The starting point
TSU's institutional merit scholarships are awarded automatically off a weighted-GPA/test grid: stat-based stipends run $3,000-$8,500/year (and are larger for out-of-state students), while the top tiers (Presidential Scholar, MNPS Trailblazer) cover full tuition or a full ride.
More than one award path. Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.
Awards to discuss
First 3 of 9 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.
The TSU Renaissance
$5,500 (in-state) / $8,500 (out-of-state) per year · Published award terms
Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.
GPA: Weighted 3.75 or higher · SAT: 1300+ · ACT: 28+ (composite)
Eligibility: First-time freshmen and international students. GPA OR test threshold qualifies (either/or).
Renewal: Renewable for four consecutive academic years (8 semesters); maintain a 3.0 cumulative GPA, 15+ credit hours/semester, and submit the FAFSA.
Other terms: Awarded off the published GPA/test grid with no separate application — students who meet the criteria and complete their admission file by the deadline are automatically considered. Out-of-state recipients receive the larger $8,500/year.
https://www.tnstate.edu/oims/scholarships.aspx
The 1912 Heritage
$4,500 (in-state) / $6,500 (out-of-state) per year · Published award terms
Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.
GPA: Weighted 3.25-3.74 · SAT: 1200-1290 · ACT: 25-27
Eligibility: First-time freshmen and international students. GPA OR test band qualifies (either/or).
Renewal: Renewable up to four years (8 semesters); maintain a 3.0 GPA, 15 credit hours/semester, and submit the FAFSA.
Other terms: Automatic on stats from the published grid; out-of-state students receive the larger $6,500/year.
https://www.tnstate.edu/oims/scholarships.aspx
The TSU Torch Scholars
$3,500 (in-state) / $4,500 (out-of-state) per year · Published award terms
Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.
GPA: Weighted 3.0-3.24 · SAT: 1030-1190 · ACT: 20-24
Eligibility: First-time freshmen and international students.
Renewal: Maintain a 3.0 GPA, 15 credit hours/semester, and submit the FAFSA. Page does not state the maximum number of renewal years for this tier.
Other terms: Entry-tier automatic award off the grid; out-of-state students receive the larger $4,500/year. Renewal-year cap not stated on the page (confirm with the aid office).
https://www.tnstate.edu/oims/scholarships.aspx
Ask before you decide
- Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
- What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
- How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?
Recorded stacking policy: A student can receive only ONE institutional merit scholarship from TSU's Office of Institutional Merit Scholarships — these awards do not stack on each other. The merit award CAN be combined with scholarships from the TSU Foundation, outside organizations, and TSU colleges/departments. Critically, TSU merit scholarships are described as LAST-DOLLAR awards, so other aid can reduce or adjust a student's total cost (i.e., outside aid can effectively displace institutional value when total aid would otherwise exceed cost).
Our unanswered questions / Family notes