The starting point
CSUDH is a low-cost CSU public ($8,705.72 resident direct cost) where the only full-ride merit award is the competitive Presidential Scholarship (full in-state fees, 3.5 GPA); most other institutional scholarships are small, competitive, application-based, and routed through one common portal.
Selection beyond grades and scores. These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.
Awards to discuss
First 3 of 8 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.
Presidential Scholarship (Presidential Scholars Program)
Full in-state tuition and fees (plus book allowance, parking, laptop, housing stipend) · Published coverage or package
Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.
GPA: Minimum weighted GPA of at least 3.5
Eligibility: Competitive/application-based. First-time freshmen must graduate from a California high school; transfer applicants must transfer directly from a California Community College with a minimum of 60 transferable units; applicants must be admitted to CSUDH to apply. Application requires a personal essay, resume, and one letter of recommendation.
Renewal: Awarded to first-year students for four years and to transfer students for two years. Renewal requires completing at least 15 units per semester, two pre-selected community-service/campus activities per semester, and a rising GPA floor: at least 3.0 by end of freshman year, 3.25 by end of sophomore year, and 3.5 by end of junior/senior years.
Other terms: This is CSUDH's only full-ride-equivalent merit award and is competitive, not automatic on stats. A separate CSUDH President's-office 'Presidential Scholars - Requirements' page lists renewal terms but does not state SAT/ACT cutoffs; the financial-aid Presidential Scholarship page (used here) states a 3.5 GPA and 60 transferable units and lists no test-score requirement. (Some third-party/older summaries cite 1000 SAT / 25 ACT and 44 transfer units; NOT confirmed on the current official financial-aid page — see Section C.)
https://www.csudh.edu/financial-aid/scholarships/presidential-scholarship/
Honors Scholarship
$2,500 - $3,000 · Published range
Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.
Eligibility: Awarded to incoming first-year students or transfer students who meet specific academic requirements (specific GPA/test cutoffs not published on the scholarships listing page). Application-based via the CSUDH Scholarship Portal.
Renewal: Renewable for up to four years for first-year students and two years for transfer students.
Other terms: Amount and renewal length are quoted verbatim from the New Student Scholarships listing. The specific academic threshold is not published; apply through the portal.
https://www.csudh.edu/financial-aid/scholarships/new-student-scholarships/
Katherine Bogdanovich Loker Scholarship
$4,000 · Published amount
Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.
Eligibility: Awarded to an incoming first-year student from Carson, Palos Verdes, San Pedro, Torrance, or Wilmington. Application-based via the CSUDH Scholarship Portal.
Renewal: The official New Student Scholarships listing states the $4,000 amount but does NOT state renewal terms. (A non-official summary describes it as renewable annually up to four years with a 3.0 GPA maintained, but that renewal/GPA detail is not on the official page — left unconfirmed.)
Other terms: Geographically restricted to five South Bay / Harbor-area cities. $4,000 quoted verbatim; renewal/GPA terms not verified on the official listing.
https://www.csudh.edu/financial-aid/scholarships/new-student-scholarships/