Skip to content

Francis Marion scholarships and merit aid

The short answer

Francis Marion is worth checking if your student has strong grades or scores. We found 9 published awards, and one is based on those numbers.

Where does your student land?

Step 1 of comparing your list

Check the rules that could cut this.

Check Francis Marion free in 30 seconds. Then see how it ranks against the rest of your list.

Checking merit aid at Francis Marion

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Academic Distinction Award (Automatic Minimum)Minimum $1,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Academic Distinction Award (Automatic Minimum)

    Minimum $1,000 per year

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.0 cumulative high school GPA
    SAT
    1100 (CR and Math)
    ACT
    22
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Academic Distinction Award (Automatic Minimum)

    Who qualifies

    Top 40% of graduating class; South Carolina resident; accepted as first-time freshman for fall semester

    How to keep it

    Competitive academic scholarships are renewable; specific renewal GPA for this tier not published on the page. General university scholarship renewal terms referenced in award letter: limits on total scholarships/grants may apply per a signed Terms & Conditions form.

    Worth knowing

    Awarded automatically to accepted SC resident first-time freshmen who meet all three criteria. Merit-based scholarships are awarded in rounds; higher amounts are given in earlier rounds. Early application is strongly encouraged. The $1,000 is stated as the minimum; actual award may be higher depending on application timing and competition.

  2. Academic Distinction Award (Competitive / Admissions Scholarships)$500–full tuition, room, and board (range)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Academic Distinction Award (Competitive / Admissions Scholarships)

    $500–full tuition, room, and board (range)

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Minimum 3.0 cumulative weighted high school GPA (incoming freshman); 3.0 college GPA (transfer/returning)
    SAT
    Strongly considered but not a hard cutoff
    ACT
    Strongly considered but not a hard cutoff
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Academic Distinction Award (Competitive / Admissions Scholarships)

    Who qualifies

    Top 40% of graduating class strongly recommended; must submit Admissions Scholarship application by March 15; need-based aid also considered from FAFSA for need-based portion; SC residency required for most awards

    How to keep it

    Competitive awards require maintaining a 3.0 cumulative GPA (college). Specific annual renewal hours requirement not published for this tier. Award letter notes 4-year renewable scholarships have a cap on total aid per signed Terms & Conditions.

    Worth knowing

    Competitive awards distributed via the Admissions Scholarships application (deadline March 15). Range stated as $500 to full tuition, room and board. Class rank, cumulative weighted GPA, and SAT/ACT test scores are strongly considered. Need-based scholarship support uses FAFSA data. Merit awards given in rounds — earlier applicants receive higher amounts.

  3. Governor Robert E. McNair ScholarshipFull tuition, room and board, book allowance, and study abroad (all four years)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Governor Robert E. McNair Scholarship

    Full tuition, room and board, book allowance, and study abroad (all four years)

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.0 cumulative high school GPA or higher
    SAT
    Not specified
    ACT
    Not specified
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Governor Robert E. McNair Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    South Carolina resident; high school senior; top 30% of graduating class; demonstrated dedication to public service; application required; two references required; deadline December 1, 2025 (for 2026 entry). Finalists interview in March.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for four years provided recipient: completes 30 semester hours each year and maintains a cumulative 3.25 GPA or higher; participates in Honors Program and graduates with University Honors; participates in travel and study abroad; participates in service learning/public service; lives in on-campus housing for the duration of the scholarship.

    Worth knowing

    Privately funded scholarship. Covers free tuition, fees, room and board, book allowance each semester, admission to Honors Program, upgraded housing in Forest Villas Apartments, early class registration, opportunity to travel abroad during freshman spring break, and opportunity to study abroad. Students must complete FMU admission application before submitting McNair application. Application deadline stated as December 1, 2025 (for 2026 entry — year referenced on page).

