Skip to content

Charleston scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$34,192per year · 2025-2026 · ResidentNon-resident $61,974
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Charleston awards automatic merit on admission. Charleston does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Where does your student land?

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Colonial Scholars ProgramFull tuition, fees, room and board, plus a study abroad stipend and additional benefitsNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Colonial Scholars Program

    Full tuition, fees, room and board, plus a study abroad stipend and additional benefits

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Colonial Scholars Program

    Who qualifies

    Highly selective. Awarded to top students in each entering class. Selection by Office of Admissions. Confirm separate application and timeline with the office before assuming Colonial track.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to four years; specific renewal terms not published on the public site.

    Worth knowing

    Charleston's flagship full-ride. The only published award that covers room and board on top of tuition and fees.

  2. President's ScholarshipNot publicly disclosed in a tier tableNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    President's Scholarship

    Not publicly disclosed in a tier table

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for President's Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Four recipients selected from the highest qualified students from South Carolina in each first-year class. Auto-considered through admission.

    Worth knowing

    The most prestigious named CofC scholarship. SC residents only.

  3. Cougar Advantage ScholarsMinimum $4,000 per year in merit scholarship fundingAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Cougar Advantage Scholars

    Minimum $4,000 per year in merit scholarship funding

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Cougar Advantage Scholars

    Who qualifies

    Students who rank in the top 10% of their class at the time of application from a South Carolina public or charter high school. Marked as 'non-stackable' — cannot combine with other CofC merit scholarships.

    Worth knowing

    Stackable with state Palmetto Fellows/LIFE/HOPE per the State Talent Initiative; non-stackable with other CofC institutional merit.

  4. CofC Merit Scholarship$1,500 - $4,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    CofC Merit Scholarship

    $1,500 - $4,000 per year

    Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for CofC Merit Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    All first-time entering first-year applicants automatically considered. No separate application. Non-stackable with other CofC merit scholarships.

    How to keep it

    Limited to four years from first term of enrollment, or until eligible to graduate (whichever comes first). First undergraduate degree only.

    Worth knowing

    Catch-all institutional merit. Specific stat-to-tier table not published.

  5. Non-Resident Scholarship$2,000 - $12,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Non-Resident Scholarship

    $2,000 - $12,000 per year

    Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Non-Resident Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    All non-resident first-year applicants automatically considered for merit scholarships in the $2,000-$12,000/year range. The $2,000 base award is in addition to any other CofC scholarships. Total out-of-state tuition waivers cannot exceed the out-of-state differential per semester/year — DC TAG and similar tuition benefits count against this cap.

    How to keep it

    Recipients of CofC Academic, CofC Academic-Honors, Jasper Adams Academic, International Ambassador Academic, and Eurasian Ambassador Academic Scholarships must remain out-of-state for tuition purposes to retain funding. Limited to four years from first term of enrollment.

    Worth knowing

    If a non-resident becomes a SC resident mid-college (residency change), the OOS tuition-waiver components of their award terminate.

  6. Elite Edge Scholarship (Honors)Up to $20,000 over four yearsNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Elite Edge Scholarship (Honors)

    Up to $20,000 over four years

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Elite Edge Scholarship (Honors)

    Who qualifies

    Tied to the Charleston Fellows Program. Awarded to students accepted into the Honors program. No separate application — auto-considered through Honors selection.

  7. Leading Edge ScholarshipUp to $20,000 over four yearsNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Leading Edge Scholarship

    Up to $20,000 over four years

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Leading Edge Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Incoming first-years with academic distinction in high school records and test scores. Separate application required. Deadline March 1, 2026.

    Worth knowing

    One of CofC's few merit awards requiring a separate application. Worth applying even alongside the Elite Edge/CofC Merit auto path.

Lights up against Charleston's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Charleston award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Charleston

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Outside awardsNo published displacement order

Charleston's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.

Randolph Hall Cistern Yard at College Of Charleston

Randolph Hall Cistern Yard at College Of Charleston

What makes Charleston different

South Carolina public liberal-arts university with a complex three-layer stack — state-funded South Carolina merit awards (Palmetto Fellows up to $29,200/4yr, LIFE $20,000), CofC institutional merit ($1,500-$4,000/year), and out-of-state offset scholarships ($2,000-$12,000/year) — held together by an explicit non-stackable rule that prevents most CofC merit awards from combining with each other.

Merit tiers71 based on grades or scores
First-year students with school awards50%First-year students, CDS 2024-2025
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Charleston's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. Most CofC institutional merit scholarships are flagged non-stackable: students receive only the single most beneficial CofC award, not the sum. Cougar Advantage ($4,000+), the CofC Merit Scholarship ($1,500-$4,000), and the named institutional awards generally do not combine with each other. State awards (Palmetto Fellows, LIFE, HOPE) are separately stackable on top — that's the only reliable stack.

  2. Recipients of the CofC Academic, CofC Academic-Honors, Jasper Adams Academic, International Ambassador Academic, and Eurasian Ambassador Academic Scholarships must remain out-of-state for tuition purposes to retain funding. Establishing South Carolina residency mid-college terminates these awards. The trade-off (in-state tuition vs. OOS tuition + waiver) can be unfavorable depending on the original waiver size.

  3. Total out-of-state tuition waivers from all sources combined cannot exceed the OOS differential charged per semester/year. CofC explicitly cites the DC Tuition Assistance Grant as a source counted against this cap. A DC resident with both a CofC OOS waiver and DC TAG cannot exceed the total OOS differential — the higher of the two effectively replaces the smaller.

  4. The South Carolina Talent Initiative — which guarantees at least 65% of need met for SC residents — requires the FAFSA by the February 1 priority deadline. State Palmetto Fellows, LIFE, and HOPE awards also require FAFSA filing and timely completion. Missing February 1 forfeits not just need-based aid but the implicit state-aid stack that makes Charleston cheap for in-state families.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

South Carolina residents (Palmetto Fellows and LIFE alone substantially close the in-state COA), low-income SC residents (South Carolina Talent Initiative guarantees 65% of need met), and out-of-state students with strong stats targeting the $12,000/year non-resident scholarship.

Cost of attendance$34,192–$61,974 for 2025-2026Each bar is the full published cost for that scenario, sized against the highest figure so totals compare at a glance.
Out-of-state, on-campus$61,974
In-state, on-campus$34,192
  • Tuition & fees
  • Housing & food
  • Books
  • Travel
  • Personal
  • Loan fees

Official College of Charleston COA page; rates match 2025-2026 tuition tables and Common Data Set 2024-2025 reporting 2025-2026 costs. Tuition & fees = Tuition & Fees + avg Tech & Library Fees $460.

Charleston cost-of-attendance source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Charleston, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Charleston, academic year 2021-22 — in-state, Title-IV aid recipients only
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$12,133
$30,001–$48,000$13,406
$48,001–$75,000$16,797
$75,001–$110,000$20,089
$110,001+$24,996
All income levels (average)$18,960

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees (in-state), AY 2022-23
$12,978
Published tuition & fees (out-of-state), AY 2022-23
$38,296
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$18,960

That works out to roughly a 41% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $32,362 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Charleston is a public school; Scorecard's net price figure covers in-state, Title-IV-aid-recipient payers only — there is no comparable federal figure for out-of-state students.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
66%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
82%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$23,250 (~$246/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$56,416
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
19%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
46%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

The school does not publish a specific outside-scholarship displacement policy; confirm treatment with the aid office before counting on stacking.

Verified policy language (2026-07-02): Outside Scholarships — Outside scholarships are private sources of money offered from non-College of Charleston-affiliated organizations. Outside scholarships sources may include local clubs, businesses, organizations and churches. Receiving an Outside Scholarship? If you're receiving an outside scholarship, you should ensure that the scholarship check has your College of Charleston Student ID Number (CWID) in the memo line. Checks that are co-payable to you and the College will require your signature after they have been received by the College. Separately, the school's own award-stacking rules: SC state awards (Palmetto Fellows, LIFE, HOPE) stack with CofC merit per the SC Talent Initiative. Per the SC Talent Initiative page, certain CofC scholarships are flagged 'non-stackable' (cannot combine with other CofC merit scholarships) while others are flagged 'stackable' (may be combined with merit scholarships). (per https://charleston.edu/cost-aid/scholarships/sc-talent-initiative.php)

Source

More school data

From the Charleston Common Data Set 2024-2025:

Merit penetrationHow likely is merit aid here?From Charleston’s Common Data Set: the share of first-year students who receive institutional merit and the average dollar amount when they do.
50%of admitsget merit
Average award$12,572Covers ~20% of $61,974 cost of attendance

At Charleston, 50% of first-year admits receive institutional merit aid. The average award is $12,572 — about 20% of total cost.

As filed in Charleston's CDS Section H2A: of 2,260 first-time, full-time degree-seeking freshmen, 1,127 had no financial need and received institutional merit (non-need) scholarship or grant aid, averaging $12,572. Across all full-time degree-seeking undergraduates: 3,346 of 10,093, averaging $13,185. Athletic awards are excluded per the CDS definition.

Receive institutional merit50%First-year students, Common Data Set 2024-2025
Average merit award$12,572Across recipients, Common Data Set 2024-2025

Source: Common Data Set 2024-2025 (verified 2026-07-23)

Other Charleston scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

Amount$6,700 first year, $7,500 subsequent years — up to $29,200 over four yearsEligibilitySouth Carolina residents meeting state academic requirements. Apply through high school counselor. Stacks with CofC merit per SC Talent Initiative.

Source

Amount$5,000 per year ($20,000 over four years)EligibilitySC residents meeting 2 of 3: 1100 SAT or 22 ACT, top 30% of graduating class, OR 3.0 GPA on SC Uniform Grading Scale. Stacks with CofC merit.

Source

Amount$2,800 (non-renewable)EligibilityIncoming first-year SC residents with a 3.0 GPA who did not receive the LIFE Scholarship or Palmetto Fellows. One-time award.

Source

AmountNot publicly disclosed (Meeting Street Fund covers the gap)EligibilityLive in one of 12 eligible SC counties, graduate from a public high school in eligible county, earn SC LIFE or Palmetto Fellows, FAFSA + Federal Pell Grant recipient, enroll in one of 17 in-state colleges with ≥50% graduation rate. Separate application opens January 2026 on Meeting Street Scholarship Fund website.

Source

AmountAt least 65% of demonstrated need met through federal, state, and institutional sources combinedEligibilityAll first-time entering first-year SC residents with demonstrated financial need who submit FAFSA by February 1 priority deadline.

Source

Charleston merit aid FAQ

  • How much merit aid does the College of Charleston give?

    CofC layers three streams. Institutional CofC Merit ranges $1,500-$4,000/year for all first-year applicants. Cougar Advantage Scholars (top 10% SC public/charter) starts at $4,000/year. Named institutional awards include the Colonial Scholars (full tuition, fees, room, board, study abroad — flagship full-ride) and the President's Scholarship (4 SC recipients per class). Non-resident awards range $2,000-$12,000/year. Honors students may add the Elite Edge Scholarship up to $20,000 over four years.

  • Can I stack CofC scholarships?

    Mostly no within institutional merit — CofC's published policy is that 'non-stackable scholarships cannot be combined with other merit scholarships.' Most CofC institutional awards are flagged non-stackable. The reliable stack: SC state awards (Palmetto Fellows up to $29,200 over 4 years, LIFE $5,000/yr, HOPE $2,800 one-time) on top of CofC merit per the SC Talent Initiative.

  • Are out-of-state students eligible for College of Charleston scholarships?

    Yes. All non-resident first-year applicants are automatically considered for OOS merit scholarships ranging $2,000-$12,000 per year. The $2,000 base award is in addition to other CofC scholarships received. Crucial caveat: total OOS tuition waivers from all sources cannot exceed the OOS differential charged.

  • Does South Carolina have free college for low-income families at CofC?

    Close. The South Carolina Talent Initiative (SCTI) guarantees that first-time entering first-year SC residents with demonstrated need have at least 65% of their demonstrated need met through federal, state, and institutional sources combined. SC Pell-eligible students who also earn Palmetto Fellows or LIFE typically end up with full tuition covered after state aid stacks. File FAFSA by February 1.

  • When are CofC scholarship deadlines?

    FAFSA priority deadline is February 1 (critical for SC Talent Initiative and state-aid stacks). The Leading Edge Scholarship (up to $20,000 over four years) has a separate March 1 deadline. Most CofC institutional merit is auto-considered with admission — no separate deadline beyond the admission timeline. The Meeting Street Scholarship application opens January 2026.

See sources and other schools

How Charleston compares

  • 133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.

    Charleston is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.

    Charleston is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Charleston is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Charleston’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Charleston merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Charleston fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook