Skip to content

Villa Maria scholarships and merit aid

The short answer

Villa Maria may be worth checking, but its awards do not follow a simple grades-and-scores chart. Start with the published scholarships below.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jul 2026
1 school source to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Villa Honors ScholarshipUp to $12,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Villa Honors Scholarship

    Up to $12,000

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    High school average of 90 and above (100-point scale)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Villa Honors Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Full-time enrollment; earned an NYS Regents diploma or equivalent; pursuing a bachelor's degree

    How to keep it

    A GPA of 3.0 is required to maintain this award in subsequent years.

    Worth knowing

    Stat-keyed award, but the page does not state it is granted automatically with no application, so automaticOnStats is left false pending confirmation. 'Up to' language means $12,000 is a maximum, not a guarantee. The Regents-diploma requirement has an 'or equivalent' clause for non-NYS students.

  2. Presidential ScholarshipUp to $10,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Presidential Scholarship

    Up to $10,000

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    High school average between 85 and 89 (100-point scale)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Presidential Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Full-time enrollment

    How to keep it

    Described as an annual award; renewal GPA/criteria not published on the page — confirm with the aid office.

    Worth knowing

    No renewal criteria, Regents-diploma requirement, or degree-level restriction stated for this tier (unlike Villa Honors).

  3. Villa Merit ScholarshipUp to $8,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Villa Merit Scholarship

    Up to $8,000

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    High school average between 80 and 84 (100-point scale)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Villa Merit Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Full-time enrollment

    How to keep it

    Described as annual; renewal GPA/criteria not published — confirm with the aid office.

    Worth knowing

    Lowest published merit tier — reaches students with an 80 average.

  4. Felician Grant Scholarship (Transfer)$12,000Not automatic
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Felician Grant Scholarship (Transfer)

    $12,000

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Transfer GPA of 3.0
    Open award details for Felician Grant Scholarship (Transfer)

    Who qualifies

    Full-time student who transferred to Villa Maria College

    Renewal terms

    Stated as 'per year'; renewal criteria not published — confirm with the aid office.

    Worth knowing

    Top tier of the three-level transfer merit grid.

  5. Franciscan Grant Scholarship (Transfer)$10,000Not automatic
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Franciscan Grant Scholarship (Transfer)

    $10,000

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Transfer GPA of 2.5
    Open award details for Franciscan Grant Scholarship (Transfer)

    Who qualifies

    Full-time student who transferred to Villa Maria College

    Renewal terms

    Stated as 'per year'; renewal criteria not published — confirm with the aid office.

    Worth knowing

    Middle tier of the transfer merit grid.

  6. Founders Grant Scholarship (Transfer)$8,000Not automatic
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Founders Grant Scholarship (Transfer)

    $8,000

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Transfer GPA of 2.0
    Open award details for Founders Grant Scholarship (Transfer)

    Who qualifies

    Full-time student who transferred to Villa Maria College

    Renewal terms

    Stated as 'per year'; renewal criteria not published — confirm with the aid office.

    Worth knowing

    Entry tier of the transfer merit grid — a 2.0 transfer GPA still earns $8,000/yr.

  7. Say Yes Buffalo ScholarshipRemaining tuition balance (last-dollar; tuition only)Not automatic
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Say Yes Buffalo Scholarship

    Remaining tuition balance (last-dollar; tuition only)

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    Open award details for Say Yes Buffalo Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Students in the Say Yes Buffalo program from the Buffalo Public School system and all city charter schools

    Renewal terms

    Renewal terms not stated on the Villa page; program administered with Say Yes Buffalo.

    Worth knowing

    LAST-DOLLAR award: pays only what's left of TUITION after state, federal, and/or institutional grants and scholarships are applied. Explicitly excludes room and board, books, and other fees. Hosted/portable program award, so it gets its own tier rather than a footnote.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Villa Maria award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Villa Maria

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Outside awardsNo published displacement order

Villa Maria's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.