  4. Darla Moore ScholarshipCovers tuition, housing, and meal planNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Darla Moore Scholarship

    Covers tuition, housing, and meal plan

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Not specified
    SAT
    Not specified
    ACT
    Not specified
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Darla Moore Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Incoming freshman; demonstrated financial need; full-time enrollment; South Carolina resident; application required with essay and recommendation letter; application due January 19; finalists interviews in March

    How to keep it

    Renewable details not explicitly published on page beyond stating it is available for incoming freshmen. Continuation dependent on demonstrated financial need and full-time enrollment as SC resident.

    Worth knowing

    Funded by a $5 million gift from the Darla Moore Foundation. Covers tuition, housing, and a meal plan. Need-based award for incoming freshmen. Application deadline is January 19; finalists are interviewed and awards are made in March.

  5. Darla Moore Forestry ScholarshipAmount not publishedNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Darla Moore Forestry Scholarship

    Amount not published

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    2.75 minimum for renewal
    SAT
    Not specified
    ACT
    Not specified
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Darla Moore Forestry Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Forestry major; must complete FAFSA; must complete Donor Scholarship application; South Carolina resident; full-time enrollment; funds available for up to four years

    How to keep it

    Continued receipt is dependent upon satisfactory progress towards completion of the degree while maintaining a minimum 2.75 GPA.

    Worth knowing

    Funded by the Darla Moore Foundation. Restricted to forestry majors. Renewable for up to four years. Dollar amount not published on official page.

  6. Premier PledgeGap up to full tuition ($10,384/year) after all other aid is applied — freshman year onlyNot automatic
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Premier Pledge

    Gap up to full tuition ($10,384/year) after all other aid is applied — freshman year only

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Not specified
    SAT
    Not specified
    ACT
    Not specified
    Open award details for Premier Pledge

    Who qualifies

    Incoming freshman; South Carolina resident; First Generation student OR fully Pell-eligible student; must complete FAFSA. If other scholarships/grants already cover the full $10,384 tuition, the Premier Pledge does not apply.

    Renewal terms

    Covers tuition gap for freshman year only. Not described as renewable beyond year one.

    Worth knowing

    The Premier Pledge fills the gap between all other scholarships and grants and the full tuition cost of $10,384, ensuring no out-of-pocket tuition costs for the first year. It does NOT cover housing, meal plan, or other fees beyond tuition. It does not apply if existing aid already covers full tuition. The $10,384 annual tuition figure is stated on the Premier Pledge page (published November 21, 2025).

  7. Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarship$1,000 per year (renewable)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarship

    $1,000 per year (renewable)

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.25 cumulative GPA at the institution where member of Phi Theta Kappa
    SAT
    Not specified
    ACT
    Not specified
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Must be a member of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society; must be admitted to FMU and plan to enroll in fall; must apply via Phi Theta Kappa scholarship application; priority deadline June 1

    How to keep it

    Renewable each year with completion of 30 credit hours with a 3.0 GPA.

    Worth knowing

    One renewable $1,000 scholarship awarded per year to qualifying Phi Theta Kappa members transferring to FMU. Priority deadline June 1; applications reviewed after deadline on a rolling basis.

  8. Donor Scholarships (named/specialty awards pool)Varies (over 150 named specialty scholarships)Not automatic
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Donor Scholarships (named/specialty awards pool)

    Varies (over 150 named specialty scholarships)

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Not specified — varies by individual award
    SAT
    Not specified
    ACT
    Not specified
    Open award details for Donor Scholarships (named/specialty awards pool)

    Who qualifies

    Application due March 31; full-time enrollment generally required; many have specialized qualifying criteria such as field of study, hometown, or home county; open to all students

    Renewal terms

    Unless otherwise stated in the student's initial award letter, scholarships are non-renewable. Deadline for non-renewable scholarships is March 31.

    Worth knowing

    FMU offers over 150 named specialty scholarships. Applications due March 31 for non-renewable scholarships. Generally non-renewable unless stated otherwise in award letter. Students can view annual and endowed scholarships at the Foundation pages linked from the scholarships page.

  9. First Generation FundAmount not publishedNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    First Generation Fund

    Amount not published

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Not specified
    SAT
    Not specified
    ACT
    Not specified
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for First Generation Fund

    Who qualifies

    First-generation college student; must apply through Admissions Scholarships application; must complete FAFSA recommended

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published on official page.

