These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.
Where does your student land?
Academic Merit Scholarships for First-Year Students (Pacific, President's, Provost's, Regent's, Sequoia, Tiger Excellence, Humanities, Conservatory)$10,000-$30,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
Academic Merit Scholarships for First-Year Students (Pacific, President's, Provost's, Regent's, Sequoia, Tiger Excellence, Humanities, Conservatory)
$10,000-$30,000 per year
Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Academic Merit Scholarships for First-Year Students (Pacific, President's, Provost's, Regent's, Sequoia, Tiger Excellence, Humanities, Conservatory)
Who qualifies
Accepted first-year undergraduates; determined holistically (high school attended, GPA, curriculum rigor, commitment, extracurriculars, leadership, demonstrated interest). No published GPA/test grid.
How to keep it
Renewable for up to four years (eight fall and spring semesters) with full-time enrollment (12+ units) and Satisfactory Academic Progress. Cannot be applied to professional coursework in pharmacy, dentistry, or law.
Worth knowing
All admitted students automatically considered — no separate application and FAFSA not required, EXCEPT CIP (FAFSA + separate app, need-based) and Forensic (separate app). Powell Scholarship requires a supplemental application (separate tier).
Transfer Academic Excellence Scholarship$16,000-$30,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
Transfer Academic Excellence Scholarship
$16,000-$30,000 per year
Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Transfer Academic Excellence Scholarship
Who qualifies
Academically exceptional transfer (domestic and international) students; determined holistically (transfer GPA, curriculum rigor, commitment, extracurriculars, leadership, demonstrated interest). Pacific Global transfers not eligible.
How to keep it
Generally renewable for up to a total of three years (six fall and spring semesters) with full-time enrollment and SAP. Cannot be applied to professional coursework in pharmacy, dentistry, or law.
Worth knowing
No separate application and FAFSA not required. Note the shorter 6-semester renewal window vs 8 for first-years.
Powell Scholarship (Powell Scholars Program)Amount not publishedNot automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
Powell Scholarship (Powell Scholars Program)
Amount not published
Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Powell Scholarship (Powell Scholars Program)
Who qualifies
Requires a supplemental application; honors-level program
How to keep it
Not stated on the scholarships page.
Worth knowing
The ONLY academic merit scholarship that requires a supplemental application — students are NOT automatically considered. Amount not published on the scholarships page.
Engineering Innovation Scholars$15,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
Engineering Innovation Scholars
$15,000 per year
Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Engineering Innovation Scholars
Who qualifies
Incoming first-year students in civil engineering and engineering management programs; application required
How to keep it
Renewable for up to four years.
Worth knowing
Includes a $15,000 annual scholarship plus two paid summer internships and one-on-one mentorship from a professional engineer.
MESA Scholarship Program$1,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
MESA Scholarship Program
$1,000 per year
Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
Minimum 3.00 (admission)
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for MESA Scholarship Program
Who qualifies
NEED-BASED. Plan to major in a calculus-based STEM field; participated in a MESA program in HS or community college ≥1 year before entering; complete FAFSA and be eligible for need-based aid
How to keep it
Annually renewable; requires meeting university academic requirements and SAP.
Worth knowing
Need-based (unmet need per FAFSA). Separate Google-form application for 2026-27.
Community Involvement Program (CIP) ScholarshipAmount not publishedNot automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
Community Involvement Program (CIP) Scholarship
Amount not published
Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Community Involvement Program (CIP) Scholarship
Who qualifies
NEED-BASED. First-generation college students from the Stockton community; FAFSA required; separate application via the CIP program
How to keep it
Comprehensive scholarship and retention program; specific renewal terms not stated.
Worth knowing
Need-based, not pure merit. Requires FAFSA and a separate CIP application.
Free Merit Check
Check the rules that could cut this.
The free Merit Check shows which Pacific award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.
This page covers one school.
Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.
Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.
“it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa
The fine print
Renewal ruleAcademic Merit Scholarships for First-Year Students (Pacific, President's, Provost's, Regent's, Sequoia, Tiger Excellence, Humanities, Conservatory): renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out
Renewable for up to four years (eight fall and spring semesters) with full-time enrollment (12+ units) and Satisfactory Academic Progress. Cannot be applied to professional coursework in pharmacy, dentistry, or law. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.
