Skip to content

CSU Dominguez Hills scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$8,706per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

CSU Dominguez Hills may be worth checking, but its awards do not follow a simple grades-and-scores chart. Start with the published scholarships below.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jul 2026
4 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

Step 1 of comparing your list

Check the rules that could cut this.

Check CSU Dominguez Hills free in 30 seconds. Then see how it ranks against the rest of your list.

Checking merit aid at CSU Dominguez Hills

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Presidential Scholarship (Presidential Scholars Program)Full in-state tuition and fees (plus book allowance, parking, laptop, housing stipend)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Presidential Scholarship (Presidential Scholars Program)

    Full in-state tuition and fees (plus book allowance, parking, laptop, housing stipend)

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Minimum weighted GPA of at least 3.5
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Presidential Scholarship (Presidential Scholars Program)

    Who qualifies

    Competitive/application-based. First-time freshmen must graduate from a California high school; transfer applicants must transfer directly from a California Community College with a minimum of 60 transferable units; applicants must be admitted to CSUDH to apply. Application requires a personal essay, resume, and one letter of recommendation.

    How to keep it

    Awarded to first-year students for four years and to transfer students for two years. Renewal requires completing at least 15 units per semester, two pre-selected community-service/campus activities per semester, and a rising GPA floor: at least 3.0 by end of freshman year, 3.25 by end of sophomore year, and 3.5 by end of junior/senior years.

    Worth knowing

    This is CSUDH's only full-ride-equivalent merit award and is competitive, not automatic on stats. A separate CSUDH President's-office 'Presidential Scholars - Requirements' page lists renewal terms but does not state SAT/ACT cutoffs; the financial-aid Presidential Scholarship page (used here) states a 3.5 GPA and 60 transferable units and lists no test-score requirement. (Some third-party/older summaries cite 1000 SAT / 25 ACT and 44 transfer units; NOT confirmed on the current official financial-aid page — see Section C.)

  2. Honors Scholarship$2,500 - $3,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Honors Scholarship

    $2,500 - $3,000

    Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Honors Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Awarded to incoming first-year students or transfer students who meet specific academic requirements (specific GPA/test cutoffs not published on the scholarships listing page). Application-based via the CSUDH Scholarship Portal.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to four years for first-year students and two years for transfer students.

    Worth knowing

    Amount and renewal length are quoted verbatim from the New Student Scholarships listing. The specific academic threshold is not published; apply through the portal.

  3. Katherine Bogdanovich Loker Scholarship$4,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Katherine Bogdanovich Loker Scholarship

    $4,000

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Katherine Bogdanovich Loker Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Awarded to an incoming first-year student from Carson, Palos Verdes, San Pedro, Torrance, or Wilmington. Application-based via the CSUDH Scholarship Portal.

    How to keep it

    The official New Student Scholarships listing states the $4,000 amount but does NOT state renewal terms. (A non-official summary describes it as renewable annually up to four years with a 3.0 GPA maintained, but that renewal/GPA detail is not on the official page — left unconfirmed.)

    Worth knowing

    Geographically restricted to five South Bay / Harbor-area cities. $4,000 quoted verbatim; renewal/GPA terms not verified on the official listing.

  4. Breakthrough Scholarshipup to $10,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Breakthrough Scholarship

    up to $10,000

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Breakthrough Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Provides support to students who are enrolled in a degree program at CSUDH. Application-based via the CSUDH Scholarship Portal.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the listing.

    Worth knowing

    'up to $10,000' is a ceiling, not a fixed award. Eligibility detail is thin on the public listing.

  5. CSU Future Scholars$1,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    CSU Future Scholars

    $1,000

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for CSU Future Scholars

    Who qualifies

    Up to 30 entering first-year or transfer students. Application-based via the CSUDH Scholarship Portal.

    How to keep it

    Listed as a renewable scholarship for up to 30 entering first-year or transfer students; specific renewal conditions not published on the listing.

    Worth knowing

    Small fixed award; renewable per the listing language.

  6. Osher Scholarship Program$2,500 for full time students (pro-rated for part time attendance)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Osher Scholarship Program

    $2,500 for full time students (pro-rated for part time attendance)

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Osher Scholarship Program

    Who qualifies

    Awarded to students who transfer from a California Community College. Application-based via the CSUDH Scholarship Portal.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the listing.

    Worth knowing

    Transfer-only award; pro-rated for part-time enrollment.

  7. Edison STEM ScholarshipUp to $2,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Edison STEM Scholarship

    Up to $2,000

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Edison STEM Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Designated for undergraduate junior or senior students majoring in one of the STEM disciplines. Application-based via the CSUDH Scholarship Portal.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the listing.

    Worth knowing

    For continuing junior/senior STEM majors rather than incoming freshmen; included for completeness. 'Up to $2,000' is a ceiling.

  8. Catalina Island Scholarship$500Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Catalina Island Scholarship

    $500

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Catalina Island Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Designated for students who are a current Catalina Island resident or have attended high school on Catalina Island. Application-based via the CSUDH Scholarship Portal.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the listing.

    Worth knowing

    Highly niche, geographically restricted, small award.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Renewal rulePresidential Scholarship (Presidential Scholars Program): renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

Awarded to first-year students for four years and to transfer students for two years. Renewal requires completing at least 15 units per semester, two pre-selected community-service/campus activities per semester, and a rising GPA floor: at least 3.0 by end of freshman year, 3.25 by end of sophomore year, and 3.5 by end of junior/senior years. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

What makes CSU Dominguez Hills different

CSUDH is a low-cost CSU public ($8,705.72 resident direct cost) where the only full-ride merit award is the competitive Presidential Scholarship (full in-state fees, 3.5 GPA); most other institutional scholarships are small, competitive, application-based, and routed through one common portal.

Merit tiers8See who qualifies
First-year students with school awards2%First-year students, CDS 2022-2023
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

Selection beyond grades and scores

Start with the selection process.

These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

  1. Read the selection rules

    Look for the school's stated criteria and whether an additional application is needed.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take CSU Dominguez Hills's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. It is a competitive, application-based award (essay, resume, and a letter of recommendation) with a hard deadline (March 12, 2026 for the cycle shown) — meeting the 3.5 GPA only makes you eligible to apply, not guaranteed to win it.

  2. The Pledge is an income/eligibility guarantee (Student Aid Index of 10,000 or less, Pell for FAFSA filers, FAFSA/CADAA by April 15), not a merit award, and it covers tuition and mandatory fees only — not housing, parking, textbooks, or orientation fees.

  3. The $8,705.72 figure is tuition fees plus campus fees for California residents only; it excludes housing, food, books, transportation, and personal costs, and non-California residents pay an additional $471 per unit on top.

  4. It is restricted to incoming first-year students from five specific cities — Carson, Palos Verdes, San Pedro, Torrance, or Wilmington — so most applicants are not eligible regardless of GPA.

  5. Most CSUDH institutional scholarships are not automatic; they require a separate online application submitted by each scholarship's deadline through the CSUDH Scholarship Portal (csudh.scholarships.ngwebsolutions.com).

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Cost-conscious California students for whom CSUDH is already affordable (resident direct cost under $9K/yr); high-stat applicants (3.5+ GPA, CA high-school grads) chasing the one full-fees Presidential Scholarship, and need-eligible CA residents who qualify for the Toro Tuition Pledge (free tuition + mandatory fees).

Published yearly cost: Approximately $8,706 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at CSU Dominguez Hills, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at CSU Dominguez Hills, academic year 2021-22 — in-state, Title-IV aid recipients only
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$7,303
$30,001–$48,000$8,090
$48,001–$75,000$8,855
$75,001–$110,000$12,323
$110,001+$18,947
All income levels (average)$8,615

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees (in-state), AY 2022-23
$7,449
Published tuition & fees (out-of-state), AY 2022-23
$20,049
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$8,615

That works out to roughly a 63% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $23,191 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

CSU Dominguez Hills is a public school; Scorecard's net price figure covers in-state, Title-IV-aid-recipient payers only — there is no comparable federal figure for out-of-state students.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
43%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
74%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$13,807 (~$146/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$57,162
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
80%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
11%
See other scholarships and cost examples

More school data

From the CSU Dominguez Hills Common Data Set 2022-2023:

Merit penetrationHow likely is merit aid here?From CSU Dominguez Hills’s Common Data Set: the share of first-year students who receive institutional merit and the average dollar amount when they do.
2%of admitsget merit
Average award$5,039Covers ~58% of $8,706 cost of attendance

At CSU Dominguez Hills, roughly 1 in 50 first-year admits receive institutional merit aid. The average award is $5,039 — about 58% of total cost.