    Worth knowing

    FMU's First Generation Fund is designed to help students who are the first in their family to attend college. More than 40% of the most recent freshman class was first-generation. Dollar amount not published. Apply through the Admissions Scholarships application.

Lights up against Francis Marion's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Renewal ruleDarla Moore Scholarship: renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

Renewable details not explicitly published on page beyond stating it is available for incoming freshmen. Continuation dependent on demonstrated financial need and full-time enrollment as SC resident. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

What makes Francis Marion different

South Carolina's most affordable four-year public university offers automatic merit aid starting at $1,000 for in-state freshmen, a full-ride Governor McNair Scholarship for future public-service leaders, and need-based full-tuition coverage through the Premier Pledge.

Merit tiers91 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Francis Marion's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. The Premier Pledge only covers the tuition gap up to $10,384 for the freshman year. It does NOT cover housing, meal plans, fees, or other expenses. Students who already have enough aid to cover tuition will not receive the Premier Pledge at all.

  2. Academic merit scholarships are awarded in rounds and higher amounts are given in earlier rounds. Applying to FMU early is strongly encouraged; waiting until March 15 (the scholarship application deadline) may result in a lower award even for equally qualified students.

  3. The $1,000 is the stated minimum for students in the top 40% with 1100 SAT/22 ACT and 3.0 GPA. Larger competitive awards require submitting the Admissions Scholarship application by March 15 and competing against other applicants.

  4. FMU requires all outside scholarships to be reported. Late reporting can result in repayment of university-administered funds or reduction of university awards. Students with 4-year renewable scholarships also have a signed cap on total aid.

  5. Unless stated otherwise in the initial award letter, donor scholarships (from the 150+ named pool) are non-renewable. Students must apply annually by March 31 to be considered.

  6. FMU has two programs with 'McNair' in the name. The Governor Robert E. McNair Scholarship is a privately funded full-ride merit award for incoming freshmen. The federal McNair Scholars Program is a separate TRiO-funded graduate school preparation program for current undergraduate students from disadvantaged backgrounds. They have different eligibility, applications, and benefits.

  7. HOPE is available for the initial year of enrollment ONLY. To continue receiving any state scholarship after year one, a student must meet LIFE scholarship renewal requirements (3.0 LIFE GPA and 30 earned hours).

  8. If a student does not earn 14 hours of CHE-approved math/life/physical science courses by the end of their freshman year, they are permanently ineligible for the Enhancement Scholarship — there is no make-up path.

  9. The Cost of Attendance page at fmarion.edu/financialassistance/coa/ shows 2025-26 estimated costs only (in image format). The 2026-27 COA has not been separately published in text-readable form as of the research date.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

South Carolina resident high school seniors and transfer students who meet a 3.0 GPA floor and top-40% class rank; competitive full-ride awards target public-service-minded students and need-based full-tuition coverage targets first-generation and Pell-eligible freshmen.

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Francis Marion, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Francis Marion, academic year 2021-22 — in-state, Title-IV aid recipients only
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$9,723
$30,001–$48,000$9,449
$48,001–$75,000$11,582
$75,001–$110,000$13,788
$110,001+$17,435
All income levels (average)$11,386

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Total cost of attendance (sticker), AY 2021-22
$23,850
Published tuition & fees (in-state), AY 2022-23
$11,160
Published tuition & fees (out-of-state), AY 2022-23
$21,544
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$11,386

That works out to an average 52% discount off the sticker price above — both figures come from the same federal AY 2021-22 Scorecard report, not a number the school itself published.

Francis Marion is a public school; Scorecard's net price and cost of attendance figures cover in-state, Title-IV-aid-recipient payers only — there is no comparable federal figure for out-of-state students.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
43%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
70%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$27,000 (~$286/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$43,888
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
57%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
52%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Outside scholarships must be reported to the Financial Assistance Office (FAO). For 4-year renewable scholarships, a signed Terms & Conditions form limits the total amount of scholarships, grants, etc. that can be received in addition to the scholarship. Outside scholarships credited to the student account as soon as received by the university. The Premier Pledge is explicitly tuition-only and does not apply when existing scholarships/grants already cover the full tuition of $10,384.

