Skip to content
← Back to UMW's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

UMW
Decision sheet

Virginia · Research checked 2026-06-03 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

UMW awards automatic, stat-based merit scholarships off published GPA × test grids — but the dollar amount depends heavily on residency AND whether you live on campus: in-state residential awards run up to $8,000 while the same student commuting gets as little as $500.

More than one award path. Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 4 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

In-State Merit Scholarships (Residential vs Commuter)

$500-$8,000 per year · Published range

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: 3.00-4.00 (weighted when provided) per tier · SAT: 1000-1400 per tier · ACT: 20-30 per tier

Eligibility: Virginia residents; must live on-campus to receive the Residential (higher) amount; for Fall 2026 applicants who apply, are admitted, and enroll

Renewal: Renewal terms not stated on this page.

Other terms: Full grid (Residential / Commuter): Collegiate (4.00, 1400/30) $8,000/$2,000; Presidential (4.00, 1300/27) $6,000/$2,000; Provost (3.60, 1200/25) $4,000/$1,500; Eagle (3.25, 1100/22) $3,000/$1,000; Blue & Gray (3.00, 1000/20) $2,000/$500.

https://www.umw.edu/admissions/in-state-merit-scholarship/

Out-of-State Merit Scholarships

$1,000-$9,000 per year · Published range

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: <3.00-4.00 per tier · SAT: <1000-1300 per tier · ACT: <20-27 per tier

Eligibility: Out-of-state residents; must live on campus for the full award; off-campus students may submit a waiver to receive a comparable In-State Commuter scholarship; Fall 2026 enrollees

Renewal: Renewal terms not stated on this page.

Other terms: Full grid: Presidential (4.00, 1300/27) $9,000; Provost (3.60, 1200/25) $7,000; Eagle (3.25, 1100/22) $7,000; Blue & Gray (3.00, 1000/20) $5,000; Aerie Award (<3.00, <1000/20) $1,000. Note the Aerie Award has no in-state equivalent.

https://www.umw.edu/admissions/out-of-state-merit-scholarship/

Washington Scholars Program (full ride — Virginia residents)

Full tuition, fees, room, and board · Published coverage or package

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: Legal Virginia resident; offered admission to the UMW Honors Program; full-time, residing on-campus (except up to two semesters of approved educational experiences); preference to National Merit finalists/semifinalists, valedictorians, salutatorians. Apply for admission by Nov 15 (priority); interview in March; notified by April 1.

Renewal: Renewable for up to eight total semesters (four years); enroll full-time each semester; maintain a UMW GPA of 3.25 during the first semester and 3.50 each semester thereafter.

Other terms: One or more awarded annually. Competitive; requires Honors Program admission.

https://www.umw.edu/admissions/apply/firstyear-scholarships/washington-and-alvey/

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/university-of-mary-washington/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.