388 colleges in our verified list automatically consider admitted students for merit aid, with no separate scholarship form. Pick your state to see which ones, and how many automatic tiers each one publishes.
A simple way to start
Match the student’s record. Check both grades and test scores when the school requires both.
Check the admission date. Some awards require an earlier application.
Check how long it lasts. Read the grade and credit rules before counting four years of aid.
What makes a scholarship “automatic”
An automatic merit scholarship has three defining characteristics. First, the school publishes the eligibility criteria openly, typically on the financial aid or admissions page. Second, the criteria are formulaic: a GPA floor plus a test score floor, sometimes with an additional residency or application deadline requirement. Third, there is no separate scholarship application. Once admitted, students who meet the published thresholds receive the award automatically in their financial aid package.
This is fundamentally different from competitive merit scholarships, where students apply separately, write additional essays, interview, or attend a scholars weekend. At Wake Forest, fewer than 3% of freshmen receive institutional merit and the awards are competition-based. At Boston College, only 1.4% of freshmen receive non-need merit. At Villanova, the rate is 5%. These schools do not offer automatic merit. The distinction matters because competitive merit is a lottery. Automatic merit is a calculation.
The current verified roster
The August 11, 2026 registry snapshot contains 388 verified colleges with at least one award tied to a published academic criterion or considered automatically during admission. The roster spans 50 states: 184 public universities and 204 private colleges. These counts are generated from the same verified records that power the school pages and the table below.
Start with six school pages already carrying meaningful search demand: Alabama, Arizona, LSU, Ole Miss, Kentucky, and Ohio State. Each page shows the full ladder and source set instead of only the sample awards in the national table.
National Merit status follows a different kind of published rule. Use the National Merit scholarship college guide to compare Finalist, Semifinalist, and Commended awards and the first-choice requirements attached to them.
Public universities with published automatic tiers
Public flagships dominate the automatic-merit category because state legislatures fund them on enrollment volume, and merit tiers are the primary tool for attracting out-of-state students who pay higher tuition.
University of Alabama
Alabama runs one of the most transparent automatic-merit systems in the country. Tiers range from the Crimson Achievement Award at $6,000 per year to the Presidential Elite Scholar package covering full tuition plus housing plus a supplemental stipend. The thresholds are published by SAT and ACT score bands, with GPA minimums. A student with a 1400 SAT and a 3.5 GPA locks in a different tier than one with a 1490 SAT and a 3.8 GPA. Alabama awards automatically on admission. No separate application. See the full breakdown on the Alabama merit aid page.
Arizona State University (Barrett Honors)
ASU’s automatic merit tiers are published for both in-state and out-of-state students, with higher awards for Barrett Honors College admits. The New American University Scholars program and the Provost’s Award have different thresholds by residency. Barrett admission itself adds access to additional scholarship pools. A 1350 SAT out-of-state student can see $10,000 to $15,000 per year in automatic merit before Barrett-specific awards.
University of Mississippi (Ole Miss)
Ole Miss publishes automatic merit tiers ranging from the Academic Excellence Scholarship to the Provost’s Scholarship, scaled by ACT/SAT and GPA. The top tier covers full tuition for out-of-state students. Ole Miss also runs a loan-first displacement policy, which means outside scholarships add dollar-for-dollar rather than replacing institutional grants. That combination of automatic merit plus loan-first stacking makes Ole Miss one of the most financially predictable schools on any merit-focused college list.
Michigan State University
Michigan State publishes the most accessible guaranteed floor in the Big Ten: out-of-state applicants with a 3.4+ GPA on a 4.0 scale are guaranteed a minimum $7,000 per year through the 1855 Scholarship, assigned automatically off the admission application. Stronger records land the Dean’s ($10,000), Provost’s ($12,000), or President’s ($15,000) tier, and Honors College invitees can stack another $5,000 to $13,000 per year on top. See the full ladder on the Michigan State merit aid page.
University of Oklahoma
Oklahoma publishes full automatic ladders for residents and non-residents, keyed to ACT/SAT plus GPA: non-resident tiers run from $10,000 per year at a 24 ACT up to the $17,000 Award of Excellence at a 31 ACT, and OU’s National Merit Finalist packages are published component by component. Details on the Oklahoma merit aid page.
Other public flagships with clear automatic tiers
Mississippi State publishes automatic tiers by ACT band with separate rates for in-state and out-of-state students. Auburn runs automatic Academic Scholarships at multiple tiers. Oklahoma State publishes freshman academic scholarships by test score band. Kentucky publishes the William C. Parker Scholarship and Otis A. Singletary Scholarship tiers. The University of Arizona runs the Arizona Tuition Award, Wildcat Tuition Award, and President’s Saguaro Scholars Award on published stat thresholds. UNLV offers its Signature scholarship automatically at admission (the amount varies rather than following a published grid) and charges western-state students 150% of in-state tuition through WUE at published GPA/test gates.
Flagships families assume are automatic, but aren’t
The label matters in both directions. Texas A&M runs no stat-automatic ladder: its named academic awards (President’s Endowed, Lechner, McFadden) are holistic, and the guaranteed exception is the National Merit package. Florida State automatically considers every admitted student but publishes no fixed GPA/test table for its own awards; the published grids that apply there belong to Florida’s state Bright Futures program.
Private universities with automatic or semi-automatic merit
Fewer private schools publish exact automatic tiers, but several run systems that are functionally automatic based on stats at admission.
SMU
SMU awards the Provost Scholar ($30,000/year), President’s Scholar ($25,000/year), and Dean’s Scholar ($20,000/year) tiers automatically based on stats, though the exact GPA/test score cutoffs are not published. The awards appear in the admission letter. Departmental merit from Meadows School of the Arts and Dedman College can stack on top. See the SMU merit aid page for the full stacking analysis.
TCU
TCU publishes scholarship names and dollar amounts (Chancellor’s Scholarship at $28,000/year, Dean’s Scholarship at $22,000/year, Faculty Scholarship at $18,000/year) but does not publish the exact GPA and test score thresholds. Admitted students are considered automatically, with no separate scholarship application. The practical effect is the same as an automatic tier system, even though TCU frames it as “holistic.”
Baylor
Baylor uses a single holistic merit award rather than named tiers. There are no published threshold tables. The Regents Gold Scholarship covers full tuition for the top tier, but Baylor does not disclose the stat cutoff. Most students receive a single scholarship amount with their admission letter. The opacity makes Baylor harder to model than Alabama or SMU, but the award is still automatic in the sense that no separate scholarship application is required.
Liberty University
Liberty publishes clear automatic merit tiers for residential students based on GPA and SAT/ACT. The Academic Scholarship tiers are straightforward and predictable. Liberty also stacks institutional merit with federal and state aid up to the published Cost of Attendance.
Pepperdine
Pepperdine runs an automatic merit floor starting at approximately $16,000 per year for students with a 3.60 GPA or higher. The top-tier Regents Scholars Program runs $40,000 to $45,000 per year but requires test score submission even though Pepperdine is test-optional for admission. That disconnect between admission requirements and merit requirements is a common trap at semi-automatic schools.
Every verified school with automatic merit, in one table
These are the 388 schools in our verified database that automatically consider every admitted student for merit aid, with no separate scholarship application to fill out. 184 are public universities and 204 are private colleges. Most publish GPA and test-score tiers you can calculate before you apply; the rest consider your academic record at admission automatically, without publishing the cutoffs. Every figure below is drawn verbatim from that school's own verified merit-aid page, where the official source and last-verified date are listed; the awards shown are samples, and each school links to its full published ladder, renewal rules, and stacking policy.
President's Scholarship (Full-Ride): Full tuition and feesExcellence Scholarships: Up to $2,000 annuallyEmpowerment Scholarships: Up to $2,000 Annually
Spirit of Auburn Presidential Excellence Award: Full tuition and fees (approximately $13,572/year for 2026-2027)Spirit of Auburn Presidential Scholarship: $11,000/year ($44,000 over 4 years)Spirit of Auburn Founders Scholarship: $9,000/year ($36,000 over 4 years)+5 more on the school page
Outstanding Scholars Award: $10,000 per year ($40,000 over 4 years)Principal Scholarship: $9,000 per year ($36,000 over 4 years)Vice Principal Scholarship: $8,000 per year ($32,000 over 4 years)+5 more on the school page
Gamecock Achievement (GPA-based): $6,000–$8,000/yearGamecock Success (GPA-based): $4,000–$5,000/yearGamecock Opportunity (GPA-based): $1,000–$3,000/year+10 more on the school page
Freshman Admission Act23 24 Gpa 300 349: $3,000Freshman Admission Act25 26 Gpa 350 374: $4,000Jaguar Achievement Test Optional: $2,000++17 more on the school page
GOLD — Platinum: $8,125 per semester / $16,250 per year / $65,000 total over 4 yearsGOLD — Premier 2: $6,000 per semester / $12,000 per year / $48,000 total over 4 yearsGOLD — Prestige 2: $5,000 per semester / $10,000 per year / $40,000 total over 4 years+10 more on the school page
Crosland Scholarship: Average $17,500 per yearMarion Scholarship: Average $13,000 per yearMarvin Mann Academic Excellence Scholarship: Up to $10,000 per year+1 more on the school page
Distinguished Presidential Scholarship: Full tuition, room/board, fees, and $300 eBook voucherUniversity Merit Scholarship: Full tuitionUniversity Achievement Scholarship: $10,000+5 more on the school page
UA Scholars Award (statewide University of Alaska award administered at UAS): $15,000 total ($1,875 per semester for eight semesters)Alaska Performance Scholarship (statewide award administered at UAS): Up to $7,000 per year (Level 1), $5,250 per year (Level 2), or $3,500 per year (Level 3)+1 more on the school page
Nanook Pledge Scholarship — Alaska Resident rate: $2,000-$4,000/year ($8,000-$16,000 over four years)Nanook Pledge Scholarship — Non-Resident rate: $5,000-$12,000/year first-year ($20,000-$48,000 over four years)Nanook Pledge Scholarship — WUE rate: $1,000-$8,000/year first-year ($4,000-$32,000 over four years)+3 more on the school page
NAMU President's Scholarship (non-resident): $17,500/year ($70,000 over 4 years)NAMU Provost's Scholarship (non-resident): $15,500/year ($62,000 over 4 years)NAMU Dean's Scholarship (non-resident): $13,500/year ($54,000 over 4 years)+3 more on the school page
Extended States NRTA — 80% Tier: Pays 80% of the difference between out-of-state and in-state tuition (~$16,843/year)Extended States NRTA — 50% Tier: Pays 50% of the difference between out-of-state and in-state tuition (~$10,527/year)Chancellor's Merit Scholarship (National Merit Finalists): $12,000/year ($48,000 over four years)+3 more on the school page
Distinguished Freshman Scholarship: Full tuitionAcademic Scholarship grid — Living on Campus (freshman): $1,000-$6,000 per yearAcademic Scholarship grid — Commuters (freshman): $750-$3,000 per year+1 more on the school page
Academic Achievement Scholarship: $7,000 to $11,000 per yearNational Merit Semifinalist Scholarship: Full undergraduate tuitionNational Merit Finalist Scholarship: Full undergraduate tuition and a $2,000 annual stipend
Assured Merit Award (first-time students): $6,000-$13,000 per yearAssured Merit Award (transfer students): $6,000-$13,000 per yearJBU National Merit Award: $17,000
President's Scholarship: $80,000 4-year value ($20,000/year)Founder's Scholarship: $68,000 4-year value ($17,000/year)Dean's Scholarship: $60,000 4-year value ($15,000/year)+3 more on the school page
Freshman Academic Scholarship (President's tier): $24,500 per yearFreshman Academic Scholarship (Provost's tier): $23,500 per yearFreshman Academic Scholarship (Dean's tier): $22,500 per year+3 more on the school page
President's Gold Scholarship: $24,000 per yearPresident's Green Scholarship: $21,000 per yearTrustee's Scholarship: $18,000 per year+6 more on the school page
Green & Gold (non-resident) — 4.0+: $16,000 per year (covers ~44% of tuition/fees)Green & Gold (non-resident) — 3.80–3.99: $12,000 per year (~33% of tuition/fees)Green & Gold (non-resident) — 3.60–3.79: $10,000 per year (~28% of tuition/fees)+4 more on the school page
Presidential Scholar (Automatic Merit): $8,000 per yearDistinguished Scholar (Automatic Merit): $5,000 per yearPromising Scholar (Automatic Merit): $3,000 per year+5 more on the school page
Colorado Scholars Award (in-state, 4.0+): Total $8,000 (an additional $3,000 on top of the in-state Presidential base)Presidential Tuition Scholarship (in-state): $5,000 per year (in-state)Provost's Tuition Scholarship (in-state): $4,000 per year (in-state)+5 more on the school page
Central Merit Scholarship (Top Tier): $3,500 per yearCentral Merit Scholarship: $2,500 per yearCentral Merit Scholarship: $2,000 per year+2 more on the school page
Presidential Scholars Award: Fixed annual award plus a $2,500 Enrichment AwardAcademic Excellence Scholarship: Fixed annual amount (not publicly disclosed)Husky Achievement Award: Fixed annual amount (not publicly disclosed)+3 more on the school page
Florida Bright Futures — Florida Academic Scholars: 100% of tuition and applicable fees (calculated at $212.71 per registered credit hour for 2025-26)Florida Bright Futures — Florida Medallion Scholars: 75% of tuition and applicable fees (calculated at $159.53 per registered credit hour for 2025-26)+1 more on the school page
Vires Scholarship (Florida residents): $16,000 total ($2,000 per semester for 8 semesters)IB Diploma Scholarship: $8,000 total ($1,000 per semester for 8 semesters)Bright Futures Florida Medallion Scholars (Florida residents): $160.16 per credit hour (covers ~75% of standard FSU in-state tuition and applicable fees)+4 more on the school page
Benacquisto Scholarship Program (National Merit Finalists): Full cost of attendance (gift aid from multiple sources)All-Florida Academic Team Award (transfer): $2,000 per yearPhi Theta Kappa (PTK) Award (transfer): $1,000 per year+1 more on the school page
UF Online Reduced Tuition (structural, all Florida-resident UF Online students): 75% of standard in-state tuition ($129.18 per credit hour total tuition + required fees)
E.T. Roux Scholarship: $10,000-$14,000 per yearEdna Mae Pearce Lockett Scholarship: $12,500-$17,000 per yearThad G. Buckner Scholarship: $14,000-$18,500 per year+4 more on the school page
Academic Achievement Scholarship (First-Year): $18,000-$27,000 per yearTransfer Scholarship: $11,000-$18,000 per year (GPA grid)International Student Grant: Up to $27,000
JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 1: $30,000 – $33,000 per yearJU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 2: $26,000 – $29,999 per yearJU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 3: $23,000 – $25,999 per year+3 more on the school page
HOPE Scholarship (Georgia residents): $5,256/semester at full-time 15-credit enrollment ($10,512/year max for 2025-26)Zell Miller Scholarship (Georgia residents): 100% of standard in-state tuition rate (up to $10,512/year for 2025-26)
4-Year Academic Scholarship — New Freshman: Quarter tuition ($618/semester) to Full tuition ($2,472/semester) (2025-2026 amounts)4-Year Academic Scholarship — Transfer Students: Quarter tuition ($618/semester) to Full tuition ($2,472/semester) (2025-2026 amounts)Academic Scholarship — Current BYU-Idaho Students (1-Year): Quarter tuition ($618/semester) to Full tuition ($2,472/semester) (2025-2026 amounts)
NNU Merit Scholarship (Fall 2026 automatic grid): $14,000-$22,000 per yearChristian Education Partner Scholarship: $4,000 per year (on campus) / $2,000 per year (off campus)Transfer Merit Scholarship: $9,000-$18,000 per year
Trustee Scholarship: $25,000 per year (2026-2027)President Scholarship: $23,000 per year (2026-2027)Provost Scholarship: $20,000 per year (2026-2027)+3 more on the school page
21st Century Scholars Textbook Scholarship: $500Academic Excellence Scholarship: $3,000Child Of Alumni Textbook Scholarship: $100+8 more on the school page
Purdue Fort Wayne Scholarship (automatic academic scholarship): In-state: $500-$2,000/yr; Out-of-state: $500-$3,000/yr; Transfer: $750-$1,500/yrOhio Reciprocity Program (automatic tuition rate): In-state tuition rate (vs higher nonresident rate)Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP) / Contiguous States Program (automatic tuition rate): Tuition at 150% of the in-state rate
Academic Merit Scholarships (weighted-GPA grid): $20,000-$36,000Campus Visit Award: $4,000-$6,000 (first year)National Pell Promise: Full tuition+1 more on the school page
Academic Scholarships — First-Year Students (Director's Award through Presidential Scholarship): $12,000-$24,000Academic Scholarships — Transfer Students (Director's Award through Presidential Scholarship): $12,000-$24,000
National Scholars Award (out-of-state): $2,000 – $15,000 per year for up to 4 yearsIowa Scholars Award (in-state): $500 – $8,500 per year for up to 4 yearsIowa Flagship Award: Award amounts and tier structure published per admission cycle
KU Excellence (non-resident): $16,000 per year ($64,000 total)KU Distinction (non-resident): $14,000 per year ($56,000 total)KU Achievement (non-resident): $12,000 per year ($48,000 total)+7 more on the school page
University Scholar Award (Kansas resident): $5,500/year ($22,000 total)Royal Purple Scholarship (Kansas resident): $4,000/year ($16,000 total)Wildcat Traditions Scholarship (Kansas resident): $2,500/year ($10,000 total)+6 more on the school page
Regent's Award (Eastern Experience): $9,000President's Award (Eastern Experience): $7,000One Eastern Award (Eastern Experience): $5,000+6 more on the school page
Provost Scholarship (Kentucky residents): $2,500/year at 3.30 GPA + 26 ACT / 1230 SAT; $5,000/year at 3.30 GPA + 28 ACT / 1300 SATBluegrass Spirit Scholarship (non-resident): $5,000 / $8,000 / $10,000 / $12,500 per year across four subtiers+1 more on the school page
Border Benefit Award (base): $16,000 per yearBorder Benefit Award (top stacked tier): $21,000 per year ($16,000 base + $5,000)Regional Scholars Program: $12,000–$16,000 per year+2 more on the school page
Academic Scholarship — Tier 1 (3.80–4.00 GPA + 30 ACT / 1360 SAT): $7,500 per year | $30,000 total over four yearsAcademic Scholarship — Tier 2 (3.80–4.00 GPA, no test score required): $3,500 per year | $14,000 total over four yearsAcademic Scholarship — Tier 3 (3.50–3.79 GPA): $2,500 per year | $10,000 total over four years+11 more on the school page
Transfer Academic Achievement Scholarship: $1,000 per year (plus $9,023/year Out of State Waiver for graduates of out-of-state institutions)+2 more on the school page
President's Scholarship: Starts at $30,000/yearDean's Scholarship: Starts at $25,000/yearTrustee's Scholarship: Starts at $20,000/year+1 more on the school page
Xavier University Academic Scholarships: Varied amounts up to full tuition per yearBoard of Trustees Scholarship: Full tuition, mandatory student fees, and room and boardPresident's Scholarship: Full tuition and a full housing allowance+1 more on the school page
Flagship Match Commitment (first-year, out-of-state) — Flagship Scholars Commitment Program: $13,583 to $19,311 per yearFlagship Leaders Commitment (first-year, out-of-state): $9,000-$12,000 per yearMaine Scholarship Commitment Program (first-year, Maine residents / Canadian students) — applied by Dec. 1: $2,000-$9,000 per year+1 more on the school page
Merit Scholarship — Incoming First-Year Students: $13,000-$28,000Merit Scholarship — Incoming Transfer Students: $9,000-$24,000Merit Scholarship — Incoming Accelerated B.S. in Nursing Students: $10,000-$20,000+1 more on the school page
Presidential Scholarship: $39,000–$41,000 per year (2026-27)Dean's Scholarship: $37,000–$38,000 per year (2026-27)Loyola Scholarship: $35,000–$36,000 per year (2026-27)
Trustees' Scholar Award: $22,000 per yearPresident's Scholar Award: $20,000 per yearProvost's Scholar Award: $18,000 per year+2 more on the school page
MSU President's Scholarship: $15,000 per yearMSU Provost's Scholarship: $12,000 per yearMSU Dean's Scholarship: $10,000 per year+1 more on the school page
Presidential Scholars Program (Michigan residents): $1,000-$5,500 per yearNational Scholars Program (non-Michigan residents): $11,000-$18,000 per yearMichigan Tech Transfer Scholarship (Michigan residents): $2,000-$4,000 per year+2 more on the school page
Trustee Scholarship: $22,000 per yearPresidential Scholarship: $14,000+ per yearDistinguished Scholar Award: $12,000 per year+3 more on the school page
Maroon & Gold Scholarship: $2,000 – $12,000 per year for 4 yearsNational Scholarship: $2,500, $5,000, $10,000, $15,000, or $20,000 per year for 4 yearsPresidential Scholarship: $1,000 – $10,000 per year for 4 years+1 more on the school page
Gold Scholarship (academic merit tier): $25,000 per yearThree Crowns Scholarship (academic merit tier): $31,000 per yearDean's Scholarship (academic merit tier): $35,000 per year+2 more on the school page
Macalester Merit Scholarship (general): Average $19,195 per year for 2025-26 (varies by recipient)Macalester College National Merit Scholarship: Macalester-sponsored National Merit award
Freshman Academic Excellence Scholarship (Mississippi residents): $1,000–$10,500/year based on HS GPA × ACT grid (see notes for full chart)+1 more on the school page
Academic Merit Scholarship (Mississippi residents): $1,000–$10,278/year based on ACT and GPA (see notes for full chart)1848 Award (Mississippi resident supplement): $2,000/year at 3.5 GPA + 23–28 ACT; $4,000/year at 3.5 GPA + 29+ ACTAcademic Merit Scholarship (non-residents): $3,000–$20,160/year based on GPA × ACT grid (see notes for full chart)+2 more on the school page
Academic Excellence Gpa325 Act31: $10,000Academic Excellence Gpa325 Act32 Fulltuition: Full tuitionAcademic Excellence Gpa325 Act20: $1,500+11 more on the school page
President's Scholarship for First-Year Students: $17,000-$17,500 per yearDean's Scholarship for First-Year Students: $15,000-$17,000 per yearAchievement Grant for First-Year Students: $14,000-$15,500 per year+3 more on the school page
Academic Scholarships — First-Time Freshmen and First-Time International Students (Trustee / Presidential / Dean / Opportunity): $2,900-$10,100Academic Scholarships — Transfer Students (PTK Distinction / Presidential / Dean / Opportunity): $2,900-$9,800
Freshman Red and Black Scholarship: $1,500-$4,000 per yearACT Excellence Scholarship: $1,000 per yearDual Credit Scholarship: $1,000 per year ($500 per semester)
Mark Twain Level 1 (Nonresident): $21,500/yearMark Twain Level 2 (Nonresident): $8,500/yearBorder State Award (Nonresident): $3,000/year+5 more on the school page
Freshman Red and Black Scholarship (Starting Fall 2026): $1,500-$4,000 per year (by cumulative HS GPA)ACT Excellence Scholarship (Starting Fall 2026): $1,000 per yearNon-Resident Scholar Award: 25%, 50%, or 100% of non-resident fees (by GPA/ACT)
Avila Achievement Scholarship: $25,000 - $30,000 per yearTransfer Presidential Scholarship: $25,000 per yearTransfer Achievement Scholarship: $21,000 - $24,000 per year
Vice Presidents' Scholarship: Up to $19,500 per semester (up to ~$39,000 per year, up to $195,000 over 10 semesters)University Scholarship: Up to $17,500 per semester (up to ~$35,000 per year)Ignatian Scholarship: Up to $16,500 per semester (up to ~$33,000 per year)+2 more on the school page
Academic Scholarship (auto-renewable merit award): $18,000 to $24,000 per yearIB Diploma Scholarship (top academic tier): $24,000 per yearTransfer Presidential Scholarship: $22,000/ year+3 more on the school page
Yellowjacket Excellence Scholarship — University Campus: $1,000-$3,000 per yearYellowjacket Excellence Scholarship — City College: $500-$1,000 per year
Merit Scholarship Program — top tier (in-state): $2,500 per yearMerit Scholarship Program — middle tier (in-state): $1,500 per yearMerit Scholarship Program — base tier (in-state): $1,000 per year
UM Academic Achievement Scholarship (UMAAS) — In-State Incoming Freshman Grid: $1,000-$4,000UMAAS — Out-of-State Incoming Freshman Grid: $5,000-$18,000UMAAS — In-State Transfer Grid: $1,500-$2,500+1 more on the school page
Chancellor's Tuition Scholarship (in-state): Up to $8,000/year (up to $4,000/semester) toward UNL tuition for up to four years+1 more on the school page
Presidential Scholar: Full Cost of Attendance plus a $5,000 annual stipendRegents Scholarship: Full Tuition AND room waiver for campus housingUNK Chancellor's Scholarship: $7,000 toward tuition and $2,000 toward campus housing, annually+3 more on the school page
Scorpion Academic Scholarship — First-Year/Freshmen (2026 HS Graduates): $2,000-$4,000 per yearScorpion Academic Scholarship — NSHE Community College Graduates (2026): $2,000-$4,000 per year
President's Award: $5,500–$6,500 per year (NH) / $9,000 per year (out-of-state)Dean's Award: $4,500–$5,000 per year (NH) / $8,000–$8,500 per year (out-of-state)Enrichment Award: $3,000 per year (NH) / $5,000–$7,500 per year (out-of-state)+1 more on the school page
Trustee's Scholarship: Up to $11,000/yr (NH resident) / Up to $20,000/yr (non-resident)Chancellor's Scholarship: Up to $9,000/yr (NH resident) / Up to $15,000/yr (non-resident)Presidential Scholarship: Up to $7,000/yr (NH resident) / Up to $12,000/yr (non-resident)+2 more on the school page
New Mexico Freshman Academic Scholarship (In-State grid): $2,600-$5,400 per academic yearENMU Greyhound Starter Scholarship: Tuition for your first semesterFreshman Hound Housing Room Grant: $3,000 per academic year+1 more on the school page
Woodward Scholars (New Mexico Resident): $4,000 per yearUNM Achievers (New Mexico Resident): $2,000 per yearBridge to Success (New Mexico Resident, first semester only): $1,000 for the first semester of the freshman year+5 more on the school page
Presidential Scholarship: $5,000 per yearState-Line Presidential Scholarship: $5,000 per yearOrange and Blue Scholarship: $3,000 per year+1 more on the school page
President's Scholarship: $5,000 per year (maximum 4-year value $20,000)Dean's Scholarship: $3,000 per year (maximum 4-year value $12,000)Provost's Scholarship: $2,000 per year (maximum 4-year value $8,000)+2 more on the school page
Cardinal Scholarship (Other Regions): $3,500 per yearNorth Country Scholarship: $3,500 per yearCardinal NYC Scholarship: $3,500 per year+1 more on the school page
Room Grant For Out Of State First Year Students: $2,500Ualbany Scholarship For New York State Transfer Students: $1,500Ualbany Scholarship For Out Of State First Year Students: $10,000+3 more on the school page
First Year Catamount Commitment (Award Level 1): $1,000 per year ($4,000 total)First Year Catamount Commitment (Award Level 2): $2,000 per year ($8,000 total)First Year Catamount Commitment (Award Level 3): $3,000 per year ($12,000 total)
Presidential Founders Scholarship: $40,000–Full Tuition per yearPresidential Fellowships: $12,000–$20,000 per yearPresidential Scholarships: $10,000–$17,000 per year+1 more on the school page