The award letter states: 'You must report to the FAO any money you receive (e.g, outside scholarships, etc.) toward your educational expenses that is not offered to you by the University. It is to your advantage to let us know about such money as soon as possible. You may have to repay University administered funds or have your award reduced if we receive late information concerning outside sources of assistance.' For students with 4-year renewable scholarships: 'If you were awarded a 4-year scholarship as a freshman, you signed a Terms & Conditions form stating that there were limits to the total amount of scholarships, grants, etc. that you can receive in addition to your scholarship.' The Premier Pledge page confirms funds are always applied to tuition first, and outside aid above tuition flows to other costs. Athletic aid is subject to NCAA/Conference Carolinas limits on total financial assistance.

Source

Other Francis Marion scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountUp to $2,500 per yearEligibilityMust already be a LIFE or Palmetto Fellows scholarship recipient; must be in 2nd, 3rd, or 4th year of full-time enrollment; must be declared in a CHE-approved STEM major (Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering Technology, Environmental Science, Industrial Engineering, Math, Mechanical Engineering, Middle Level Education-Math/Science, Nursing, Pharmaceutical Studies, Physics); must have earned 14+ hours in CHE-approved math/science by end of freshman year.

Awarded IN ADDITION to the LIFE or Palmetto Fellows scholarship. Subject to annual legislative appropriation. Failure to meet the 14-hour requirement by end of freshman year permanently disqualifies a student. AP and dual enrollment credits can satisfy the 14-hour rule.

Source

AmountAmount not published on FMU page (state-set amount)EligibilitySC resident; graduate of SC high school; full-time enrollment; NOT a Palmetto Fellow or LIFE recipient; 3.0 cumulative HS GPA on Uniform Grading Scale; no felony or 2+ alcohol/drug convictions. Available for initial year of enrollment ONLY — not renewable. After year 1, must meet LIFE renewal requirements to continue receiving any state scholarship.

Non-renewable; initial year only. Dependent on SC Lottery proceeds.

Source

Francis Marion merit aid FAQ

  • What is the deadline to apply for the FMU Admissions Scholarship (for competitive merit awards)?

    March 15 of the year you plan to enroll.

  • What is the deadline for the Governor Robert E. McNair Scholarship?

    December 1, 2025 (for fall 2026 enrollment). Two references required with application.

  • What is the deadline for the Darla Moore Scholarship?

    January 19. Essay and recommendation letter required; finalists interviewed in March.

  • What is the deadline for Donor Scholarships (non-renewable specialty awards)?

    March 31. Students must submit the 2026-27 Donor Scholarship Application by this date.

  • What is the priority deadline for the Phi Theta Kappa transfer scholarship?

    June 1 (applications reviewed after this deadline if still seats remain).

  • What is the annual tuition cost at FMU?

    $10,384 per year (stated on the Premier Pledge page, published November 21, 2025).

  • Does the Premier Pledge cover housing and meals?

    No. The Premier Pledge covers only the tuition gap up to $10,384. Housing, meal plans, and other fees are additional costs not covered by the Premier Pledge.

  • Is the FAFSA required for merit scholarships at FMU?

    Not required for all merit awards, but recommended. The Premier Pledge, Darla Moore Forestry Scholarship, and need-based scholarship support from the Admissions Scholarships pool all require the FAFSA. The disclaimer on the Admissions Scholarship application states that not completing a FAFSA 'may affect consideration for certain scholarships.'

  • What is FMU's FAFSA priority processing deadline?

    March 1 of each year.

See sources and other schools

How Francis Marion compares

  • 235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.

    Francis Marion is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Francis Marion is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Francis Marion’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

  • Lander merit aid. South Carolina public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • The Citadel merit aid. South Carolina public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • USC Upstate merit aid. South Carolina public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Winthrop merit aid. South Carolina public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.

Keep exploring Francis Marion merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Francis Marion fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook