The starting point
Wiley University (an HBCU in Marshall, TX) publishes no GPA/test merit grid; its headline award is the selective Heman Sweatt Scholars program covering up to the published cost of tuition, fees, room, and board, alongside a small $1,000 President's Promise scholarship.
Selection beyond grades and scores. These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.
Awards to discuss
The 3 awards in this school's research. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.
Heman Sweatt Scholars
Up to published cost of tuition, fees, room, and board · Variable or qualified amount
Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.
GPA: 3.75 or higher on a 4.0 scale
Eligibility: Entering freshman pursuing a first degree; commitment to Social Good and Leadership; successful essay submission and interview; current high school diploma with recorded outstanding achievement; priority consideration to students who qualify for the Federal Pell Grant by February 1 through completion of the FAFSA
Renewal: To maintain this scholarship, the student must enroll in and pass fifteen (15) semester credit hours and maintain a minimum cumulative and semester grade point average of 3.50, complete a social good project each year, and attend trainings and experiences offered by the Heman Sweatt Center for Social Good and Leadership.
Other terms: Four-year scholarship awarded by selection (not automatic). A 2023 news release described the award as 'up to $17,500 (tuition, room, and board) for four years' — the current financial aid page states it is limited to the published cost of room, board, tuition, and fees.
https://www.wileyc.edu/office-of-financial-aid
President's Promise
$1,000 · Published amount
Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.
GPA: Maintain 2.5 g.p.a
Eligibility: Remain in good conduct standing at the University; scholarship restrictions apply (restrictions not specified on the page)
Renewal: Students must maintain a 2.5 g.p.a and remain in good conduct standing at the University. Scholarship restrictions apply.
Other terms: The page says students 'are offered the opportunity to receive' this scholarship; it does not state that it is awarded automatically from entering stats.
https://www.wileyc.edu/office-of-financial-aid
Thelma Dewitty Honors Program (honors scholarships)
Amount not published · Published award terms
Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.
GPA: A minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5
Eligibility: Completed honors program application; two letters of recommendation; current résumé; two one-page essays; optional documentation of 20 community service hours
Renewal: Recorded as renewable. Full renewal conditions are not recorded here; request them from the school.
Other terms: The honors page advertises 'Generous Academic Scholarships' as a program benefit but publishes no dollar amount. Renewability of the honors scholarship itself is not stated; continuing-student admission is based on academic performance and community involvement.
https://www.wileyc.edu/thelma-dewitty-honors-program
Ask before you decide
- Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
- What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
- How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?
Recorded stacking policy: Institutional aid is capped at direct costs (tuition, fees, room and board). Pell, SEOG, and institutional AND non-institutional (outside) scholarships together cannot exceed direct costs; if they would, the school reduces institutional aid. Outside scholarships are packaged before institutional scholarships, so an outside award can shrink Wiley's own aid. Loans and work-study can stack up to the full cost of attendance.
Our unanswered questions / Family notes