Academic Excellence Scholarship: $2,500-$10,000 over four yearsAutomatic 4-Year Award (DISCONTINUED for new freshmen — renewal only): $8,000-$12,000 over four years (legacy grid)
UND Freshman Scholarship — Top Tier: $14,000 ($3,500/year for a maximum of 4 years)UND Freshman Scholarship — Mid Tier: $11,000 ($2,750/year for a maximum of 4 years)UND Freshman Scholarship — Entry Tier: $1,500 (non-renewable, one-time)+2 more on the school page
Merit Scholarship — 4.30+ Tier: Starting at $8,000/year (Ohio/Reciprocal resident); starting at $20,000/year (non-resident)Merit Scholarship — 3.95-4.29 Tier: Starting at $5,000/year (Ohio/Reciprocal resident); starting at $13,000/year (non-resident)Merit Scholarship — 3.75-3.94 Tier: Starting at $4,000/year (Ohio/Reciprocal resident); starting at $11,000/year (non-resident)+1 more on the school page
President's Ohio Scholarship Program: Full cost of attendance + $5,000 enrichment grant (accessible after first year)National Buckeye Scholarship: Up to $13,500/year (up to $54,000 four-year value)Maximus, Provost, and Trustees Scholarships: $1,000–$3,000/year ($4,000–$12,000 four-year value)
OHIO Excellence Scholarship: Award amounts vary according to academic meritOHIO Trustee Award (Out-of-State): Variable amount based on academic meritOHIO Admission Promise Award: $2,000 renewable per year+1 more on the school page
The Main Street Scholarship: $20,000 per year (minimum $80,000 over four years)Capital Merit Scholarship — 1830 Award (3.0-3.19 GPA): $2,000 per year (stacks with Main Street for $22,000/yr)Capital Merit Scholarship — Dean's Award (3.2-3.49 GPA): $4,000 per year (stacks with Main Street for $24,000/yr)+3 more on the school page
Father Chaminade Scholarship: $17,000–$19,000 per yearDeans' Merit Scholarship: $21,000–$23,000 per yearPresident's Merit Scholarship: $26,000–$29,000 per year+1 more on the school page
First-Year Scholarships, Fall 2026 and Spring 2027 (1835 Founders / Marietta Distinction / Compass / Riverside / Pioneer): $14,000-$26,000Transfer Scholarships, Fall 2026 and Spring 2027: $14,000-$24,000International Scholarships, Fall 2026 and Spring 2027: $14,000-$26,000
Non-Resident National Merit Semifinalist Scholarship: $68,000 total ($17,000/year × 4 years)Non-Resident Award of Excellence: $68,000 total ($17,000/year × 4 years)Non-Resident Distinguished Scholar: $60,000 total ($15,000/year × 4 years)+14 more on the school page
Academic Grant: $15,000 per year ($60,000 over four years)President's Academic: $16,000 per year ($64,000 over four years)Trustee's Academic: $17,000 per year ($68,000 over four years)+1 more on the school page
OCU Academic Merit Scholarship — Presidential Academic Award (Arts & Sciences, Business or Nursing): $13,000/yrOCU Academic Merit Scholarship — University Academic Award (Arts & Sciences, Business or Nursing): $10,500/yrOCU Academic Merit Scholarship — Achievement Academic Award (Arts & Sciences, Business or Nursing): $8,000/yr+3 more on the school page
University Scholar Award (2025-26 reference grid): $1,000-$3,000 per year (up to $12,000 over four years)University Achievement Award: $500-$1,250 per year (up to $3,500 over four years)
George Fox Merit Scholarship (First-Year, Fall 2026): $18,000-$24,000 per yearGeorge Fox Merit Scholarship (Transfer, Fall 2026 & Spring 2027): $8,000-$16,000 per year
Merit Scholarships — First Time Freshmen (Fall 2026/Spring 2027): $16,000-$25,000Merit Scholarships — Transfer Students (Fall 2026/Spring 2027): $14,000-$19,000
Guaranteed Admission Program merit award: Minimum $30,000 over four years ($120,000 value) + $5,000/yr excellence award ($20,000 value)+1 more on the school page
A.J. Drexel Scholarship (ED/EA round): $20,000–$35,000 per year for Early Decision and Early Action admits (Fall 2026)A.J. Drexel Scholarship (Regular Decision round): $10,000–$35,000 per year for Regular Decision admits (Fall 2026)
Presidential Scholarship: $6,000 per year (in-state) / $19,662 per year (out-of-state)President's Scholar Award: $5,000 per year (in-state) / $13,000 per year (out-of-state)Provost's Scholar Award: $4,000 per year (in-state) / $10,000 per year (out-of-state)+3 more on the school page
President's Award — In-State: $6,000/yearPresident's Award — Out-of-State: $4,000/year + $8,000 abatementTrustee's Award — In-State: $4,500/year+5 more on the school page
SC HOPE Scholarship (SC state portable — first-time freshman only): $2,800/yearSC LIFE Scholarship (SC state portable): $5,000/year (up to $7,500/year with STEM Enhancement)SC Palmetto Fellows Scholarship (SC state portable): $6,700/year (freshman); $7,500/year (soph/jr/sr); up to $10,000/year with STEM Enhancement
Winthrop Premier Scholarship (In-State): $8,000 per year ($32,000 four-year value)Winthrop Gold Scholarship (In-State): $6,500 per year ($26,000 four-year value)Winthrop Garnet Scholarship (In-State): $5,000 per year ($20,000 four-year value)+7 more on the school page
Bell Tower Scholarship: Variable, awarded across a tier ladder based on academic achievement and potentialNational Merit Scholarship: $2,000 per year (university-sponsored, renewable)
WolfPACT unleashed — Test optional grid (no test score, or below 20 ACT / 1030 SAT): $4,000-$8,000 total over four yearsWolfPACT unleashed — ACT 28-36 / SAT 1300+ grid: $10,000-$16,000 total over four yearsWolfPACT unleashed — ACT 24-27 / SAT 1160-1290 grid: $7,000-$9,000 total over four years+2 more on the school page
Out-of-State Volunteer Scholarship — Top Tier: $18,000/year ($72,000 over four years)Out-of-State Volunteer Scholarship — Middle Tier: $9,000/year ($36,000 over four years)Out-of-State Volunteer Scholarship — Entry Tier: $3,000/year ($12,000 over four years)+5 more on the school page
The TSU Renaissance: $5,500 (in-state) / $8,500 (out-of-state) per yearThe 1912 Heritage: $4,500 (in-state) / $6,500 (out-of-state) per yearThe TSU Torch Scholars: $3,500 (in-state) / $4,500 (out-of-state) per year+3 more on the school page
Merit Scholarships: $4,000-$12,000 per yearTrustees' Scholarship: $18,000 per yearTransfer Scholarships: $1,000-$7,000 per year (college-GPA basis); merit basis $2,000-$12,000
Ignite Scholarship (general merit): Starts at $2,000 per yearDean's Scholarship (general merit): Starts at $5,000 per yearPresidential Scholarship (general merit): Starts at $7,500 per year
Vice-Chancellor's Scholarship: Full tuition, fees, room and board annually (1 awarded per class)Benedict Scholarship: Full tuition, fees, room and board annually (2 awarded per class)Wilkins Scholarship: $5,000 in addition to the recipient's EQB Award annually+1 more on the school page
University Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award): $11,000 per year on campus / $8,000 per year off campusDean's Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award): $12,000 per year on campus / $9,000 per year off campusProvost's Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award): $15,000 per year on campus / $11,000 per year off campus+2 more on the school page
Presidential Scholarship: $5,000/semester x up to 8 long semesters ($20,000 total value)Blue and Gold Freshman Scholarship — Tier 1: $2,000/semester x up to 8 long semesters ($8,000 total value)Blue and Gold Freshman Scholarship — Tier 2: $1,500/semester x up to 8 long semesters ($6,000 total value)+4 more on the school page
Freshmen Scholar (general academic merit): $3,500 per yearFreshmen Distinction (general academic merit): $2,500 per yearFreshmen Excellence (general academic merit): $2,000 per year+8 more on the school page
UNT Excellence Scholarship — Top 1% class rank: $8,000–$12,000 per yearUNT Excellence Scholarship — Top 5% class rank: $6,000–$10,000 per yearUNT Excellence Scholarship — Top 10% class rank: $5,000–$8,000 per year+1 more on the school page
The Regents' Student Merit Scholarship: Tuition and mandatory fees, on-campus housing, meals and books ($600 per semester)Presidential Academic Scholarship: $11,400.00 per year
President's Honor Scholarship: $12,000 per year ($48,000 over 4 years)Texas State Achievement Scholarship: $6,000–$8,000 per year ($24,000–$32,000 over 4 years)Texas State Distinguished Scholarship: $4,000–$5,000 per year ($16,000–$20,000 over 4 years)
Presidential Merit Scholarship — 4.0 GPA × 1500-1600 SAT / 34-36 ACT: $9,000 per yearPresidential Merit Scholarship — 3.85-3.76 GPA × 1500-1600 SAT / 34-36 ACT: $7,000 per yearPresidential Merit Scholarship — 4.0 GPA × 1100-1190 SAT / 22-24 ACT: $5,000 per year+1 more on the school page
Trustees' Scholarship: $18,000 – $30,000 annuallyMurchison Scholarship: $18,000 – $30,000 annuallyDean's Scholarship: Merit award; Trinity does not publish a specific dollar amount publicly.+2 more on the school page
President John R. Park Scholarship: $10,000 per yearProvost's Scholarship: $8,000 per yearBonneville Scholarship: $6,000 per year+3 more on the school page
Resident Academic Merit — Presidential: Full tuition and general student fees (resident)Resident Academic Merit — Exemplary: $5,000 each yearResident Academic Merit — Outstanding: $3,500 each year ($1,750 Fall & $1,750 Spring)+6 more on the school page
Presidential Scholarship: $20,000–$25,000 per year (out-of-state / international)Trustees Scholarship: $10,000–$15,000 per year (out-of-state / international)
The WildCat Commitment (first-year students): At least $14,000 (plus up to $5,000 more based on GPA)The WildCat Commitment to International Students: At least $14,000 (plus up to $5,000 more based on GPA)+1 more on the school page
Crimson Scholarship: $2,000 per year for two consecutive years ($4,000 total)Transfer Excellence Scholarship: $2,000 per year, up to three years ($6,000 total)
WUE Cougar Award: $12,000 per yearWUE Distinguished Cougar Award: $15,000 per yearNational Merit Scholarship: Full tuition waiver+2 more on the school page
Western Award For Excellence Wae: $12,000–$15,000Western Undergraduate Exchange Program Wue: $15,000+Western Washington University Admissions Achievement Award: $1,500–$4,000
Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Trustee: $26,000 per yearAutomatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Voorhees: $24,000 per yearAutomatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Charles Carroll: $22,000 per year+2 more on the school page
Eaton Scholarship: $38,000+Presidential Scholarship 48k: Up to $48,000Trustee Transfer Scholarship Mid: $38,000++4 more on the school page
Automatic merit scholarships by state
Building a state-focused college list? These pages break the table above out by state, listing every school there with a published automatic-merit tier, from the same verified data. Prefer to browse the whole roster in one place first? The automatic merit scholarships directory holds the full national table, sorted by state, with links into every state page below.
Understanding where automatic merit does not exist is as important as knowing where it does. The following schools either award zero institutional merit or award merit only through competitive processes:
Need-only schools: Harvard, Yale, Princeton, Stanford, MIT, and most Ivy League institutions do not award merit aid. A 4.0 GPA and a 1600 SAT do not produce an institutional merit scholarship at these schools. All institutional aid is need-based.
Competitive-only merit schools:Wake Forest awards merit to fewer than 3% of freshmen through a competition-based process. Emory awards the Woodruff Scholarship (full COA) through a Scholars Weekend competition for roughly 175 finalists selected from 8,000+ applicants. Boston College’s Gabelli Presidential Scholarship goes to approximately 15 to 18 students per year. At these schools, there is no published formula. Merit is a selection decision, not a calculation. For families building a college list optimized for merit aid, these schools belong in the “reach” column for merit, regardless of the student’s stats.
How to use automatic merit in college list building
The single biggest strategic advantage of automatic merit is predictability. You can calculate, before you apply, the minimum institutional scholarship your student will receive at a given school. That changes the entire list-building calculation.
For most middle-income families (household income $100,000 to $200,000), need-based aid at most schools will be modest or zero. Merit is the primary discount lever. A college list with zero automatic-merit schools means every financial aid package is a surprise in April. A college list with three or four automatic-merit schools means the family has a known floor before application season starts.
The practical approach: identify the automatic-merit schools where your student’s GPA and test score clear the published threshold for a meaningful tier. Calculate the net price at each one (published COA minus the automatic tier amount). Compare that number to the NPC estimate at schools without automatic merit. The gap between the calculated number and the estimated number tells you exactly how much uncertainty each school adds to your financial plan.
Renewal and stacking rules to verify
Automatic merit scholarships are typically renewable for four years, but renewal requirements vary. Alabama requires a 3.0 GPA for most tiers. Case Western Reserve has an unusually low 2.0 renewal threshold. Villanova’s Presidential Scholarship requires a 3.33 GPA with a graduated probation system. Always verify the renewal GPA, the credit-hour requirement, and whether the school offers a probation period or immediate forfeiture.
Stacking is the other critical question. At most automatic-merit schools, the institutional scholarship stacks with federal aid (Pell Grant, federal loans) and state aid up to the school’s published Cost of Attendance. Whether it stacks with outside scholarships depends on the school’s displacement policy. At Alabama, outside scholarships can reduce the institutional tier once the total crosses COA. At Ole Miss, loans get reduced first. Know the stacking rules before you commit.
See what one college publishes for your student
See where your student's numbers land at one of these schools.
This guide covers automatic merit.
Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.
Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.
“it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa
Frequently asked questions
Do automatic merit scholarships require a separate application?
No. That is the defining feature. You apply for admission, and if your stats meet the published threshold, the award is included in your financial aid package automatically. Some schools require you to apply by a specific deadline (early action, for example) to be considered for the top tiers, but there is no separate scholarship essay or application form.
Can I get automatic merit at a test-optional school without submitting test scores?
At most automatic-merit schools, the published tiers require a test score. If you do not submit one, you may still receive a holistic merit award, but it will not follow the published automatic formula. At Pepperdine, the Regents Scholars Program explicitly requires test scores even though admission is test-optional. If your student has a strong SAT or ACT, submitting it at automatic-merit schools is almost always the right financial move, even if the school does not require it for admission.
What happens if my GPA qualifies for one tier but my test score qualifies for a different tier?
Most schools use the lower of the two tiers, meaning both the GPA and the test score must meet the threshold for a given tier. A student with a 4.0 GPA and a 1200 SAT at Alabama will receive the tier that corresponds to the 1200 SAT band, not the 4.0 GPA band. Some schools use a combined index, which can split the difference. Check the specific school's published criteria.
Are automatic merit scholarships available to transfer students?
Rarely. Most automatic merit tiers are limited to incoming first-year students. Transfer students at public flagships may qualify for separate transfer-specific scholarships, but these are usually smaller and less predictable. Alabama, for example, publishes transfer merit tiers, but they cover a narrower range than the freshman tiers.