What makes Villa Maria different

DRAFT: Villa Maria publishes a clean three-tier freshman merit grid keyed to high school average (90+ = up to $12,000; 85–89 = up to $10,000; 80–84 = up to $8,000) plus a parallel three-tier transfer grid keyed to transfer GPA ($12,000/$10,000/$8,000 at 3.0/2.5/2.0).

Merit tiers7See who qualifies
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

Selection beyond grades and scores

Start with the selection process.

These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

  1. Read the selection rules

    Look for the school's stated criteria and whether an additional application is needed.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Villa Maria's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

Straight from the aid office

What Villa Maria's aid office says

Per the Financial Aid Office, Villa Maria College, August 2026. How we verify

How merit aid is awarded

Is merit aid automatic with admission, or is a separate application required?

Merit aid is automatically applied after an Admissions review of high school or transfer grades.

“Merit aid is automatically applied after an Admissions review of high school or transfer grades.”
Factors used for need-based aid

Is there a published need-grant formula or dollar grid?

Need-based aid is determined using a combination of the Student Aid Index (SAI) from the FAFSA, state grant eligibility, merit, and other factors, rather than a stated formula or grid.

“Villa offers need based aid using a combination of the Student's Student Aid Index (SAI) as determined by the FAFSA, state grant eligibility, merit, and other factors.”

What families often miss

  1. All three freshman merit tiers use 'up to' language (up to $12,000 / $10,000 / $8,000). The page does not publish what determines where in the range a student lands, so the headline number is a ceiling, not a promise. Ask admissions what your specific average earns.

  2. It is a last-dollar award: it 'will cover the remaining balance of a student's tuition AFTER state, federal, and/or institutional grants and scholarships have been applied' — and it 'covers tuition only and excludes room and board costs, books, and other fees.' If your other aid already covers tuition, Say Yes adds nothing.

  3. The top award requires 'A GPA of 3.0... to maintain this award in subsequent years.' Renewal criteria for the Presidential and Villa Merit tiers are NOT published — families should ask whether the same 3.0 applies before assuming an easier threshold.

  4. Every published merit tier (freshman and transfer) is explicitly for 'full-time' students. Part-time tuition is also billed differently ($915/credit hour vs. $13,765/semester full-time).

  5. The transfer grid jumps $2,000/yr at each cutoff: 2.0 GPA = $8,000 (Founders), 2.5 = $10,000 (Franciscan), 3.0 = $12,000 (Felician). A transfer GPA of 2.9 vs 3.0 is a $2,000-per-year difference.

  6. 'Applications for the esports scholarship must be submitted before starting classes' — unlike the merit awards, this one closes once you enroll.

  7. The requirement is 'an NYS Regents diploma or equivalent' — out-of-state applicants should ask what counts as equivalent rather than self-selecting down to a lower tier.

  8. Villa publishes Fall 2026 & Spring 2027 tuition of $13,765/semester ($27,530/yr) plus fees (registration $285, orientation $50, student activity $260 full-time), but no total cost-of-attendance figure including housing and food on the tuition page. Costs are marked 'subject to change.' Use the net price calculator and ask for the official COA.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

DRAFT: Arts-focused students (animation, design, music, film) with at least an 80 high school average — the merit grid reaches well below the cutoffs of most colleges — and Western New York students who can layer TAP/ETA state grants and (for Buffalo public/charter graduates) the last-dollar Say Yes tuition guarantee on top.

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Villa Maria, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Villa Maria, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$13,049
$30,001–$48,000$13,265
$48,001–$75,000$12,274
$75,001–$110,000$12,775
$110,001+$25,069
All income levels (average)$13,494

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Total cost of attendance (sticker), AY 2021-22
$36,335
Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$28,670
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$13,494

That works out to an average 63% discount off the sticker price above — both figures come from the same federal AY 2021-22 Scorecard report, not a number the school itself published.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
31%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
76%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$21,250 (~$225/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$38,857
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
79%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
37%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Villa Maria publishes no general policy on how its merit awards combine with each other or whether private outside scholarships displace institutional aid. The only published interaction rule is for the Say Yes Buffalo Scholarship, which is last-dollar: it pays only the tuition balance remaining AFTER state, federal, and institutional grants/scholarships are applied, and covers tuition only. The NYS Enhanced Tuition Award ($6,000) is described as a combination of TAP + ETA + a match from the college.

Say Yes: 'Say Yes scholarships will cover the remaining balance of a student's tuition after state, federal, and/or institutional grants and scholarships have been applied. The award covers tuition only and excludes room and board costs, books, and other fees.' ETA: 'Recipients will receive $6,000 through a combination of their TAP award, ETA award, and a match from their private college.' Nothing on the opened pages addresses private outside-scholarship displacement.

Source

Other Villa Maria scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountMinimum $500EligibilityPreferably a relative of a Villa Maria College alumnus; outstanding academic and leadership qualities

The only 'Villa Scholarships' list entry with a published dollar figure (a minimum, not a fixed amount).

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityAny high school graduate who was a Bison scholar and qualifies for admission

Details in a linked PDF (Bison-Scholarship-Program.pdf) not opened for this draft.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityDemonstrated commitment to community service and spiritual development; supports the College's Felician mission and core values

Application linked as a PDF from the scholarships page.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityBuffalo Prep program graduates

Page calls these 'generous scholarships'; no figure published.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityCurrent high school students who complete a BOCES program

No amount or criteria detail published.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityEsports participants

DEADLINE TRAP: 'Applications for the esports scholarship must be submitted before starting classes.'

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityActive members of the College's cheerleading team

Villa-funded.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityStudent-athletes 'may be eligible to apply'

Application-based, Villa-funded.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityFuture Vikings; graduate-funded

No criteria detail published.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityVaries; funded by supporters of the College

Application via linked PDF form.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityEssay on service to the College and community; winners selected on quality and content of responses

Competitive essay award.

Source

Villa Maria merit aid FAQ

  • What is the scholarship deadline?

    No deadline is published for the merit-based scholarships on the scholarships page. The exception: esports scholarship applications must be submitted before starting classes. For federal/state aid (Pell, FSEOG, TAP, ETA) you must file the FAFSA, and FSEOG requires Pell eligibility and at least 6 credit hours.

  • What high school average do I need for merit money?

    90+ average (with NYS Regents diploma or equivalent, bachelor's-degree track) = Villa Honors Scholarship, up to $12,000/yr; 85–89 = Presidential Scholarship, up to $10,000/yr; 80–84 = Villa Merit Scholarship, up to $8,000/yr. All require full-time enrollment.

  • Is there transfer merit aid?

    Yes — a published three-tier grid by transfer GPA: 3.0 = Felician Grant ($12,000/yr), 2.5 = Franciscan Grant ($10,000/yr), 2.0 = Founders Grant ($8,000/yr), all for full-time transfer students.

  • What does Villa Maria cost?

    Fall 2026 & Spring 2027 full-time tuition is $13,765 per semester ($27,530/yr); part-time is $915/credit hour. Full-time fees include registration ($285), orientation ($50), and student activity ($260). The College does not publish a single all-in cost-of-attendance total on its tuition page; 99% of students receive some form of aid and 96% receive Villa-funded grants and scholarships.

  • I'm a Buffalo public/charter school graduate — what about Say Yes?

    Say Yes Buffalo participants may receive a scholarship covering the remaining tuition balance after state, federal, and institutional aid is applied. It is tuition-only — room and board, books, and other fees are excluded.

  • What state aid can New York residents add?

    TAP (up to $5,165/yr, up to four years for full-time study) and the Enhanced Tuition Award, under which recipients receive $6,000 through a combination of TAP, the ETA award, and a match from the college.

See sources and other schools

How Villa Maria compares

  • 133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.

    Villa Maria is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.

    Villa Maria is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Villa Maria is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Villa Maria’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

  • Niagara merit aid. New York private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Fordham merit aid. New York private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • CUNY merit aid. New York public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Clarkson merit aid. New York private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.

Keep exploring Villa Maria merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Villa Maria fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook