If you win a scholarship, will Cal State San Bernardino lower other aid?
We checked the school’s published rule so you can decide whether an outside award is worth your time.
Verified Jul 20262 months ago
The short answer
The school does not publish a clear answer.
CSUSB does not publish an outside/private-scholarship displacement policy on its financial-aid, awarding-process, or types-of-aid pages. As a federally-aided institution, total aid (including outside scholarships) cannot exceed the cost of attendance, so an outside award can trigger a package revision, but CSUSB does not state on its public pages whether it reduces loans/self-help first or reduces grants. Treat as unclear and confirm with the aid office.
What to do
Ask the financial aid office what it will reduce before you apply for outside awards.
See the dollar example, school comparisons, and sources
Published policy type
Displacement policy unclear
Cal State San Bernardino has no published displacement order. In plain dollar terms, that means the published policy doesn't specify, so the family is guessing without a written aid-office answer.
csusb.edu publishes the $28,611 cost-of-attendance worksheet the math is run against.
The math: a $5,000 outside scholarship at Cal State San Bernardino
Setup
Cal State San Bernardino's public stacking policy doesn't specify how outside scholarships are treated when added to institutional aid.
What Cal State San Bernardino does
The financial-aid office can apply any of the displacement rules: loan-first, grant-first, COA-cap, or mixed. Without a written confirmation, families are guessing.
Family takeaway
Email the aid office with a specific dollar example before chasing private awards. Get the answer in writing so it's binding.
Schools with the same policy
These schools also use displacement policy unclear for outside scholarships. The same dollar math above applies at each.
Treating the Berger / Mary Stuart Rogers / Indian Wells Rotary / Cal State University Associates awards as freshman entry scholarships.
These are Palm Desert Campus donor scholarships aimed mostly at continuing, upper-division, or graduate students — they generally do not help a first-time freshman in their first term.
Budgeting only to the ~$6,838 resident tuition.
CSUSB's published 2025-26 nine-month cost of attendance is far higher once housing, food, books, and transportation are added — $23,174 (commuter), $28,611 (university housing), or $34,804 (off-campus). Tuition is a small slice of the real bill.
Displacement questions families ask
Do outside scholarships reduce my CSUSB aid?
CSUSB does not publish an outside-scholarship displacement policy. As at any federally-aided school, your total aid cannot exceed your cost of attendance, so a large outside award can prompt a package revision — but CSUSB does not state publicly whether it reduces loans/self-help first or reduces grants. Confirm directly with the Office of Financial Aid & Scholarships.
Rules that bite at Cal State San Bernardino
Trip wires derived from Cal State San Bernardino's own published policy. These are the things a custom playbook would flag in the first pass.
Outside awardsNo published displacement order
Cal State San Bernardino's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.
Aid-office script (copy & send)
The displacement rule is only binding when it's in writing. This script asks Cal State San Bernardino's aid office the specific question that matters for displacement policy unclear.
Subject: Outside-scholarship treatment question, fall applicant
Dear Cal State San Bernardino Financial Aid Office,
I'm a fall applicant reviewing how outside scholarships interact with my institutional aid package. I've read the public policy at https://www.csusb.edu/financial-aid/prospective-current-students/awarding-process and the $28,611 cost-of-attendance worksheet.
The public policy doesn't specify how outside scholarships are treated against institutional merit and need-based aid. Can you confirm in writing whether outside awards reduce: (a) loans first, (b) institutional grant first, or (c) only trigger a reduction when total aid exceeds COA?
If the answer varies by aid type or award size, what's the dollar threshold or category split?
A written answer (email is fine) is important because the outside-scholarship awarding bodies want confirmation before disbursing. Thank you for the time.
— [Student name], [Application ID if available]
How Cal State San Bernardino compares across our verified dataset
133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.
Cal State San Bernardino is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.
133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.
Cal State San Bernardino is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.
665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Cal State San Bernardino is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every claim is checked against Cal State San Bernardino’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.