As filed in CSU Dominguez Hills's CDS Section H2A: of 1,736 first-time, full-time degree-seeking freshmen, 33 had no financial need and received institutional merit (non-need) scholarship or grant aid, averaging $5,039. Across all full-time degree-seeking undergraduates: 125 of 9,989, averaging $4,567. Athletic awards are excluded per the CDS definition.

Receive institutional merit2%First-year students, Common Data Set 2022-2023
Average merit award$5,039Across recipients, Common Data Set 2022-2023

Source: Common Data Set 2022-2023 (verified 2026-07-23)

Other CSU Dominguez Hills scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountFull tuition and mandatory fees (no fixed dollar amount)EligibilityNEED/ELIGIBILITY-BASED, not merit. California resident or in-state tuition eligible; FAFSA or CADAA completed by April 15; Student Aid Index of 10,000 or less (FAFSA filers must be receiving a Pell Grant); not enrolled in College of Professional and Extended Education programs.

Guarantee, not a competitive merit award: covers tuition and mandatory fees only (Student Activity Fee, Student Center Fee, Health Facilities Fee, Instructionally Related Activities Fee, Student Success Fee, and others) for up to four years (first-time first-year) or two years (upper-division transfers). Does NOT cover on-campus housing, parking, textbooks, or New Student Orientation fees. Requires Intent to Enroll, orientation, and continuous full-time enrollment (12+ units) with satisfactory academic progress.

Source

AmountVaries (amount not published)EligibilityEntering first-time freshman students who meet certain academic requirements and demonstrate enthusiasm for university education.

Merit-oriented but no dollar amount published on the official listing; apply via portal.

Source

AmountVaries (amount not published)EligibilityIncoming CSUDH first-year student from an area high school.

Amount not published; apply via portal.

Source

AmountVaries (amount not published)EligibilityNEED-BASED: first-time freshman with demonstrated financial need.

Need-based, not merit; amount not published.

Source

AmountVaries (amount not published)EligibilityStudents who have transferred from a California Community College within the last four years.

Transfer award; amount not published.

Source

CSU Dominguez Hills merit aid FAQ

  • Does CSUDH give automatic merit scholarships based on GPA or test scores?

    No published automatic GPA/test merit grid was found. CSUDH's institutional scholarships, including the flagship Presidential Scholarship, are competitive and application-based through the CSUDH Scholarship Portal. All scholarships require a minimum 2.0 GPA, and the Presidential Scholarship requires a minimum weighted 3.5 GPA to apply.

  • What is the biggest merit award and what does it cover?

    The Presidential Scholarship covers full in-state tuition and fees (plus a book allowance, parking permit, laptop, and on-campus housing stipend) for four years for first-year students and two years for transfers. It requires a 3.5 weighted GPA, graduation from a California high school (or transfer from a California Community College with 60 transferable units), admission to CSUDH, and an application with essay, resume, and a recommendation letter. The deadline shown was March 12, 2026.

  • What is the scholarship deadline?

    The Presidential Scholarship deadline shown is March 12, 2026; the Toro Tuition Pledge requires FAFSA/CADAA by April 15. Other portal scholarships each have their own deadline, listed per-scholarship in the CSUDH Scholarship Portal — there is no single universal deadline published on the scholarships page.

  • If I win an outside (private) scholarship, will CSUDH reduce my aid?

    CSUDH does not publish an outside-scholarship displacement policy on its public financial-aid pages. As a federal-aid recipient your total aid generally cannot exceed your cost of attendance, so ask the Financial Aid Office directly how an outside award is applied (see Section C).

See sources and other schools

How CSU Dominguez Hills compares

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    CSU Dominguez Hills is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against CSU Dominguez Hills’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring CSU Dominguez Hills merit aid

The next chapter

Where does CSU Dominguez Hills fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook