The page does not say whether it reduces loans first or grants first — confirm with the Financial Aid Office before assuming it stacks cleanly.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Strong California applicants — especially from SDSU's local San Diego admissions area — who can clear high CSU-GPA bars; out-of-state/international applicants chasing the merit-based Advantage scholarship; and any admitted student willing to file the single Aztec Scholarships application. There is no published automatic GPA/test merit grid here.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $36,432 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at San Diego State, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at San Diego State, academic year 2021-22 — in-state, Title-IV aid recipients only
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$9,910
$30,001–$48,000$10,017
$48,001–$75,000$12,697
$75,001–$110,000$15,891
$110,001+$23,821
All income levels (average)$15,364

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees (in-state), AY 2022-23
$8,728
Published tuition & fees (out-of-state), AY 2022-23
$21,328
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$15,364

That works out to roughly a 45% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $27,780 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

San Diego State is a public school; Scorecard's net price figure covers in-state, Title-IV-aid-recipient payers only — there is no comparable federal figure for out-of-state students.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
76%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
91%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$15,000 (~$159/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$64,909
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
25%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
25%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Outside scholarships reduce loans and/or work-study first; institutional grants are only reduced if required to prevent an over-award.

Verified policy language (2026-07-02): An overaward occurs when a student's aid package exceeds either their total calculated financial need or their COA. If a scholarship results in an overaward, the financial aid package must be adjusted to comply with federal and state regulations. Whenever possible, adjustments are made in this order: parent and student loans first, then Federal Work Study (unless the student is actively employed), and finally grants.

Source

More school data

From the San Diego State Common Data Set 2025-2026 (school-estimated figures):

Merit penetrationHow likely is merit aid here?From San Diego State’s Common Data Set: the share of first-year students who receive institutional merit and the average dollar amount when they do.
6%of admitsget merit
Average award$2,390Covers ~7% of $36,432 cost of attendance

At San Diego State, roughly 1 in 17 first-year admits receive institutional merit aid. The average award is $2,390 — about 7% of total cost.

As filed in San Diego State's CDS Section H2A: of 6,845 first-time, full-time degree-seeking freshmen, 413 had no financial need and received institutional merit (non-need) scholarship or grant aid, averaging $2,390. Across all full-time degree-seeking undergraduates: 1,025 of 33,038, averaging $2,425. Athletic awards are excluded per the CDS definition.

The 2025-2026 column is marked "estimated" in the school's own CDS filing — school-projected figures, not final audited counts.

Receive institutional merit6%First-year students, Common Data Set 2025-2026 (school-estimated)
Average merit award$2,390Across recipients, Common Data Set 2025-2026 (school-estimated)

Source: Common Data Set 2025-2026 (verified 2026-07-23)

Other San Diego State scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

Amount$1,000 or more per yearEligibilityFirst-year students from Chula Vista, CA.

Geographically restricted endowed award.

Source

Amount$500-$1,000 eachEligibilityTransfer students from Imperial Valley College pursuing a teaching credential or majoring in the College of Engineering / Fowler College of Business.

Transfer-only, partner-college restricted.

Source

AmountVariesEligibilityHighly qualified non-resident (out-of-state and international) first-year students; competitive and merit-based; awarded for four years based on academic performance.

Amount not published. Non-residents notified by end of March; selected students complete an application on the scholarship portal.

Source

San Diego State merit aid FAQ

  • Is SDSU merit aid automatic based on my GPA and test scores?

    No. SDSU does not publish an automatic merit grid. The SDSU Merit Scholarship, SDSU High-Achieving Scholarship, and Presidential Scholars award are all invitation-only and competitive — eligible students are emailed a link to apply. The SDSU Merit Scholarship does require a minimum 4.30 CSU-calculated GPA and a local admissions-area high school, but meeting that bar does not guarantee the award.

  • What is the scholarship deadline?

    The invitation-only SDSU Merit Scholarship application is due February 13, 2026 (decisions by early March). The general Aztec Scholarships application (one form for ~800 awards) has 2026-27 deadlines of Recruitment Scholarship June 26, 2026, Incoming Student Early Action July 31, 2026, and a final deadline of Sept. 4, 2026.

  • How big are SDSU's merit awards?

    Published ranges: SDSU Merit Scholarship typically $7,500-$10,000/year; SDSU High-Achieving $1,000-$9,000+/year; Presidential Scholars up to $30,000 over four years; Weber Honors College $1,000-$7,500/year; de Llamas (Mar Vista / San Ysidro grads) up to $6,000; Economics ~$5,000+/year.

  • Will an outside scholarship reduce my SDSU aid?

    Possibly. SDSU is required by federal law to consider all resources and will adjust your aid 'when necessary' when you report an outside award. The page does not specify whether loans or grants are reduced first, so contact the SDSU Financial Aid Office for your specific situation.

See sources and other schools

How San Diego State compares

  • 145 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use loan-first displacement.

    San Diego State is in a recognizable cluster (145 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    San Diego State is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against San Diego State’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

  • UCLA merit aid. California public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • UC Berkeley merit aid. California public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • UC San Diego merit aid. California public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Cal Poly SLO merit aid. California public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.

Keep exploring San Diego State merit aid

The next chapter

Where does San Diego State fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook