Skip to content

California State University, San Bernardino · California

Cal State San Bernardino scholarships and merit aid

CSUSB is a low-cost CSU campus (resident tuition ~$6,838/yr) with essentially no published automatic merit grid; its strongest merit award, the competitive Presidential Academic Excellence Scholarship for 20 local first-time freshmen, covers unmet tuition/fees plus housing but publishes no fixed dollar amounts, and the only concrete institutional figure ($7,425) is the need-blended Palm Desert University Legacy Scholarship.

Verified Jul 20262 months ago

The short answer

Is Cal State San Bernardino worth a closer look?

Cal State San Bernardino may be worth checking, but its awards do not follow a simple grades-and-scores chart. Start with the published scholarships below.

Merit tiers2See who qualifies
First-year students with school awards<1%First-year students, CDS 2025-2026 (school-estimated)
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

Free Merit Check

See what Cal State San Bernardino's published rules mean for your student. Takes 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Cal State San Bernardino

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Amount not published…Amount not published (covers unmet tuition & mandatory fees, books, an internship award, and first-year housing & meals)

Presidential Academic Excellence Scholarship (PAES) / Presidential Academic Excellence Program (Honors College)

Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies
Who qualifies

Competitive; 20 new students annually. Planned graduation from a San Bernardino or Riverside County high school; first-time freshman; admitted to CSUSB; FAFSA or CA Dream Act Application required. No published GPA or test cutoff.

How to keep it

Supports 4 years (8 semesters) toward a bachelor's degree; recipients must maintain University Honors College eligibility and complete a minimum of 30 units per academic year. No fixed dollar amount or renewal GPA is published.

Notes

This is CSUSB's flagship honors merit award and the closest thing the campus has to a high-value institutional scholarship, but it publishes NO dollar amounts — the value is defined as 'unmet' costs beyond Federal/State grants, so the cash benefit depends on each student's need profile (a high-need student could see most costs covered; a no-need student may see little). Recipients are automatically enrolled in the University Honors College. Apply via the PAES application by March 1.

Source

Up to $7,425…Up to $7,425 (net of financial aid) for up to four years

University Legacy Scholarship (Palm Desert Campus)

Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies
Who qualifies

First-time freshman entering each fall at the Palm Desert Campus; selected on academic/scholarship performance (cumulative GPA and class ranking), leadership potential, and financial need (FAFSA). Up to five awarded annually.

How to keep it

Renewable for up to four years of undergraduate study, contingent on ongoing involvement as a leader at the CSUSB Palm Desert Campus.

Notes

Merit-plus-need: selection weighs GPA and leadership but also financial need via the FAFSA, and the award is stated 'net of financial aid' — so the cash value depends on the student's existing aid. Palm Desert Campus only (not the main San Bernardino campus). Application requires transcripts, two references, a writing exercise, and a selection-committee interview.

Source

See what could change an award

Rules that could change the answer

These are the rules we would flag for your family. Each comes from Cal State San Bernardino's published information.

  • Outside awardsNo published displacement order

    Cal State San Bernardino's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.

What families often miss

  1. CSUSB publishes no automatic merit grid. Almost all institutional scholarships are competitive and donor-funded, applied for through the CSUSB Scholarship Portal; the largest awards (PAES honors) are need-blended and limited (20 freshmen). Plan around the low sticker price plus Cal Grant / Middle Class Scholarship, not a guaranteed merit check.

  2. PAES covers 'unmet tuition and mandatory fees beyond what is covered by Federal and State grants' — its cash value depends on your need profile and is not a published number. A student whose tuition is already covered by Cal Grant may receive little tuition benefit (though housing/books components still help).

  3. It is Palm Desert Campus only, capped at up to five awards a year, weighs financial need (FAFSA), and is stated 'net of financial aid' — so it is not a main-campus award and is not pure merit.

  4. These are Palm Desert Campus donor scholarships aimed mostly at continuing, upper-division, or graduate students — they generally do not help a first-time freshman in their first term.

  5. CSUSB's published 2025-26 nine-month cost of attendance is far higher once housing, food, books, and transportation are added — $23,174 (commuter), $28,611 (university housing), or $34,804 (off-campus). Tuition is a small slice of the real bill.

  6. Most CSUSB scholarships are due before March 2 annually, and the PAES honors program has its own earlier track (CSUSB application priority Nov 30, PAES application Mar 1). Applying late forfeits the strongest awards.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

California (and especially San Bernardino / Riverside County) students chasing a very low sticker price rather than a big automatic merit award. Cost-sensitive families whose real leverage is Cal Grant, Middle Class Scholarship, and the competitive, donor-funded honors and Palm Desert scholarships — not a published GPA/test merit grid.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $28,611 for 2025-2026. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Cal State San Bernardino, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Cal State San Bernardino, academic year 2021-22 — in-state, Title-IV aid recipients only
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$2,681
$30,001–$48,000$2,680
$48,001–$75,000$4,735
$75,001–$110,000$7,745
$110,001+$14,316
All income levels (average)$4,564

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees (in-state), AY 2022-23
$8,093
Published tuition & fees (out-of-state), AY 2022-23
$20,693
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$4,564

That works out to roughly a 74% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $17,427 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Cal State San Bernardino is a public school; Scorecard's net price figure covers in-state, Title-IV-aid-recipient payers only — there is no comparable federal figure for out-of-state students.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
55%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
80%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$14,715 (~$156/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$59,977
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
69%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
18%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

CSUSB does not publish an outside/private-scholarship displacement policy on its financial-aid, awarding-process, or types-of-aid pages. As a federally-aided institution, total aid (including outside scholarships) cannot exceed the cost of attendance, so an outside award can trigger a package revision, but CSUSB does not state on its public pages whether it reduces loans/self-help first or reduces grants. Treat as unclear and confirm with the aid office.

Reviewed the Scholarships, Types of Aid, and Awarding Process pages; none describes how an external scholarship adjusts a CSUSB award, over-award handling, or loan-first vs grant-first reduction. No published stacking rule for combining institutional and outside awards was found.

Source

More school data

From the Cal State San Bernardino Common Data Set 2025-2026 (school-estimated figures):

As filed in Cal State San Bernardino's CDS Section H2A: of 1,878 first-time, full-time degree-seeking freshmen, 5 had no financial need and received institutional merit (non-need) scholarship or grant aid, averaging $11,738. Across all full-time degree-seeking undergraduates: 106 of 12,979, averaging $11,618. Athletic awards are excluded per the CDS definition.

The 2025-2026 column is marked "estimated" in the school's own CDS filing — school-projected figures, not final audited counts.

Receive institutional merit<1%First-year students, Common Data Set 2025-2026 (school-estimated)
Average merit award$11,738Across recipients, Common Data Set 2025-2026 (school-estimated)

Source: Common Data Set 2025-2026 (verified 2026-07-23)

Other Cal State San Bernardino scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

Amount$1,500EligibilitySophomore, junior, senior, or graduate students at the Palm Desert Campus meeting stated criteria.

Not for entering freshmen; continuing/upper-division and graduate students.

Source

Amount$5,000 each (five awards annually)EligibilityFull-time undergraduate students at the Palm Desert Campus.

Five awards distributed annually.

Source

Amount$3,900 each (ten to twenty awards)EligibilityCSUSB Palm Desert Campus undergraduate students.

Ten to twenty $3,900 scholarships awarded.

Source

Amount$4,000 each (five awards annually)EligibilityUpper-division undergraduate academic leaders at the Palm Desert Campus.

Five awards given annually; upper-division only, not entering freshmen.

Source

Amount$5,000EligibilityStudent in the CSUSB Palm Desert Campus Education Doctorate (Ed.D.) program.

Graduate/doctoral only — not undergraduate merit.

Source

Cal State San Bernardino merit aid FAQ

  • Does CSUSB give automatic merit scholarships based on GPA or test scores?

    No. CSUSB publishes no automatic merit grid. Institutional scholarships are competitive and applied for through the CSUSB Scholarship Portal in MyCoyote. The flagship academic award (the Presidential Academic Excellence Scholarship) is competitive, limited to 20 local first-time freshmen, and states no fixed dollar amount.

  • What is the scholarship application deadline at CSUSB?

    Applications for most CSUSB scholarships are due before March 2 annually, and the FAFSA / California Dream Act Application priority date is March 2. The Presidential Academic Excellence Program has its own track: CSUSB application priority Nov 30, PAES application Mar 1, program acceptance Apr 15.

  • How much is the Presidential Academic Excellence Scholarship worth?

    CSUSB does not publish a dollar amount. It covers any unmet tuition and mandatory fees beyond Federal/State grants, an annual books/expenses scholarship, a one-time unpaid-internship award, and first-year double-occupancy housing with a full meal plan. The cash value depends on your individual need profile.

  • Do outside scholarships reduce my CSUSB aid?

    CSUSB does not publish an outside-scholarship displacement policy. As at any federally-aided school, your total aid cannot exceed your cost of attendance, so a large outside award can prompt a package revision — but CSUSB does not state publicly whether it reduces loans/self-help first or reduces grants. Confirm directly with the Office of Financial Aid & Scholarships.

See sources and other schools

How Cal State San Bernardino compares

  • 133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.

    Cal State San Bernardino is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.

    Cal State San Bernardino is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Cal State San Bernardino is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Cal State San Bernardino’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

  • UCLA merit aid. California public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • UC Berkeley merit aid. California public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • UC San Diego merit aid. California public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Cal Poly SLO merit aid. California public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.

Keep exploring Cal State San Bernardino merit aid