Skip to content
← Back to UTEP's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

UTEP
Decision sheet

Texas · Research checked 2026-07-02 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

UTEP's flagship merit award—the UTEP Excellence Scholarship—provides $2,000–$8,000/year to top-25%-class high school seniors via a competitive application; up to 10 students per cohort can win the Presidential Scholarship, which covers full cost of attendance including on-campus housing.

More than one award path. Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 6 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Paydirt Promise

100% of tuition and fees (TX resident, family income ≤$100,000) · Published coverage or package

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: SAP required to continue (specific GPA floor not published on the Paydirt Promise page; SAP policy linked separately)

Eligibility: Be a Texas resident pursuing first bachelor's degree. Family income of $100,000 or less. Submit FAFSA or TASFA and all required documents. Enroll in minimum 9 credits each fall and spring. All eligible students who complete the FAFSA or TASFA are automatically considered — no separate scholarship application required.

Renewal: Continuing students must make satisfactory academic progress (SAP) and earn 21 credits each academic year (summer enrollment is not required but counts). Minimum enrollment of 9 credits each fall and spring.

Other terms: Need-based program (income gate: ≤$100,000). Classified as automatic because any eligible student who files FAFSA/TASFA is automatically considered — no merit application. However, it is need-tested, so 'automaticOnStats' reflects the automatic consideration structure. Covers tuition and fees only (not full COA). If part of tuition is paid by exemption, military benefits, or other tuition-specific awards, UTEP only covers the difference. Paydirt Promise students with highest need who meet certain requirements may also qualify for the Miner Success Grant.

https://www.utep.edu/financial-aid/types-of-aid/paydirt-promise.html

UTEP Excellence Scholarship

$2,000–$8,000 per year · Published range

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: Top 25% of junior class (GPA and class rank are part of scoring; no minimum GPA floor stated beyond ranking) · SAT: Not required nor considered · ACT: Not required nor considered

Eligibility: Application required at utep.edu/excellence. Opens October 1 each year; deadline January 31 before high school graduation. Reviewed by committee of UTEP faculty, staff, and alumni on academic excellence, leadership, and service. State residents, international, and out-of-state students welcome.

Renewal: Renewable for up to four years. To remain eligible, students must enroll full-time, maintain a 3.0 GPA, earn 30 credits each year, and participate in service activities at UTEP.

Other terms: SAT and ACT scores are explicitly not required nor considered. Award amount within the $2,000–$8,000 range is not broken into a published grid; exact amount per recipient is not stated on the page. Most scholarships require enrollment in 15 credit hours per the awards-calculated page.

https://www.utep.edu/financial-aid/types-of-aid/scholarships.html

Presidential Scholarship (top tier of UTEP Excellence Scholarship)

Full cost of attendance including on-campus housing · Published coverage or package

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: Top 25% of junior class (same as Excellence Scholarship; selection from top applicants in the cohort) · SAT: Not required nor considered · ACT: Not required nor considered

Eligibility: Selected from the top 10 applicants within each Excellence Scholarship cohort. Application is the same as the Excellence Scholarship (utep.edu/excellence, deadline January 31). No separate application.

Renewal: Same renewal terms as Excellence Scholarship (full-time enrollment, 3.0 GPA, 30 credits/year, service activities). Duration not separately stated beyond the up-to-four-years Excellence Scholarship framework.

Other terms: Up to ten recipients per cohort. Covers full COA including on-campus housing — not just tuition/fees. This is the most competitive tier within the Excellence Scholarship competition.

https://www.utep.edu/financial-aid/types-of-aid/scholarships.html

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: UTEP uses a COA-cap displacement model. Scholarships and other gift aid reduce a student's calculated financial need. Receiving a UTEP scholarship explicitly disqualifies a student from the Miner Success Grant. The Paydirt Promise covers only the portion of tuition not already covered by exemptions, military benefits, or other tuition-specific awards. Total aid cannot exceed cost of attendance.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/the-university-of-texas-at-el-paso/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.