Skip to content

Trinity Hartford scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$96,480per year · 2026-27 · On-campus
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Trinity Hartford may be worth checking, but its awards do not follow a simple grades-and-scores chart. Start with the published scholarships below.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jul 2026
2 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Presidential ScholarshipFull tuitionNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Presidential Scholarship

    Full tuition

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Presidential Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Trinity's highest merit honor, 'awarded to outstanding incoming students who embody academic excellence and exemplary leadership.' Competitive — not stat-driven automatic.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to four years of undergraduate education at Trinity.

    Worth knowing

    At full tuition ($72,820 for 2026-27), this is one of the most generous LAC merit awards on a per-recipient basis. No published dollar cap separates this from other tiers — it's strictly tuition coverage.

  2. Bicentennial ScholarshipHalf tuitionNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Bicentennial Scholarship

    Half tuition

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Bicentennial Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Awarded to students with 'remarkable promise and commitment to making a difference on campus and beyond.' Competitive selection.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to four years.

  3. 1823 ScholarshipAmount variesNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    1823 Scholarship

    Amount varies

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for 1823 Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Recognizes students who 'enrich Trinity through their diverse talents, perspectives, and achievements.' Variable-amount competitive award.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to four years.

    Worth knowing

    Trinity's broadest competitive merit award — used to recognize a wider pool of applicants at smaller individual dollar amounts than the Presidential/Bicentennial tiers.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Trinity Hartford award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Trinity Hartford

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

What makes Trinity Hartford different

Hartford liberal-arts college with a three-tier published merit ladder — Presidential (full tuition), Bicentennial (half tuition), and 1823 (varies) — all renewable for four years. Distinct from Trinity University in San Antonio.

Merit tiers3See who qualifies
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

Selection beyond grades and scores

Start with the selection process.

These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

  1. Read the selection rules

    Look for the school's stated criteria and whether an additional application is needed.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Trinity Hartford's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. The two schools have similar names but completely different aid structures. Trinity in Texas runs a stat-driven automatic merit ladder. Trinity in Connecticut runs a three-tier competitive ladder — Presidential, Bicentennial, 1823. Applying based on the wrong school's policies leads to mis-modeled net price.

  2. Trinity's Presidential covers TUITION only ($72,820/year), not the full $96,480 cost of attendance. Recipients still owe the $13,150 room + $7,180 meal plan + fees out of pocket or through other aid sources every year.

  3. The Hillel Leadership Scholarship and Lincoln Award (Illinois) can layer on top of need-based aid. Eligible applicants who don't explicitly raise these awards in their financial aid conversation often miss them entirely — they're not awarded automatically without applicant signal.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Strong students who want a small New England LAC and can secure a Presidential or Bicentennial award to close the gap on Trinity's $96K+ cost of attendance. Particularly attractive for affinity scholarship candidates (Hillel Leadership, Lincoln Award for Illinois residents).

Cost of attendance$96,480 for 2026-27Each bar is the full published cost for that scenario, sized against the highest figure so totals compare at a glance.
On-campus$96,480
  • Tuition & fees
  • Housing & food

Source publishes billed charges only (tuition, fees, standard room, first-year meal plan); no books/personal/travel allowance is published, so the breakdown reflects direct billed costs that sum to the published total.

Trinity Hartford cost-of-attendance source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Trinity Hartford, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Trinity Hartford, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$11,054
$30,001–$48,000$13,599
$48,001–$75,000$18,325
$75,001–$110,000$24,369
$110,001+$48,515
All income levels (average)$34,832

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$70,770
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$34,832

That works out to roughly a 60% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $87,840 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
84%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
90%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$23,000 (~$244/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$90,779
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
13%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
33%
See other scholarships and cost examples

Other Trinity Hartford scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountAmount not publicly disclosedEligibilityAffinity merit award for incoming students with demonstrated Jewish leadership involvement.

Source

AmountAmount not publicly disclosedEligibilityTrinity-funded scholarship for residents of Illinois.

Trinity is one of the few East Coast LACs offering a named Illinois-resident regional award; meaningful for Chicago-area applicants.

Source

AmountAmount varies (state of Connecticut program)EligibilityConnecticut residents who meet state need and merit thresholds.

State-funded award delivered through Trinity for eligible CT students.

Source

Trinity Hartford merit aid FAQ

  • Does Trinity College in Hartford offer merit scholarships?

    Yes. Trinity publishes a three-tier competitive merit ladder: Presidential (full tuition), Bicentennial (half tuition), and 1823 (amount varies). All three are renewable for up to four years of undergraduate education.

  • Are Trinity College's merit scholarships automatic based on stats?

    No. All three named tiers are competitive merit awards — Trinity describes them in terms of 'academic excellence and exemplary leadership' (Presidential), 'remarkable promise' (Bicentennial), and 'diverse talents' (1823). Selection happens through the admission review without a separate scholarship application.

  • What does Trinity College's Presidential Scholarship cover?

    Full tuition ($72,820 for 2026-27), renewable for up to four years. It does NOT cover the $13,150 standard room, $7,180 first-year meal plan, or roughly $3,300 in fees — recipients still owe roughly $24,000/year out of pocket or through other aid.

  • How much does Trinity College (Hartford) cost?

    $96,480 for 2026-27: tuition $72,820 + general fee $2,900 + activity fee $430 + standard room $13,150 + first-year meal plan $7,180. Books, transportation, personal expenses, and health insurance are additional.

  • Is this Trinity College in Connecticut or Trinity University in Texas?

    This is Trinity COLLEGE in Hartford, Connecticut — a 2,200-student liberal arts college founded in 1823. Trinity UNIVERSITY in San Antonio, Texas is a separate institution with a different merit structure. Confirm the school you're applying to before modeling aid.

See sources and other schools

How Trinity Hartford compares

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Trinity Hartford is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Trinity Hartford’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Trinity Hartford merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Trinity Hartford fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook