Skip to content
← Back to UConn's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

UConn
Decision sheet

Connecticut · Research checked 2026-07-02 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

Connecticut's flagship public with a deep automatic merit ladder for first-year admits, two CT-only full-cost-of-attendance awards (Nutmeg, Day of Pride), and a Stamps Scholarship that adds $12,000 in enrichment on top of full COA.

More than one award path. Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 9 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Presidential Scholars Award

Fixed annual award plus a $2,500 Enrichment Award · Published award terms

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

Eligibility: Restricted to Connecticut residents who rank number one or two in their high school graduating class. No separate application — automatic with admission.

Renewal: Renewable for four years (8 semesters) with continued academic eligibility.

Other terms: UConn does not publish the precise dollar amount for the Presidential Scholars Award on its public scholarship page; the figure appears in the admission offer.

https://admissions.uconn.edu/cost-aid/scholarship

Academic Excellence Scholarship

Fixed annual amount (not publicly disclosed) · Published award terms

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

Eligibility: Automatic consideration with admission for students with a very competitive high school academic average. Open to in-state and out-of-state applicants.

Renewal: Renewable for four years with continued academic eligibility.

https://admissions.uconn.edu/cost-aid/scholarship

Husky Achievement Award

Fixed annual amount (not publicly disclosed) · Published award terms

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

Eligibility: Automatic consideration with admission for students with a very competitive high school academic average.

Renewal: Renewable for four years.

https://admissions.uconn.edu/cost-aid/scholarship

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: When total aid (including outside scholarships) exceeds Cost of Attendance or demonstrated need, UConn reduces in this published order: loans first, then work-study, then need-based grants and scholarships. Institutional grant aid is protected until self-help aid is fully removed.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/uconn/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.