What makes Pacific different
Pacific automatically considers all admitted first-years for merit scholarships of $10,000-$30,000/year (holistic, no grid), but a federal COA cap means combined aid is reduced — self-help first, then scholarships/grants — once total aid exceeds the cost of attendance.
Merit tiers6See who qualifies
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team
Selection beyond grades and scores
Start with the selection process.
These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.
Read the selection rules
Look for the school's stated criteria and whether an additional application is needed.
Check the application dates
Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.
Know what happens next year
Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.
The fine print / Three questions to carry forward
Before you count on it.
Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.
Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.
Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.
A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.
See what could change an award+
What families often miss
A federal COA cap limits total aid to the cost of attendance. Self-help (loans/work-study) is reduced first, but once that's gone, scholarships and grants are reduced too — so a large outside award can shrink your Pacific aid.
Scholarships 'can only be applied to undergraduate coursework' — students lose merit eligibility once they begin graduate-level professional courses in those programs.
Renewal requires full-time enrollment (12+ units); enrolling less than full-time reduces eligibility for grants, scholarships, and loans.
Transfer merit renews for only three years (six fall/spring semesters), versus four years (eight semesters) for first-years.
Powell is the one academic merit award that requires a supplemental application — every other academic merit award is automatic with admission.
See costs and school data+
Who this school may work for
Academically strong first-years and transfers (Stockton, CA campus) who want automatic, no-application merit money; engineering, music, forensics, honors (Powell), and first-gen Stockton (CIP) students have dedicated tracks.
Published yearly cost: Approximately $78,536 for 2026-2027. Source
Cost and graduation facts
Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Pacific, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.
Average annual net price by family income at Pacific, academic year 2021-22
Family income
Average net price paid
$0–$30,000
$17,004
$30,001–$48,000
$18,152
$48,001–$75,000
$19,209
$75,001–$110,000
$24,323
$110,001+
$38,662
All income levels (average)
$25,447
Sticker price vs. what students actually pay
Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$57,080
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$25,447
That works out to roughly a 64% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $71,515 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).
Outcomes for students who enrolled here
Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
69%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
88%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$19,500 (~$207/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$78,445
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
36%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
42%
See other scholarships and cost examples+
If your student brings another scholarship
Federal COA cap: total aid (scholarships + grants + loans + work-study + outside awards) cannot exceed the cost of attendance. When the cap is hit, the Office of Financial Aid reduces self-help (loans and work-study) first 'whenever possible' before adjusting scholarships and grants — but scholarships/grants CAN be reduced once self-help is exhausted. (A separate rule found via search but not confirmable on an opened page states a Pacific grant/scholarship plus any other tuition award cannot exceed actual tuition — see Section C.)
COA cap enforced; self-help (loans/work-study) reduced before scholarships/grants. Less-than-full-time enrollment reduces aid eligibility.
These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.
AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityActive members of any United Methodist Church demonstrating academic excellence and commitment to the church; incoming and continuing students.
Do I have to apply separately for merit scholarships?
No for the main academic merit scholarships — all admitted students are automatically considered and FAFSA isn't required. Exceptions: the Powell Scholarship (supplemental application), CIP (FAFSA + separate app, need-based), and Forensic (separate application).
How much is the merit scholarship?
$10,000-$30,000/year for first-year students and $16,000-$30,000/year for transfers, determined holistically. Pacific does not publish a GPA/test grid.
How long does merit last?
Up to four years (eight fall/spring semesters) for first-years and three years (six semesters) for transfers, with full-time enrollment and SAP; it cannot be used for professional (pharmacy/dentistry/law) coursework.
Will outside scholarships reduce my aid?
Total aid can't exceed your cost of attendance. The office reduces self-help (loans/work-study) first, then scholarships/grants if needed.
See sources and other schools+
How Pacific compares
145 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use loan-first displacement.
Pacific is in a recognizable cluster (145 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.
665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Pacific is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every claim is checked against Pacific’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.