Skip to content
← Back to USF's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

USF
Decision sheet

Florida · Research checked 2026-07-02 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

Florida public research university that distributes 10,000+ merit awards annually with a three-tier in-state ladder (Presidential ~$16k total, Directors, Scholars Gold) and a parallel three-tier out-of-state waiver ladder (Green & Gold Presidential ~$44k, Directors ~$36k, Scholars ~$20k) — but residency changes to Florida cancel the OOS portion outright.

Selection beyond grades and scores. These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 7 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

USF Presidential Award (Florida Resident)

Up to $4,000 per year (approximately $16,000 over 4 years) · Variable or qualified amount

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: Highest merit award for Florida residents. Based on academic excellence throughout high school. Auto-considered for all admitted Florida-resident first-year applicants who complete the application by January 15. No separate application.

Renewal: Renewable for up to 8 consecutive full-time fall/spring semesters within 4 years of coursework, or completion of bachelor's degree, whichever comes first.

Other terms: The Presidential is structured to stack with Florida Bright Futures (state lottery) — together they meaningfully close the in-state COA gap.

https://www.usf.edu/admissions/freshmen/admissions-scholarships/index.aspx

USF Directors Award (Florida Resident)

Not publicly disclosed in a per-year table; second-tier in-state award · Published award terms

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: Florida residents below Presidential threshold but with strong academic credentials. Auto-considered through admission application by January 15.

Renewal: 8 consecutive full-time fall/spring semesters within 4 years.

https://www.usf.edu/financial-aid/scholarships/terms-and-conditions/2627-tc-fsa.aspx

USF Scholars Gold Award (Florida Resident)

Not publicly disclosed in a per-year table; third-tier in-state award · Published award terms

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: Florida residents at the entry tier. Auto-considered through admission application by January 15.

Renewal: 8 consecutive full-time fall/spring semesters within 4 years.

https://www.usf.edu/financial-aid/scholarships/terms-and-conditions/2627-tc-fsa.aspx

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: USF caps total aid at the estimated cost of attendance per federal regulations. Out-of-state waivers cannot combine with one another (same tuition portion), and the OOS waiver tier is canceled outright if a student updates to Florida residency. The waiver does NOT convert to an in-state equivalent.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/university-of-south-florida/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.